Is Casting a Cantrip an Action?
Casting a cantrip is indeed an action, specifically, the “Cast a Spell” action, unless it’s modified by certain features such as the Sorcerer’s Metamagic (Quickened Spell) or the War Caster Feat, which can allow cantrips to be cast as bonus actions or reactions. The normal rule applies: if you cast any spell – cantrip or not – as a Bonus Action, you can cast another spell on the same turn only if it’s a cantrip with a casting time of one Action.
Understanding Cantrips and Actions
A cantrip is a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot and without being prepared in advance, and it costs an action to cast, unless modified by specific features or feats.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can I Cast a Cantrip as an Action and a Spell as a Bonus Action?
You can cast a cantrip as an action and another spell as a bonus action if the cantrip has a casting time of one action.
2. Is Casting a Spell an Action in DND?
Casting a spell is an action, bonus action, or reaction depending on the spell’s casting time.
3. Can Wizards Cast a Cantrip as a Bonus Action?
Unless a cantrip specifically has a casting time of a bonus action (or gets changed to have such a casting time), it cannot be used as one.
4. Can You Cast Two Cantrips in One Turn if One is a Bonus Action?
Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn if one is a bonus action.
5. Does a Cantrip Count as a Bonus Action?
The use of a cantrip costs an action; specifically, the “Cast a Spell” action.
6. Can You Cast Two Cantrips as Two Attacks?
You can’t do two cantrips in the same action, but you can do one cantrip and one attack.
7. Can I Use Eldritch Blast as a Bonus Action?
There are specific ways to use Eldritch Blast as a bonus action, such as being a Sorcerer and using Quicken Metamagic.
8. Can I Cast a Cantrip While Concentrating?
Yes, you can cast cantrips while concentrating on a spell.
9. Can You Cast 2 Leveled Spells in a Turn 5e?
You can cast two leveled spells in a turn if you use Action Surge.
10. Does Casting Land Count as Casting a Spell?
In MTG, land cards are the only type of card that is not considered a spell.
11. What Counts as Casting a Spell?
To cast a spell is to take a card from where it is, put it on the stack, and pay its costs.
12. Can You Use Cantrips as a Reaction?
No, this is not possible.
13. Can I Cast Hex and Eldritch Blast in the Same Turn?
You can cast Hex as a bonus action and Eldritch Blast as an action.
14. Can I Cast Hex and Another Spell?
The rule basically follows that you can only cast one leveled spell per turn.
15. Can You Throw a Dagger as a Bonus Action?
Yes, you can throw a dagger as a bonus action.