How many blockers can you use MTG?

How Many Blockers Can You Use in MTG? A Comprehensive Guide

The straightforward answer to the question, “How many blockers can you use in MTG?” is this: there is generally no limit to the number of creatures you can use to block an attacking creature, nor is there a limit to the number of creatures that can block a single attacker. This core mechanic of Magic: The Gathering allows for intricate defensive strategies and dynamic combat scenarios. While some cards can alter this fundamental rule, the default is that you can assign as many eligible creatures as you have to block. Let’s delve deeper into the nuances of blocking, exploring the rules, and tackling common questions.

The Foundation of Blocking in Magic

Understanding the blocking phase is crucial for any Magic player. During your opponent’s combat phase, after they declare their attackers, you get the chance to declare which, if any, of your untapped creatures will block. Here’s a breakdown of the key principles:

  • Untapped Requirement: A creature must be untapped to be declared as a blocker.
  • One Block Per Creature: Each of your creatures can only block a single attacking creature. This limitation is important; you cannot spread a single creature out to block multiple attackers (with very specific exceptions on certain cards).
  • Multiple Blockers: Multiple of your creatures can block the same attacker. This is the core concept that makes blocking versatile and adaptable.
  • Declaring Blockers: This action occurs at a specific point during the combat phase. Once blockers are declared, the attacking player must then declare a damage assignment order for each creature being blocked by multiple opponents.

Why is Unlimited Blocking Important?

The ability to use multiple blockers is not just a rule; it’s a strategic cornerstone of the game. It allows for the following:

  • Defense Against Large Threats: Multiple smaller creatures can team up to take down a single, powerful attacking creature.
  • Protection of Key Creatures: Your key creatures can be guarded by others. This is important if you want to keep those creatures alive while blocking or you need a creature to stay on the field and live.
  • Strategic Trading: You can use blocking to trade your creatures against your opponent’s attacking creatures. This will help you maintain more card advantage, and be a key strategy in almost every game.
  • Dynamic Board State: The ability to use multiple blockers makes the battlefield much more fluid and interesting, forcing players to think about combat from both angles.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Blocking in MTG

To further clarify the blocking process and address common questions, here’s a list of FAQs:

1. Can you choose multiple blockers for a single attacker in Magic?

Yes, the base rules of Magic allow for multiple blockers to block the same attacking creature. There is no requirement for special abilities or effects, so you can always block an attacker with as many of your creatures as you want.

2. How many blockers can I assign to a single attacker?

You can assign as many of your untapped creatures as you wish to block a single attacker. There is no limit except for the number of available creatures you have on the field.

3. How does Menace interact with blocking?

A creature with Menace can only be blocked by two or more creatures. If you have a creature with Menace, you can not be blocked by a single opponent’s creature.

4. Does first strike apply to multiple blockers?

Yes, if an attacking creature has first strike, it will deal its damage first. It will then distribute damage to all creatures blocking it based on the attacking player’s assigned damage order. If this damage is enough to kill the blockers, the first strike will kill the blockers before the blockers get to attack with normal damage.

5. Does Deathtouch work when blocking?

Yes, Deathtouch works on both attacking and blocking. If a creature with deathtouch deals damage to another creature, even while blocking, it deals lethal damage. This is key to blocking bigger creatures.

6. Can I play an instant after blockers are declared?

Yes, both players get a chance to cast instants or activate abilities after blockers are declared. However, even if a blocker is removed in this step, the attacking creature will still be considered blocked.

7. Can you block Trample with multiple creatures?

Yes, you can block an attacking creature with Trample with multiple of your own creatures. The attacker must deal lethal damage to each blocker (based on the assigned damage order) before any excess damage “tramples” over to the defending player.

8. Who chooses the order of blockers for damage assignment?

The attacking player chooses the order in which damage will be assigned to the blocking creatures. This order is determined when the attack happens and can be crucial for maximizing damage.

9. Can you assign all damage to one blocker if you are attacking?

If exactly one creature is blocking your attacker, it will receive all the damage. However, if multiple creatures are blocking, damage is assigned according to the damage assignment order chosen by the attacking player. The damage can be distributed in this step.

10. Can you block with creatures that have summoning sickness?

Yes, creatures with summoning sickness cannot attack or use activated abilities that require tapping, but they can block. This is an important distinction to remember.

11. Does Hexproof stop Deathtouch?

Hexproof prevents a creature from being targeted by an opponent’s spells or abilities. Deathtouch does not target; therefore, Hexproof does not stop Deathtouch.

12. Does Double Strike negate Deathtouch?

No, Double Strike doesn’t negate deathtouch. If you are blocking with a creature that has deathtouch, the double strike creature will attack first, dealing damage and likely killing the creature with deathtouch.

13. What wins indestructible vs deathtouch?

Indestructible wins against Deathtouch. Indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed, and deathtouch only kills creatures by way of destruction, therefore, indestructible creatures can block creatures with deathtouch with no effect.

14. Does Lifelink work when blocking?

Yes, **Lifelink works when blocking**. If a creature with lifelink deals damage while blocking, you will gain that amount of life.

15. Do you get first strike if you have double strike?

No, **double strike is not first strike**. While creatures with both abilities deal damage in the first combat damage step, they are not the same. Effects that make a creature lose first strike will not make it lose double strike.

Mastering the Art of Blocking

Understanding the nuances of blocking is key to becoming a successful Magic player. The ability to assign multiple blockers to a single attacker adds significant complexity and strategy to the combat phase. By understanding and applying these rules effectively, you’ll be better equipped to navigate complex combat situations and protect your creatures from enemy attacks. Remember to consider how abilities such as Trample, Deathtouch, First Strike, and Menace will interact with your blocking decisions. The better you understand the rules, the more successful you will be at this fun game.

Leave a Comment