How many spells can Ring of spell Storing hold?

How many spells can Ring of spell Storing hold?

The Ring of Spell Storing can hold up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time, with the ability to store multiple spells of different levels, and when found, it typically contains 1d6 – 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the DM. The Ring allows any creature to cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into it by touching the ring as the spell is cast, providing versatility in spell storage and usage.

Understanding the Ring of Spell Storing

The Ring of Spell Storing is a powerful tool that allows for the storage and casting of spells, and its capabilities and limitations are detailed in the following FAQs:

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Does the Ring of Spell Storing hold concentration?

The Ring of Spell Storing still requires concentration, but it takes concentration of the wielder, not the caster, making it useful for tactics involving multiple concentration spells.

2. Is there a limit on spell slots?

You can create spell slots only of a level equal to or lower than your own spell slots, up to a maximum of 5th level, and use the stored levels in place of your slots.

3. Can anyone use the Ring of Spell Storing?

With a Ring of Spell Storing, any creature can cast any spell stored within the ring, no need to be a spellcaster at all, providing flexibility in gameplay.

4. How does the Ring of Spell Storing work with Warlock?

Warlocks are the only casters who cannot use a Ring of Spell Storing effectively due to their lack of control over spell slot levels.

5. Can you meta magic with the Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring stores both the spell and metamagic, with the spell having no effect when cast into the ring, and only the save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability carrying over.

6. Can you upcast spells into the Ring of Spell Storing?

There is no mechanism for combining spells cast into the ring, with each being discrete and cast at the level of the spell slot used.

7. Can you attune to two Rings of Spell Storing?

A creature can’t attune to more than one copy of an item, including the Ring of Spell Storing.

8. Can familiars cast spells with the Ring of Spell Storing?

Familiars can definitely cast spells with the Ring, without needing to attune to it or perform any special tricks.

9. Do cantrips count as spells?

A cantrip is a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot and without being prepared in advance, with a spell level of 0.

10. Do cantrips count as prepared spells?

Cantrips are not considered prepared spells, and each caster class has a specific number of known cantrips at each level.

11. Can you maintain 2 concentration spells?

There are no rules for letting you maintain concentration on two spells at once, although some features can let you cast a spell without needing concentration.

12. What rarity is the Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing is an Ultra Rare item, occupying the Finger slot on your character.

13. Can you use subclass spells with spell storing items?

The spell storing item specifically states that you can only choose spells from the artificer spell list, and subclass spells count as artificer spells for you.

14. Can you discard a spell in a talisman?

Characters cannot cast Spells unless the Spells have a valid target, and may not discard Spells just to get rid of them.

15. Can you use two meta magics in one spell?

You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted, with no stacking of different metamagic allowed.

Leave a Comment