Is a Sacrifice Ability an Activated Ability?
Yes, a sacrifice ability is indeed an activated ability in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). This fundamental concept is crucial for understanding how many cards and strategies function within the game. But what exactly does that mean, and how does it impact gameplay? Let’s delve deeper into the mechanics of sacrifice and activated abilities.
Understanding Activated Abilities
What Defines an Activated Ability?
In MTG, an activated ability is an ability that a player can initiate by paying a specified cost. These abilities do not occur automatically; a player must choose to activate them. The structure of an activated ability typically follows the format: [Cost]: [Effect]. Examples of costs include:
- Tapping a permanent
- Paying mana
- Sacrificing a permanent
- Discarding cards
- Removing counters
Activated Abilities and the Stack
Activated abilities use the stack. When a player activates an ability, it goes onto the stack, which means opponents have a chance to respond before the effect resolves. However, the costs of activating the ability, such as sacrificing a creature, are paid immediately when the ability is activated. This is a critical distinction. The sacrificed creature is in the graveyard before an opponent can react to its presence on the battlefield, preventing targeted responses that require the creature to be in play.
The Sacrifice Cost
Sacrificing a permanent is a common cost associated with many activated abilities. In essence, it means moving a permanent you control directly from the battlefield to its owner’s graveyard. The rule is simple: you can only sacrifice permanents you control, and you cannot sacrifice non-permanents. For example, if an ability says “Sacrifice a creature,” and you control a creature, the act of sacrificing is a cost you pay to activate the ability. This is important, as the card is no longer a creature before the ability resolves, and the cost cannot be countered.
Sacrifice as an Activated Ability Cost
The core of the question lies in understanding that sacrifice is not just an event but a frequently used cost for activated abilities. You are choosing to sacrifice to activate the ability. It’s a deliberate decision, making it fit the definition of an activated ability. This crucial point impacts the timing of when the sacrificed card hits the graveyard and the lack of an opportunity for your opponents to respond before that happens.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about sacrifice, activated abilities, and related mechanics in MTG, designed to solidify your understanding:
1. Does Sacrifice count as Destroy?
No. Sacrificing a permanent is different from destroying it. When a creature is sacrificed, it goes directly to the graveyard. When a creature is destroyed, it might be a result of lethal damage or a “destroy” effect. A destroyed creature can trigger other effects, while a sacrificed creature might trigger other different effects. For example, a creature that has ‘when this creature is destroyed’ is different from a creature that has a triggered ability ‘when this creature dies’. The wording ‘dies’ can be triggered from sacrifice or destroy, while ‘destroyed’ can only trigger from damage.
2. Can you use sacrifice abilities with summoning sickness?
Yes. Summoning sickness only affects creatures that are tapping as a cost of an activated ability. Unless the ability itself includes tapping as part of the cost, summoning sickness does not prevent a creature from being sacrificed. Therefore, you can sacrifice creatures with summoning sickness to pay for costs if the ability doesn’t use tap.
3. What are examples of an activated ability that isn’t a mana ability?
A mana ability is a specific type of activated or triggered ability that produces mana and has specific criteria. An example of an activated ability that is not a mana ability is an ability that requires you to discard a card to draw another. Deathrite Shaman’s first ability which can remove a card from any graveyard is not a mana ability, as it has a target, and mana abilities are targetless. Planeswalker abilities are not mana abilities.
4. Is an “Enters the Battlefield (ETB)” effect an activated ability?
No. ETB effects are triggered abilities, not activated abilities. They trigger automatically when a permanent enters the battlefield. They do not require a player to pay a cost to initiate.
5. What is an example of a triggered ability?
Triggered abilities can be recognized by using the words “when”, “whenever”, or “at”. A good example of a triggered ability is “Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card.” This triggers automatically upon that event. Another example would be “at the beginning of your upkeep”.
6. Is a planeswalker’s loyalty ability an activated ability?
Yes. A planeswalker’s loyalty ability is an activated ability with a specific cost involving adding or removing loyalty counters. For example, a planeswalker might have an ability that costs “+1 loyalty” to activate and another that costs “-2 loyalty” to activate.
7. Is Ninjutsu an activated ability?
Yes. Ninjutsu is a keyword that represents an activated ability that can be used from your hand when a creature you control is unblocked.
8. Is Braid of Fire’s ability a mana ability?
Yes. Braid of Fire‘s ability is a mana ability because it adds mana to your mana pool. It produces mana during your upkeep, making it fit the criteria.
9. Is tapping Sol Ring an activated ability?
Yes. Tapping Sol Ring is an activated ability, and it is also a mana ability because it can generate mana. It costs tapping, and that cost immediately is paid.
10. Is tapping a mana dork an activated ability?
Yes. Tapping a mana dork (like a Llanowar Elves) is an activated ability and also a mana ability. It costs a tap, which is a payment that is paid immediately and generates mana.
11. Does tapping go on the stack?
No. Tapping for mana, or paying any costs, doesn’t go on the stack. The cost is paid immediately. If an ability involves tapping, that cost is paid immediately and it doesn’t use the stack. You cannot respond to the tap.
12. Can you copy a planeswalker ability?
Yes. You can copy a planeswalker’s activated ability. If the copied ability refers to a card by name, the copy will refer to that same card.
13. Can a non-planeswalker activate loyalty abilities?
Yes, a non-planeswalker can still activate loyalty abilities if that permanent has them. However, only one loyalty ability per permanent can be activated each turn.
14. Is Equip an activated ability?
Yes. Equip is an activated ability that lets you attach an Equipment to one of your creatures, and it can be used at sorcery speed.
15. Is Lifelink a triggered ability?
No. Lifelink is a static ability. It grants the ability to gain life as a creature deals damage. It does not trigger, nor does it use the stack. It’s a passive ability, not activated nor triggered.
Conclusion
Understanding the distinction between activated, triggered, and static abilities is critical for navigating the complex rules of Magic: The Gathering. Recognizing that sacrifice is often a cost of an activated ability is a key element. This knowledge will empower you to make informed decisions and execute your strategies effectively. Knowing that sacrifice happens immediately as a cost, before the activated ability resolves or opponents can respond, highlights the fundamental elements of card design and interactions within MTG.