How Many Dashes Can You Do in 5e?
The short answer is: there’s no inherent limit to how many times you can use the Dash action in a single turn in D&D 5th Edition, provided you have the necessary abilities. The core rulebook states that you can use the Dash action to gain extra movement equal to your speed. Where it gets interesting is when bonus actions and other features come into play. Let’s dive into the details.
The Core Dash Action Explained
Basic Mechanics of Dash
The Dash action is a fundamental option available to all creatures in D&D 5e. When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn equal to your movement speed. For example, if you have a base speed of 30 feet and you Dash, you can move up to 60 feet that turn. This simple action can significantly increase your mobility in combat and during explorations.
Limitations of the Basic Dash
The main limitation of the basic Dash action is that it consumes your standard action for the turn. This means you can’t attack, cast a spell, or perform other standard actions if you choose to use your action to Dash. This trade-off is designed to prevent infinite movement in combat.
Leveraging Bonus Actions for Multiple Dashes
The real fun begins when you have access to abilities that allow you to Dash as a bonus action. This dramatically increases your movement potential in a single turn.
Common Bonus Action Dash Abilities
Several class features, feats, and spells enable you to dash using a bonus action. Some common examples include:
- Rogue’s Cunning Action: A Rogue can use their Cunning Action to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action as a bonus action.
- Monk’s Step of the Wind: A Monk can use their Step of the Wind feature to take the Dash or Disengage action as a bonus action.
- Expeditious Retreat Spell: This spell allows the caster to take the Dash action as a bonus action.
Combining Actions for Maximum Movement
When you combine a standard Dash action with a bonus action Dash, you can move three times your base movement speed in one turn. For example, a Rogue with a 30-foot movement speed who uses their action to dash and Cunning Action to Dash again as a bonus action can move 90 feet in a single round.
Important Clarifications
It’s important to note that there is no rule against using the Dash action as both your action and bonus action. Unlike casting a spell as a bonus action, where you can’t cast a full spell as your action, the Dash action doesn’t have this limitation. You can take the Dash action multiple times if you have the ways to do so.
Advanced Movement and the Ready Action
The possibilities for increasing mobility extend even further through the Ready action, and some interesting rules around mounts.
The Ready Action and Delayed Dashes
The Ready action allows you to prepare to take an action later in the turn, using your reaction. If you specify that your readied action is a Dash, and if your trigger is met, you can move once more. This allows a third “dash” in a single round. This can be a bit more limited in its uses in combat but still applicable.
Mounts and Dashes
A controlled mount can only use the Dash, Disengage, or Dodge action. Mounts share an initiative with their rider, so your choice to use the Dash action will be the one your mount also takes. This can dramatically increase your movement, but it doesn’t provide a third movement for the rider.
Special Cases: Movement Types
The effect of the Dash action is not limited to just your walking speed. All your movement types are doubled. If you have both a walking speed and a flying speed, the Dash action will double both of them.
The Question of Exhaustion
One might wonder if there are any consequences for continually dashing. The core rules do not stipulate that constant use of the Dash action leads to exhaustion or any other negative effect. However, some specific situations, such as chases, have their own rules that may impose exhaustion.
Chases and Exhaustion
During a chase, a participant can freely use the Dash action a number of times equal to 3 + their Constitution modifier. Each additional Dash action after that requires the creature to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution check at the end of their turn or gain one level of exhaustion. This is a contextual rule for chases, not a general rule for combat.
Summary: Unlimited Dashes (with Conditions)
In the end, there is no limit to the number of times you can use Dash in a single turn, as long as you have the means to do so via actions, bonus actions, and reactions.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can anyone use the Dash action?
Yes, every creature can use the Dash action as a standard action. It’s a core action available to all characters, regardless of class or race.
2. Can I dash multiple times in D&D?
Yes! If you have the ability to Dash as a bonus action (e.g., Rogue’s Cunning Action), you can use the Dash action multiple times in a single turn.
3. Does Dashing cause exhaustion?
Normally, no. Constant use of Dash in a combat situation does not cause exhaustion. Exhaustion may come into play during chases or other specialized situations.
4. Can I use both my action and bonus action to Dash?
Yes! There are no restrictions preventing you from using the Dash action as both a standard action and a bonus action, provided you have the means to do so.
5. Can a monk dash multiple times?
Yes, a monk can use their action to Dash and Step of the Wind to Dash again using their bonus action. They can move three times their speed with these actions.
6. Can a rogue dash three times in a round?
Yes, a rogue can move three times their movement in a single round. They can use their action to Dash, Cunning Action to Dash as a bonus action, and Ready action to react to an action with another Dash.
7. Can I dash while flying?
Yes! The Dash action doubles all your movement types, including your flying speed.
8. Can I Ready the Dash action?
Yes, you can Ready the Dash action. If your trigger is met, you can use your reaction to move a distance equal to your movement speed.
9. Can a mount Dash?
Yes, a controlled mount can Dash as one of their limited action options (Dash, Disengage, or Dodge) on their turn which is usually shared with their rider.
10. Does the Dash action only work for walking speed?
No, the Dash action doubles all of your movement speeds.
11. Does dual wielding benefit a monk?
Generally, no, dual wielding is not optimal for a monk. Monks usually have better options for bonus actions, such as Flurry of Blows.
12. What is the “double dash” rule?
The term “double dash” in this context refers to the ability to use both a standard action and a bonus action to Dash, moving twice your speed instead of just once. There is not a specific rule by this name.
13. Can I Dash without a “red card”?
In D&D, red cards are not a factor in dashing and the discussion is likely referring to the use of the term “dash” in the context of the delivery service, DoorDash.
14. Does Feline Agility stack with Dash?
Yes, the Tabaxi racial feature Feline Agility stacks with Dash action. If you activate Feline Agility before you dash, you’ll move four times your movement speed. If it is used after a standard action dash, your total movement would not be quadrupled.
15. Is there a daily limit to how many times I can dash?
No. There is no limit for the number of times you can use dash in a given day, provided you have the resources to do so, like bonus actions or reactions.