Is casting the same as copying MTG?

Casting vs. Copying in Magic: The Gathering: A Deep Dive

Is casting the same as copying in Magic: The Gathering (MTG)? The short and definitive answer is no. While both actions involve spells, abilities, or cards on the stack, they are fundamentally different processes with distinct rules and implications. Understanding this difference is crucial for any player looking to master the nuances of MTG. Casting involves actively playing a card from your hand, paying its mana cost, and placing it onto the stack. Copying, on the other hand, creates a duplicate of a spell or ability already on the stack without casting the copy itself. This distinction leads to a cascade of rules interactions, especially with abilities that trigger “when you cast a spell.”

The Essence of Casting in MTG

What Does “Casting” Entail?

In MTG, to cast a spell means to take a card from your hand (or sometimes another zone), place it onto the stack, pay its mana cost (or an alternative cost), and choose targets if required. This is a deliberate action that moves a card from a hidden zone into the public zone where it will eventually resolve and have its intended effects.

Key elements of casting include:

  • Paying mana costs: You must pay the mana cost specified on the card or an alternative cost allowed by another card or effect.
  • Placing the card on the stack: The spell is added to the stack, awaiting resolution and following the last in, first out (LIFO) principle.
  • Choosing targets: If a spell requires targets, you must choose legal targets for it as part of the casting process.

Why Casting Matters

The act of casting a spell is critical because it triggers various abilities and interactions. Many cards have effects that happen “when you cast a spell,” such as creating tokens, drawing cards, or dealing damage. These triggers respond to the act of casting and are not activated by merely having a copy of that spell enter the stack.

The Nature of Copying in MTG

What Does “Copying” Mean?

When you copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability, you are creating a duplicate of it on the stack. This copy, however, is not cast, nor is the ability activated in the case of copies of abilities. The copy simply exists as a separate instance on the stack and resolves independently of the original.

Key aspects of copying include:

  • No Mana Payment: Copying a spell does not involve paying the original spell’s mana cost.
  • Bypasses “Cast” Triggers: Since a copy is not “cast,” it does not trigger effects that rely on the act of casting a spell.
  • Independent Entity: The copy is a distinct instance on the stack, separate from the original and has its own resolution.

Implications of Copying

The implications of copying are profound. Spells that have powerful effects on cast such as Cascade or Storm will not trigger from copied spells. Similarly, enchantments such as Swarm Intelligence, which doubles spells, will only activate on cast spells not copies. Also important, copying will not give you the “bonus” effects of cards like Apex of Power or Approach of the Second Sun.

Casting vs Copying: The Crucial Difference

The pivotal difference boils down to the origin and action. Casting is the act of initiating the spell or card from its original zone, typically your hand, with associated costs. Copying is the act of creating a duplicate instance of something already on the stack, without any associated costs and without triggering effects associated with casting.

To illustrate:
If you cast a spell with Cascade, you will exile cards until you find a spell that costs less and are able to cast it. If you use a card to make a copy of that spell, that copy will not trigger Cascade.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 FAQs to further clarify the differences between casting and copying in MTG:

1. Does copying a spell count as casting for Storm?

No. Storm counts the number of spells cast earlier in the turn. Copying a spell does not count as casting; therefore, the copies created by a spell with storm do not create further storm copies or increase the storm count.

2. Does copying a spell trigger “when you cast a spell” abilities?

No. Abilities that trigger “when you cast a spell” only respond to the act of casting, not to the appearance of a copy of a spell on the stack.

3. Is playing a card the same as casting it?

No. Playing a card refers to the broader action of either casting a spell or putting a land onto the battlefield. Casting only applies to spells. Playing a card from a different zone may be considered “casting” depending on the card.

4. Does Isochron Scepter count as casting when it creates a copy?

Yes, Isochron Scepter is a notable exception. Its Oracle text states that the copy it creates is cast, not just placed on the stack. This makes it trigger “cast a spell” effects and is a key component in many storm builds.

5. Does playing a land count as casting?

No. You play lands and cast spells. While both count as “playing” a card, only spells are “cast.”

6. If I copy a kicked spell, is the copy kicked?

Yes. If a spell was kicked when cast, a copy of that spell will also be kicked. Kicker costs don’t affect a spell’s mana cost or mana value, but the copy will also have the same kick effect.

7. Does copying a spell scroll destroy the scroll?

Yes. In D&D, when you copy a spell from a spell scroll, the scroll is destroyed, regardless of the success of the copying process. This is not specific to MTG but does pertain to the question of copying in general.

8. What does “playing” a card from the top of your library mean?

When a card says to “play” cards from the top of your library, it means you can either cast spells or play lands from that zone, paying costs accordingly. If you play a spell from another zone it is treated as a normal cast.

9. Can you cast a spell without paying its mana cost?

Yes, some cards allow you to cast a spell without paying its mana cost, such as through Mosswort Bridge. This is still a “cast,” and the spell will be placed on the stack.

10. If I cast a creature, is it considered a spell?

Yes. Creatures are considered spells while they are on the stack, only becoming permanents after they resolve and enter the battlefield.

11. Does having a spell countered mean it wasn’t cast?

No, a countered spell was still cast. The act of casting happens before resolution, and even if the spell doesn’t resolve, it still triggers “when you cast” effects.

12. Can you target a creature with death touch that has indestructible?

No. Indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed by lethal damage. Since Deathtouch deals lethal damage a creature with indestructible will be fine.

13. If a creature with Deathtouch deals 0 damage, does it still destroy a blocking creature?

No. A creature with deathtouch must deal damage to destroy another creature. If it deals 0 damage, the blocking or attacking creature survives.

14. Is using a wand in D&D the same as casting a spell?

Yes, using a wand in D&D is considered casting a spell.

15. Does playing a background as a commander mean it is cast?

No, when a Background is chosen as your commander, it is not cast. The background is in the command zone prior to the game starting. You do, however, cast a commander after starting the game, if it is in your commander zone.

Conclusion

The distinction between casting and copying is a fundamental concept in MTG. While they both involve spells, they operate under different rules. Casting is a deliberate action that triggers “when you cast” abilities and requires mana payment, while copying creates a duplicate on the stack without triggering “when you cast” abilities. Understanding these differences is essential for mastering complex interactions and optimizing your game play. By studying these differences, you will greatly improve your game play and understanding of the game.

Leave a Comment