How Long Can You Hold a Spell in D&D?
In Dungeons & Dragons (D&D), you can hold a spell for a significant amount of time, but the duration is dependent on your ability to maintain concentration, with the spell being released when the specified trigger occurs or directly after the trigger finishes, provided your concentration is not broken. The length of time you can hold a spell is contingent upon the specifics of the spell itself and your character’s spellcasting abilities, with the general rule being that you can hold a spell as long as you maintain concentration, but losing concentration will cause the spell to be lost.
Frequently Asked Questions
General Spellcasting
- How many times can you use a spell in D&D? You can cast any spell of a certain level a number of times equal to the number of spell slots you have of that level, so if you have 3 1st-level slots and have Magic Missile, Shield, Mage Armor, and Ice Knife prepared, you can cast any one of those spells up to 3 times.
- How long is a spell duration in D&D? A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists, which can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years, with some spells specifying that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.
- What is the highest level spell in D&D? The current edition of Dungeons & Dragons only includes spells that reach level nine, but there was a time when D&D spells went to level 10 and beyond.
Spellcasting Mechanics
- Can you hold a spell in D&D? Yes, you can hold a spell by specifying the spell and the trigger, marking off a spell slot, and maintaining concentration.
- How do you make a spell permanent in D&D? There is a trend amongst the spells that can be made permanent, with some able to be made permanent via repeat casting, others by maintaining concentration for the entire duration, and others via upcasting to higher levels.
- Can you end a spell in D&D? You can’t normally dismiss a spell that you cast unless its description says you can or it requires concentration and you decide to end your concentration on it.
Spellcasters and Abilities
- How long can you rage in D&D? Your rage lasts for 1 minute, ending early if you are knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then.
- How long can a D&D character hold their breath? A creature can hold its breath for a number of minutes equal to 1 + its Constitution modifier (minimum of 30 seconds).
- What is the max level spell slot in D&D? In D&D 5e, at level 12, a wizard can have up to a maximum of one level 6 spell slot and two known level 6 spells.
Spells and Items
- What is a disadvantage spell in D&D? When you make a ranged Attack with a weapon, a spell, or some other means, you have disadvantage on the Attack roll if you are within 5 feet of a hostile creature who can see you and who isn’t Incapacitated.
- Can you hold a Cantrip in D&D? Yes, Cantrips are spells, and even though the Cantrip itself does not require Concentration, the character is “holding onto the spell’s magic” and therefore “requires concentration“.
- Are magic items unbreakable in D&D? No, magic items have resistance to all damage (and immunity to poison and psychic, like all items), but you can easily destroy most magic items if you want to, as they generally have very few hit points and many don’t have very good AC.
Advanced Spellcasting
- What is the most damaging spell in D&D? Meteor Swarm is undeniably the most destructive spell in the game, with no other spell coming close in terms of immediate, raw damage dice in 5th Edition D&D.
- What is the only 12th-level spell in D&D? Karsus’s Avatar is the only 12th-level spell ever created, enabling the caster to steal the power of a deity.
- What is Rule 0 of DND? Rule Zero, also known as GM fiat, is the common RPG rule that the GM has the ultimate say in all rules matters and can thus introduce new rules or exceptions to rules, or abolish old ones at their leisure.