Is Casting the Same as Entering the Battlefield?
Casting a spell and entering the battlefield are two distinct concepts in the world of Magic: The Gathering, with casting referring to the act of playing a spell from your hand, and entering the battlefield referring to a permanent moving from another zone to the battlefield. The key difference lies in the fact that casting involves a series of steps, including putting the spell on the stack and paying its costs, whereas entering the battlefield simply means a permanent is being placed onto the battlefield, regardless of how it got there.
Understanding the Differences
To delve deeper into the relationship between casting and entering the battlefield, it’s essential to explore various scenarios and rules that govern the game. This includes understanding how counterspells interact with spells and abilities, the implications of phasing and mutating, and the nuances of copying and storm effects.
FAQs
1. Is Putting onto the Battlefield Casting?
No, putting a creature onto the battlefield is not the same as casting it, as the creature isn’t being played as a spell and thus can’t be countered.
2. Does Return to Battlefield Count as Casting?
No, reanimating a permanent from the graveyard to the battlefield doesn’t count as casting because it doesn’t make the permanent castable or playable.
3. Is Putting a Creature into Play the Same as Casting It?
No, there are significant differences, including that cards put into play this way are never on the stack, and the creature card will never be considered cast.
4. What if a Card Would Enter the Battlefield and It Wasn’t Cast?
If a non-creature card enters the battlefield as a creature (due to an effect like March of the Machines), it will be exiled.
5. Does Copying a Card Count as Entering the Battlefield?
Yes, new copies and clones all trigger ETB (enters the battlefield) effects, but they won’t if a card “turns into a copy of” another card.
6. Does Playing a Card Count as Casting?
The relationship between playing and casting is one-sided: “playing a card” includes casting a spell, but “casting” never includes playing a land.
7. Does Playing a Spell Count as Casting?
Yes, previously, the action of casting a spell was referred to as “playing” that spell, but such cards have received errata to now refer to “casting” that spell.
8. Is Putting a Card on the Field Casting?
No, there’s a difference; casting a spell involves multiple steps, including putting it on the stack and paying its costs, which isn’t the case when a permanent simply enters play.
9. What Counts as Leaving the Battlefield?
A permanent “leaves the battlefield” when it’s moved from the battlefield to another zone, or if it’s phased in and leaves the game because its owner leaves the game.
10. What is the Rule for Casting?
According to the game’s rules, casting a spell involves specific steps and costs, distinct from simply putting a card onto the battlefield.
11. Can You Mutate from the Battlefield?
No, mutate can only be used if you’re casting the spell; if the creature card enters the battlefield another way, it just enters the battlefield without mutating.
12. Do Creatures Enter the Battlefield When They Phase In?
No, phasing in won’t cause any “enters the battlefield” abilities to trigger, as the creature doesn’t change zones.
13. Does Phasing Trigger Enter the Battlefield?
No, phasing doesn’t trigger ETB (enters the battlefield) or LTB (leaves the battlefield) effects because the permanent doesn’t change zones.
14. Does Copying Count as Casting?
No, copying a spell is not casting a spell, as it involves putting a copy of the spell onto the stack without the casting process.
15. Does Storm Count as Casting?
No, storm copies are put directly onto the stack and aren’t cast, meaning they don’t generate storm copies themselves and aren’t counted by other storm spells cast later during the turn.