Is a mutated commander still a commander?

Is a Mutated Commander Still a Commander?

A mutated commander is indeed still considered a commander for the purposes of assigning commander damage, as stated in the official Magic: The Gathering rules, specifically 903.3c, which states that if a player’s commander is a component of a merged permanent, the resulting merged permanent is that player’s commander. This means that even if your commander undergoes a mutation, it retains its designation as a commander, and any combat damage dealt by the mutated creature will count towards the 21 damage required to eliminate a player.

Understanding Mutate in Commander

To fully grasp the implications of mutating a commander, it’s essential to understand how the mutate mechanic works in Commander. Mutate allows you to cast a spell for its mutate cost and merge it with a target non-Human creature, creating a new creature with the characteristics of both cards. This merged creature is considered a single entity, but for the purposes of commander damage, the original commander card is still recognized as the commander.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if a mutated commander dies?

If a mutated commander dies, all the creatures that have been merged into it will go to the graveyard together, as the mutation creates a single entity.

Does a mutated commander still deal commander damage?

Yes, a mutated commander still deals commander damage, and the damage is counted towards the 21 damage required to eliminate a player.

Can you mutate a commander more than once?

Yes, you can mutate a commander multiple times, allowing you to stack multiple creatures and create a powerful, merged entity.

Does mutate trigger enters-the-battlefield (ETB) triggers?

No, mutating a creature does not trigger enters-the-battlefield effects, as the creature is already on the battlefield and is simply changing its characteristics.

Can you counter a mutate spell?

Yes, a mutating creature spell can be countered, and if it is, it will go to the graveyard as expected.

Does a mutated commander get commander tax?

Yes, mutating a commander is subject to the commander tax, as it is an alternate casting cost and not an ability that can be activated from the command zone.

Can you lose to commander damage from your own commander?

Yes, a player can lose if they are dealt 21 points of combat damage by their own commander, even if it’s under someone else’s control.

Does mutate bypass commander cost?

No, mutate does not bypass the commander cost, as it is still subject to the commander tax.

Is a transformed commander still a commander?

Yes, a transformed commander is still considered a commander, as the card retains its designation even when it changes zones or copies another card.

Can there be two commanders?

Yes, a player can have two commanders if both have the partner ability.

Does mutate cause summoning sickness?

No, mutate ignores summoning sickness, allowing the merged creature to attack immediately.

Can you return a mutated creature to its owner’s hand?

If a mutated creature is returned to its owner’s hand, all the cards in the pile will go into the hand separately, all at once.

Does mutate trigger Gargos?

Yes, mutating onto a creature you control will trigger Gargos and have him fight a creature.

Is wish banned in commander?

Yes, wish is banned in Commander, as it allows players to bring cards from outside the game into the game.

Can you copy a mutate creature spell?

Yes, you can copy a mutate creature spell, and the copy will target the same creature, allowing it to mutate twice.

Leave a Comment