How often can you use bonus actions?

How Often Can You Use Bonus Actions in D&D?

In the dynamic world of Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), understanding actions, bonus actions, and reactions is crucial for strategic gameplay. This article will delve deep into the rules governing bonus actions, clarifying how and when they can be used. Let’s begin with the core question.

The short answer is: you can use one bonus action per turn. This is a fundamental rule of D&D 5e. Each character, during their turn in combat, is granted one standard action, one bonus action, and one reaction. These actions are the building blocks of combat and other interactive scenarios. While actions form the foundation of your turn, bonus actions offer a unique opportunity to perform additional feats, cast spells, and utilize special abilities.

It’s important to grasp that a bonus action is not interchangeable with a standard action. They exist as separate entities. You can’t, for example, use a bonus action to perform an action-based task and vice-versa. The game mechanics clearly state “bonus actions are bonus actions, and actions are actions”.

Understanding Bonus Actions

What are Bonus Actions?

Unlike standard actions that include things like attacking, casting a spell, or using an item, bonus actions are more nuanced. They’re typically tied to specific class features, feats, spells, or other abilities. This means that a player won’t always have a bonus action readily available; they depend entirely on the player character’s abilities.

How do Bonus Actions Work?

Each turn, you have a single bonus action at your disposal, granted you have a qualifying ability or action available to use as such. If you don’t possess an ability that allows for a bonus action during your turn, then you simply don’t use it. Unlike actions which are more universal (i.e., anyone can “attack”), bonus actions require the right conditions to be met.

Limitations of Bonus Actions

The primary limitation is the “one per turn” rule. If you have two separate options that use a bonus action, you must choose only one. Once you’ve used your bonus action, you can’t use another during that turn. Moreover, bonus actions are not affected by the Ready action. You cannot ready a bonus action to be used later.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Bonus Actions

To further clarify the intricacies of bonus actions, here are 15 frequently asked questions:

1. Can you use more than one bonus action per turn?

No. Regardless of how many bonus action options you have available, you can only use one bonus action per turn.

2. Can you use a bonus action to perform a regular action?

Absolutely not. Bonus actions and actions are distinct types of actions. You cannot use a bonus action to perform an action and vice versa.

3. Can you use a bonus action and then hold an action?

No, the Ready action specifically does not allow you to hold a bonus action. You can only hold a regular action, attack, or spell.

4. Can you use a cantrip as a bonus action?

Generally, no. Cantrips normally require a standard action to cast. There are a few exceptions, such as a Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell Metamagic and through the War Caster feat which can allow cantrips to be cast as bonus actions or reactions respectively.

5. Can you throw a dagger as a bonus action?

Yes, you can. By using a standard attack action to throw a dagger, and then using your bonus action to perform a second attack with another dagger (Two Weapon Fighting), it is possible to use a bonus action to throw a dagger provided the conditions are met. Note that without the Two-Weapon Fighting style, proficiency may not apply to this bonus action attack.

6. Can you dash as both a bonus action and an action?

Yes, if your character has an ability or spell that allows you to dash as a bonus action (such as the Rogue’s Cunning Action), you can also take the Dash action as your standard action. This allows for increased movement in a turn.

7. Can you use a reaction and a bonus action at the same time?

Yes. Reactions and bonus actions can be used in the same turn. Each character only gets one reaction per round (not just during their turn), and this is separate from the bonus action mechanic.

8. Can you cast two bonus action spells in one turn?

No. You can cast one bonus action spell in a turn, provided you haven’t already used your bonus action. If you cast a spell as a bonus action, you can only cast another spell as an action if it’s a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

9. What are some common uses of bonus actions?

Bonus actions have a wide range of uses, such as making an offhand attack (two-weapon fighting), shoving, using a crossbow, using a grapple, activating a double-bladed scimitar, wielding a polearm, or casting certain spells. These are by no means the limit, just some examples.

10. Do you get a bonus action every round?

You have a bonus action available each turn, but you won’t necessarily use it unless you have an ability, spell, or item that allows for it. Bonus actions are not a given; they’re tied to specific character features.

11. Does dual wielding use a bonus action?

Yes. When dual wielding light melee weapons, attacking with your primary weapon requires an Action, while attacking with the offhand weapon requires a bonus action. This is two-weapon fighting which can be done every turn, in or out of combat, as long as you’re following the conditions.

12. Can you dual wield daggers?

Yes. You can dual wield daggers. While two-weapon fighting, you can attack with a dagger using your action and then use your bonus action to attack with another dagger. This is particularly useful for ranged attacks with daggers. Without the Dual Wielder feat, a character will need to draw more daggers to continue making dual wielded attacks, and they will not gain proficiency bonuses for their off-hand attack.

13. Do druids get bonus actions?

Druids, like all classes, get one bonus action per turn. A key feature of the Circle of the Moon Druid is the ability to use Wild Shape as a bonus action, which significantly enhances their versatility.

14. Can you cast 2 cantrips in one turn?

Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn, but with restrictions. If you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on the same turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. So if you do not cast a spell as a bonus action, then you can cast two cantrips in the same turn as long as you use an action for each cantrip.

15. Can you use a bonus action before a normal action?

Yes. You can use your bonus action before or after your action, in any order you prefer. This strategic flexibility can be beneficial in different situations.

Conclusion

Understanding how bonus actions function is critical for all players of D&D 5e. A character will always have a bonus action to use, but the ability to use it hinges on whether they possess the appropriate abilities or spells. A bonus action is not interchangeable with an action, and only one bonus action can be used per turn. The nuances of bonus actions add a layer of strategic depth to the game, requiring players to be thoughtful about when and how to utilize these powerful tools. By grasping the rules and limitations surrounding bonus actions, you can fully maximize your character’s potential in the world of Dungeons & Dragons.

Leave a Comment