Is Mutate an ETB? Untangling Ikoria’s Transformation
The short answer is no. When you cast a creature spell for its mutate cost and it resolves mutating an existing creature on the battlefield, it does not trigger “enter the battlefield” (ETB) effects. The mutating creature spell doesn’t enter the battlefield. It simply merges with a creature already present, changing its characteristics. Mutate is a keyword ability introduced in Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths, designed to meld two permanents into a single, more powerful entity. Let’s delve deeper into this intriguing mechanic and answer some frequently asked questions.
Understanding the Nuances of Mutate
Mutate offers a unique way to build a creature on the battlefield, stacking abilities and creating powerful synergies. It’s crucial to understand that when a creature mutates, the new characteristics of the resulting creature depend on which card is placed on top during the resolution of the mutate spell. This top card determines the name, creature type, power, and toughness of the final merged creature. All abilities from both cards are retained. However, the key point is that no new permanent is entering the battlefield; an existing one is merely changing. This is why ETB effects aren’t triggered.
The Mutate Process
The mutate ability appears on some creature cards and functions while the spell with mutate is on the stack. When you cast a creature spell with mutate, you can choose to pay its mutate cost instead of its mana cost. If you do, you must target a non-Human creature you own on the battlefield. When the spell resolves, it either merges with the target creature or enters the battlefield normally if the target is no longer valid.
Frequently Asked Questions About Mutate
To further clarify the mechanics of mutate and its implications, here are some frequently asked questions with detailed answers:
1. What type of ability is Mutate?
Mutate is a keyword ability that allows two or more permanents to merge. It’s a static ability that functions while the spell with mutate is on the stack.
2. Is a creature card cast for its mutate cost considered a creature spell?
Yes, a creature card cast for its mutate cost is still a creature spell. This is important for interactions with cards that care about creature spells being cast.
3. Is a mutated commander still a commander?
Yes, it is still your commander. Rule 903.3c states that if a player’s commander is a component of a merged permanent, the resulting merged permanent is that player’s commander. This means even if it’s buried beneath other mutated creatures, it still retains its commander status.
4. How does mutate work in Commander?
In Commander, mutate allows you to merge two creatures into one. The top creature’s power and toughness are used. That top creature gains all the abilities of the creatures underneath it, plus its own. You can continuously mutate creatures to create more powerful creatures with stacking abilities. Remember to check out GamesLearningSociety.org for more information on Commander strategies.
5. Does mutate get commander tax?
Yes, since mutate is an alternate casting cost and not an ability that can just be activated from the command zone, it’s still subject to the commander tax.
6. Does mutate ignore summoning sickness?
The fact that mutate can bypass summoning sickness is a strong aspect of the mechanic. The mutated creature can attack or use activated abilities with the tap symbol if the creature on the battlefield before the mutation could.
7. Who is a strong mutate commander?
Brokkos, Apex of Forever is often considered a premier mutate commander. Its ability to be cast from the graveyard and the strong mutate creatures available in Sultai colors make it a powerful choice.
8. What happens if I mutate my commander?
If your commander is mutated into a pile, the merged creature does commander damage and counts as your commander, regardless of its position in the pile. If the resulting creature deals 21 combat damage to a player, that player loses the game.
9. Can you mutate without paying mana cost?
Casting a creature spell for its mutate cost has specific requirements: you pay the mutate cost rather than the mana cost, and you target a non-Human creature you own currently on the battlefield. You can’t circumvent paying some cost, whether mana or mutate.
10. Can you counterspell a mutate spell?
Yes, while it’s on the stack, a mutating creature spell is still a spell, so it can be countered. If it’s countered, it goes to the graveyard as you’d expect.
11. Does mutate trigger effects like Beast Whisperer?
Yes, when you use mutate, the spell you’re casting is still the original creature spell. It is still a creature spell with the CMC of the original card. Therefore, you will draw a card off Beast Whisperer.
12. What happens if a mutated creature dies or is exiled?
When a mutated creature leaves the battlefield, all of its components go to the appropriate zone. So, if it dies, each card ends up in the graveyard. If it’s exiled, each card goes to exile. Any ability that triggers “whenever a creature you control dies” or similar will trigger only once.
13. Can you cast mutate from the battlefield?
No, mutate can only be used if you’re casting the spell. If a creature card were to enter the battlefield in another way, it just enters the battlefield normally, without the mutate effect.
14. Does mutate keep legendary status?
A mutated creature has the characteristics of whatever is on top of the pile. If a legendary creature is on top, then the creature is legendary and affects other creatures via the legends rule.
15. Does mutate trigger heroic?
Heroic is a keyword ability that triggers whenever the creature is targeted by a spell you control. Therefore, mutate works perfectly with Heroic, because it is a spell you cast that targets the creature. This creates a powerful synergy.
Strategies and Considerations for Mutate
When building a deck around the mutate mechanic, it’s essential to consider the following:
- Target Diversity: Ensure you have enough non-Human creatures to consistently target with your mutate spells.
- Protection: Including cards that provide protection, such as hexproof or indestructible, can prevent your mutated creature from being removed.
- Ability Stacking: Prioritize creatures with impactful abilities that synergize well when combined.
- Card Advantage: Since a single removal spell can disrupt your mutated creature, include card draw effects to replenish your hand.
Final Thoughts
Mutate is a complex yet rewarding mechanic that adds depth and strategy to Magic: The Gathering. While it doesn’t trigger ETB effects, its ability to stack abilities and create powerful creatures makes it a force to be reckoned with. Understanding its intricacies and leveraging its strengths can lead to exciting and unique gameplay experiences. Explore more strategies and insights at the Games Learning Society to enhance your MTG gameplay.