Is a Creature Tapped After Attacking in Magic: The Gathering? The Definitive Guide
Yes, a creature is tapped after it is declared as an attacker in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). Tapping occurs as a part of the process of declaring attackers during the combat phase. Importantly, tapping is not a cost to attack, but rather a result of attacking. This distinction is crucial for understanding how various MTG mechanics interact.
The tap symbol (a rotated ‘T’) has significant implications in MTG, and understanding its nuances is essential for mastering the game. When a creature is tapped, it is generally unavailable for further attacking or blocking during the current turn. There are abilities and effects that can untap creatures, allowing them to participate again in the same turn, but under normal circumstances, a tapped creature remains tapped until your next untap step. Let’s dive into the specifics and explore some related questions!
Understanding the Combat Phase and Tapping
The combat phase in MTG is divided into several steps, and the “Declare Attackers Step” is where the tapping action takes place. During this step, the active player (the player whose turn it is) chooses which creatures they control will attack. As part of this declaration, the chosen creatures are tapped. Once a creature is declared as an attacker and has become tapped, it remains an attacking creature even if it is somehow untapped.
This is often a point of confusion for new players. They might think tapping a creature is optional or that they can tap a creature at any point to make it attack. However, the rules are very specific: attacking causes the creature to tap, not the other way around.
Tapping: More Than Just Attacking
While attacking is a primary reason creatures become tapped, it is crucial to remember that tapping also occurs when activating certain abilities. Many creatures and other permanents have abilities that require them to be tapped as a cost. For example, a creature with an ability that reads “Tap: Do something” can be used to activate that ability, rendering the creature tapped. Summoning sickness restrictions apply here, a creature must have been under the control of their controller since the start of their most recent turn, to use any tap abilities. This does not affect their ability to attack in any way.
FAQs: Deep Dive into Tapping in MTG
To further clarify the rules surrounding tapping in MTG, here are 15 frequently asked questions:
1. Can I tap a creature to attack before declaring attackers?
No, you cannot. Tapping is a result of declaring a creature as an attacker. The act of declaring attackers causes the creature to become tapped. Attempting to tap a creature before the Declare Attackers step has no effect on whether it attacks.
2. Does blocking tap a creature?
No, blocking does not cause a creature to tap. This is a common mistake made by new players. A creature simply becomes designated as a blocker without tapping. It can still block even if it has been tapped by an outside effect.
3. Can a tapped creature block?
Yes, a tapped creature can block. Being tapped does not prevent a creature from being declared as a blocker. This means a clever opponent may be able to exploit a creature tapping effect and prevent a creature from attacking.
4. What is summoning sickness?
Summoning sickness is a rule that prevents a creature from attacking or using abilities with the tap symbol in their cost on the turn it enters the battlefield, unless it has haste. This restriction helps balance the game and prevents players from immediately attacking with newly summoned creatures.
5. Can creatures with summoning sickness use tap abilities?
No, creatures with summoning sickness cannot use activated abilities that include the tap or untap symbols in their cost unless they have haste.
6. Does fighting cause a creature to tap?
No, fighting does not cause creatures to tap. Fighting is a separate mechanic where creatures deal damage to each other based on their power.
7. If a creature enters the battlefield tapped, can it attack that turn?
Yes, if a creature enters the battlefield tapped due to an ability (for example, coming from a card that says “enters the battlefield tapped”), it is still subject to summoning sickness. It can not attack unless it also has haste.
8. Can I tap a creature that is already tapped?
Yes, you can target a tapped creature with an effect that says “tap target creature.” It doesn’t do anything functionally, as the creature is already tapped, but it is a legal play if the card requires you to target a creature. It is only relevant if the effect tapping the target creature has another ability.
9. Does Deathtouch affect indestructible creatures?
No, an indestructible creature cannot be destroyed by Deathtouch. While Deathtouch assigns lethal damage to creatures, it does not affect creatures with indestructible. Indestructible creatures are immune to destruction from damage.
10. Does Hexproof stop Deathtouch?
No, Hexproof does not stop Deathtouch. Hexproof prevents a creature from being the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. Deathtouch doesn’t target a creature, it simply changes the nature of the damage a source deals.
11. Do Planeswalkers have summoning sickness?
No, Planeswalkers do not have summoning sickness. You can use a Planeswalker’s abilities the turn it enters the battlefield, provided it is your turn and the Planeswalker has sufficient loyalty.
12. Can I tap a creature ability at any time?
Activated abilities with a tap symbol can be activated any time you have priority (when you could cast an instant), unless the ability states otherwise. However, you must tap the creature before it is declared as an attacker if the intention is to use the ability instead of attacking.
13. What does “tapped and attacking” mean?
“Tapped and attacking” means exactly that. The card will be put onto the battlefield tapped and will be attacking the same opponent you are attacking. This bypasses the normal declaration process.
14. Can I tap a creature without attacking or activating an ability?
Generally, no. You cannot simply tap a creature for no reason. Tapping requires a trigger, such as declaring an attack or activating a specific ability.
15. What if a creature untaps after being declared as an attacker?
If a creature is untapped after being declared as an attacker, it remains an attacking creature. The act of being declared as an attacker is what matters, not whether it remains tapped for the rest of the combat phase.
Final Thoughts
Understanding the intricacies of tapping in MTG is essential for strategic gameplay. Knowing when and how creatures tap (or don’t tap!) can give you a significant edge in your games. Remember that attacking causes a creature to tap, and while being tapped has implications, it doesn’t necessarily prevent all actions.
For more in-depth insights into the world of gaming and learning, be sure to check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. You’ll find a wealth of resources, research, and community engagement opportunities focused on the intersection of gaming and education.