Is d20 free?

Is d20 Free? Understanding the Open Nature of the d20 System

The short answer is: it depends on what you mean by “d20.” The term “d20” itself, referring to a 20-sided die, is absolutely free to use. You can buy, sell, and use d20s without any legal restrictions. However, the “d20 System,” a specific set of rules and mechanics popularized by Dungeons & Dragons (D&D), is more nuanced. While the core mechanics are not copyrighted, they are made available under an Open Game License (OGL). This means you can use, modify, and distribute them, but with stipulations. Understanding these nuances is key for any game developer or enthusiast.

The d20 Die: Free for All

The physical 20-sided die, or d20, is an object dating back to ancient times. Evidence suggests that ancient civilizations used icosahedrons as numerical devices. Its use in tabletop roleplaying games (TTRPGs) is much more recent. There are no intellectual property claims on the shape or the use of a 20-sided die. If you want to use a d20 in your own games, designs, or artwork, there are no legal constraints stopping you. You are free to roll away!

The d20 System: Open But Not Unrestricted

The d20 System refers to the specific rules mechanics popularized by the 3rd edition of Dungeons & Dragons. This is a copyrighted work. However, Wizards of the Coast, the company that owns D&D, makes many of these rules available under the Open Game License (OGL). This means that game developers and creators can use, modify, and redistribute aspects of the d20 System detailed within the System Reference Document (SRD).

What is the Open Game License (OGL)?

The OGL is a public copyright license that allows creators to use certain parts of D&D’s intellectual property. It effectively opens up the core mechanics of the d20 System for anyone to utilize in their own games. This has been crucial for the growth of the TTRPG industry, leading to numerous games built upon the foundation of the d20 system.

The d20 System Trademark

While the core mechanics are not copyrighted, the d20 System logo is a registered trademark. This means you cannot use the d20 System logo without explicit permission from Wizards of the Coast. The term “d20” itself is free, however, the particular stylization and representation of the logo are not.

What Can You Do Under the OGL?

Under the OGL, you can:

  • Copy parts of the d20 System SRD.
  • Use the d20 System in your own games.
  • Modify the d20 System to create your own unique game mechanics.
  • Redistribute these modified rules.
  • Sell products based on the d20 System.

However, there are stipulations and limitations to this license. It is crucial to familiarize yourself with the specific conditions laid out in the OGL. This includes proper attribution of the original source material and restrictions on the use of specific copyrighted content that is not part of the SRD.

Potential Pitfalls to Avoid

While the OGL provides freedom, there are also potential problems that developers may face. Here are a couple of key things to keep in mind:

  • The d20 System Trademark License (d20STL) is Revocable: Unlike the OGL, which is generally considered open and non-revocable, the d20STL can be changed or revoked by Wizards of the Coast. It’s important to keep up with the status of this license if you plan on relying on it for your project.
  • Avoid Direct Replication: Although you can use the mechanics of the system, try not to directly copy or use the Dungeons & Dragons branding, logo, or other trademarks.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the topic of the d20 and the d20 System:

1. Is the term “d20” copyrighted?

No, the term “d20” is not copyrighted. It is a generic term referring to a 20-sided die. It can be used freely.

2. Is the d20 System trademarked?

While the core mechanics are not trademarked, the d20 System logo is a registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast. You cannot use the logo without permission.

3. Can I use the d20 System in my own game?

Yes, you can use the d20 System, thanks to the Open Game License (OGL). This allows you to copy, modify, and distribute parts of the system.

4. Do I have to pay to use the d20 System?

No, you do not have to pay to use the d20 System as long as you abide by the conditions of the OGL. This means that your work has to be based on the System Reference Document (SRD), and that you provide proper attribution to Wizards of the Coast.

5. What is the System Reference Document (SRD)?

The SRD is a document released by Wizards of the Coast that contains the core rules and mechanics of the d20 System. It is the specific content that is covered under the OGL.

6. Can I sell a game that uses the d20 System?

Yes, you can sell a game based on the d20 System, as long as you comply with the terms of the OGL.

7. Can I use the D&D logo in my own game?

No, you cannot use the D&D logo or any other trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast without explicit permission. This is an important intellectual property right.

8. Does the OGL cover all of D&D’s content?

No, the OGL only covers specific content included in the SRD. It does not cover all of D&D’s intellectual property, such as specific setting details or character races not in the document.

9. Who owns the d20 System?

Wizards of the Coast owns the d20 System intellectual property. However, the system’s core mechanics are open for use via the OGL.

10. Is Pathfinder based on the d20 System?

Yes, Pathfinder uses the d20 System as its core rules engine, and like other games built around the d20 System, operates under the OGL.

11. Did the original D&D use a d20?

Yes, the original edition of D&D used a d20, however, it did not become a core mechanic of the entire game until later editions.

12. When was the d20 System formalized?

The d20 System was formalized for Dungeons & Dragons with the release of its third edition in 2000 by Wizards of the Coast.

13. Can I make my own dice and sell them?

Yes, you can freely create and sell dice, including d20s, as long as you do not infringe on any trademarks related to existing brands or designs.

14. Is the d20 a new invention?

No, 20-sided dice have been found dating back to ancient times. Their use in TTRPGs is a more recent development.

15. What is the oldest d20?

The oldest known d20 is a serpentine die from Ptolemaic Egypt (304-30 BCE), which is now housed in the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Conclusion

While the physical d20 die is free for anyone to use, the d20 System itself operates under the rules of the Open Game License. This allows for widespread use and adaptation, but creators should be mindful of the stipulations and limitations outlined in the OGL. Understanding these nuances is essential for anyone involved in tabletop roleplaying game design or publishing. By knowing the difference between free-to-use generic terms and those which have trademarks and licenses attached, designers can create within the legal framework. The d20 System continues to inspire a host of incredible games, and will continue to do so.

Leave a Comment