How many times can druids cast spells?

How Many Times Can Druids Cast Spells? A Comprehensive Guide

The core mechanic of spellcasting for Druids, like many spellcasting classes in D&D 5e, isn’t a simple matter of “how many spells can I cast?” Rather, it’s about understanding spell slots, prepared spells, and the limits of each. So, to answer the question directly: Druids can cast spells as many times as they have available spell slots of the required level, from their list of prepared spells. This means the number of spells a Druid can cast isn’t fixed; it depends on the specific spell level and the number of spell slots they possess at that level, not the total number of spells they know or have prepared.

Let’s break down what this means in more detail:

Understanding Spell Slots and Prepared Spells

Druids don’t have access to every spell in their repertoire at all times. Instead, they prepare a specific selection of spells each day from the entire Druid spell list. This prepared list is what they can draw from when casting.

Spell Slots: Your Magical Currency

Spell slots are essentially the magical energy a Druid uses to cast spells. Every spell has a level, and to cast a spell, you must expend a spell slot of that level or higher. For example, a 1st-level spell requires a 1st-level slot, but a 2nd-level spell requires a 2nd-level spell slot. Importantly, you cannot cast a 2nd-level spell using a 1st-level spell slot.

Prepared Spells: Your Daily Toolbox

At the start of each day, after a long rest, a Druid prepares a number of spells equal to their Druid level plus their Wisdom modifier. These prepared spells are the ones they can actually cast using their available spell slots. So, a 5th-level Druid with a Wisdom of 18 (+4 modifier) would prepare 9 spells each day. The specific spells are chosen from the entire Druid spell list.

How Many Times Can You Cast a Prepared Spell?

This is where the core of the answer lies. You can cast any spell from your prepared spell list as often as you have the appropriate spell slots. For instance, if a 3rd level druid has a 1st level slot of 4, and they prepare Healing word, Thunderwave, and entangle they can cast any one of those three spells, or even just one of them up to four times, as long as they have a level one spell slot to use.

Crucially, casters don’t decide which spells go into which slot until they cast them. If you have 3 first-level spell slots and prepared cure wounds, entangle, and thunderwave, you can cast cure wounds three times, or you could cast each of them once, or any other combination. The limit is the number of available slots.

Spell Slot Recovery

Druids, like most casters, recover all their expended spell slots when they finish a long rest. This means that each day, you’ll be back to your maximum spell slots and can begin casting again.

Related Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

To further clarify spellcasting for Druids, here are some frequently asked questions:

How do Druid cantrips work? Are they limited?

Cantrips are spells that can be cast at will and an unlimited number of times. A Druid learns a specific number of cantrips as they level up, and these are always available without using spell slots. Unlike regular spells, Druid cantrips are not prepared; the learned cantrips are always available.

Can Druids change their prepared spells daily?

Yes. **Druids can change their prepared spells after a long rest.** This requires an additional minute spent in prayer or meditation for each spell level of the new spell they are adding to the list.

How does Wild Shape interact with spellcasting?

When a Druid uses their Wild Shape ability, they do not maintain the ability to cast spells. They also cannot hold concentration on spells once they transform. 

Do Druids have to decide what goes into which slot?

No. **In 5e, casters do not have to decide which spells go into which slots until they cast them.** You can make the decision of which spell to use at the time of casting.

Can a Druid cast the same spell multiple times?

Yes. As explained above, **you can cast any spell from your prepared list as often as you have the appropriate spell slots available.** If you've prepared *cure wounds* and have three 1st-level slots, you can cast it three times.

How many spell slots do Druids get at first level?

Druids start with **two 1st-level spell slots at 1st level**. They gain more spell slots as they increase in level, as indicated on the Druid class table.

How many spells do Druids prepare each day?

Druids prepare a number of spells equal to their **Druid level plus their Wisdom modifier**.

Does Wild Shape use spell slots?

No, **Wild Shape is a separate ability** that is not tied to spell slots. It can be used up to two times per long rest, and its duration depends on your Druid level.

Can a Druid use multiple bonus action spells in a turn?

While you can cast a bonus action spell, the general rule is that the only other spell you can cast in that turn must be a cantrip with an action. You cannot cast two bonus action spells in the same turn.

Can a Druid turn into anything through Wild Shape?

**No.** Wild Shape is limited by your Druid's level and a few other requirements like CR, and whether they've seen the beast before. There are a few examples of forms that cannot be taken through Wild Shape, such as elementals, fiends, celestials, or dragons, even in higher level campaigns. 

How often can you use Wild Shape?

**Druids can use Wild Shape twice per long rest.** 

Can Druids change their cantrips when they level up?

RAW (Rules As Written): No, Druids cannot change their cantrips once chosen. They pick their cantrips at first level and can only add to their repertoire as they level up. Many DMs, however, allow for flexibility with cantrips on level up.

Can a Druid cast spells while in Wild Shape?

**No, Druids cannot cast spells while in Wild Shape**. Transformation into an animal form prevents spellcasting. There are very rare exceptions to this at much higher levels of play with the moon druid subclass.

Can Druids cast higher-level spells if they have slots but haven’t prepared the spell?

No. **You can only cast spells that you have specifically prepared** and only if you have a spell slot to expend.

Can a Druid turn into an Owlbear?

Yes, but not using Wild Shape. **Druids can become an Owlbear when they get access to the 9th-level spell *Shapechange* at level 17.**

Conclusion

In summary, Druids cast spells by utilizing a pool of spell slots. They have access to a variety of spells, but can only use ones that are prepared. To use these spells you also need an available spell slot equal to the level of the spell being cast. This system of preparation and limited spell slots makes spellcasting for a Druid engaging and requires strategic thinking. Now you have a better understanding of how many times Druids can cast spells, you can make sure to get the most of your spellcasting and Druid character!

Leave a Comment