Is Obelisk the Tormentor Immune to Traps? A Deep Dive
The short answer is: no, Obelisk the Tormentor is not inherently immune to all traps. While Obelisk possesses a significant degree of protection, specifically against targeting effects, this doesn’t render him invincible to all Trap Cards. The key lies in understanding the distinction between targeting and non-targeting effects in Yu-Gi-Oh!.
Obelisk’s card text states that he cannot be targeted by card effects. This is a powerful form of protection, shielding him from traps like Magic Cylinder or Mirror Force (if activated in response to his attack) that specifically designate him as the target of their effect. However, traps that don’t target, such as Dark Hole or Torrential Tribute, are perfectly capable of destroying Obelisk. This is because these cards affect all monsters on the field (or all monsters summoned, in Torrential Tribute’s case) without singling out Obelisk in their activation requirements.
The confusion often stems from the anime depiction of the God Cards, where they were portrayed as being virtually immune to everything. However, the real-life card game operates under a stricter and more defined set of rules. Obelisk’s power lies in his raw stats and targeting protection, but a well-timed, non-targeting trap can certainly bring him down. Furthermore, cards like Skill Drain can negate Obelisk’s effects, removing his targeting protection entirely.
Understanding Targeting vs. Non-Targeting
The crux of understanding Obelisk’s vulnerability to traps rests on grasping the difference between targeting and non-targeting effects.
Targeting Effects
A targeting effect is one that specifically designates a card (or cards) on the field as the recipient of its effect at the time of activation. This is usually indicated by card text that uses phrases like “target one [card type]” or similar wording. Examples include:
- Magic Cylinder: Targets 1 attacking monster.
- Mirror Force: Targets all attacking monsters your opponent controls (when activated in response to an attack).
- Compulsory Evacuation Device: Target 1 monster on the field.
Because Obelisk cannot be targeted, these effects are rendered ineffective against him.
Non-Targeting Effects
A non-targeting effect does not designate specific cards as targets upon activation. Instead, it affects a broader group of cards based on a general condition or rule. Examples include:
- Dark Hole: Destroy all monsters on the field.
- Torrential Tribute: When a monster(s) is Summoned: Destroy all monsters on the field.
- Raigeki: Destroy all monsters your opponent controls.
- Mirror Force: Destroy all your opponent’s Attack Position monsters (when activated during the Battle Phase after an attack declaration, but not targeting).
- Bottomless Trap Hole: When a monster(s) with 1500 or more ATK is Summoned: Banish that monster(s).
Since these cards do not target Obelisk, his protection is irrelevant, and he will be destroyed or banished alongside any other applicable cards.
Circumventing Obelisk’s Protection
While Obelisk’s targeting protection is strong, several strategies can bypass it:
- Non-Targeting Removal: The most direct approach is to use traps like Dark Hole, Torrential Tribute, or Raigeki.
- Effect Negation: Cards like Skill Drain can negate Obelisk’s effects entirely, including his targeting protection. This makes him vulnerable to any card effect.
- Battle: While Obelisk is strong, he can be defeated in battle by a monster with sufficient ATK or by using cards that manipulate ATK/DEF.
- Tribute: Effects that force the opponent to tribute their own monsters, such as the Kaiju monsters, can remove Obelisk from the field without targeting.
- Banishing: Non-targeting banishing effects, like that of Bottomless Trap Hole, can remove Obelisk from play.
FAQs: Obelisk and Trap Cards
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about Obelisk the Tormentor and his interaction with Trap Cards, providing further clarification and insight:
-
Can Mirror Force destroy Obelisk? It depends. If Mirror Force is activated targeting Obelisk due to his attack, it will not work. If it’s activated at the start of the Battle Phase as a blanket effect, it will destroy all Attack Position monsters your opponent controls, including Obelisk.
-
Does Trap Hole work on Obelisk? No, Trap Hole targets the summoned monster and therefore cannot be used on Obelisk. However, Bottomless Trap Hole does not target and will banish Obelisk if its ATK is 1500 or higher.
-
Can Solemn Judgment negate the Summon of Obelisk? Yes, Solemn Judgment can negate the summon of any monster, including Obelisk, as it negates the summon itself, not targeting the monster.
-
If Skill Drain is active, can I target Obelisk? Yes, if Skill Drain is active, Obelisk’s effects are negated, including his targeting protection. He becomes vulnerable to any card effect.
-
Can Compulsory Evacuation Device target Obelisk? No, Compulsory Evacuation Device targets a monster on the field. Since Obelisk cannot be targeted, this card cannot be used on him.
-
Does Dimensional Prison work against Obelisk? No, Dimensional Prison targets the attacking monster. Obelisk cannot be targeted, so this card is ineffective.
-
Can Torrential Tribute destroy Obelisk? Yes, Torrential Tribute destroys all monsters on the field when a monster is summoned. This does not target, so Obelisk will be destroyed.
-
If I activate Magic Cylinder when Obelisk attacks, will it work? No, Magic Cylinder targets the attacking monster. Because Obelisk cannot be targeted, the effect will not resolve.
-
Can I use a Trap Card to change Obelisk to defense position? Traps that target, such as Book of Moon, cannot target Obelisk. However, traps that don’t target, such as Quaking Mirror Force, can change Obelisk to face-down Defense Position.
-
Can Breakthrough Skill negate Obelisk’s effect? Yes, Breakthrough Skill can target Obelisk in the Graveyard and negate his effects. It only targets in the Graveyard.
-
If I activate a Continuous Trap, like Gozen Match, does it affect Obelisk? Yes, since it does not target it will affect Obelisk
-
Does Mirror Force Dragon negate Obelisk? Yes, Mirror Force Dragon’s effect does not target.
-
Can I equip a Trap Card, like Metalmorph, to Obelisk? No, equip cards target the monster they are equipping to. Therefore, they cannot target Obelisk.
-
If my opponent activates a Trap Card that would destroy all monsters I control and I have no other monsters besides Obelisk, would Obelisk be destroyed by it? Yes, as long as the effect does not target.
-
Can I use a Trap Card to return Obelisk to the hand? No. Since the Trap Card targets it will not affect him.
Conclusion
While Obelisk the Tormentor boasts impressive protection, it’s crucial to remember that this protection is limited to effects that target him specifically. A variety of non-targeting Trap Cards, effect negation, and clever strategies can overcome his defenses. A solid understanding of the game mechanics, especially the nuances of targeting, is essential for effectively playing against and around this iconic God Card. You can learn more about game rules and strategy through resources like the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. Remember that the key to success in Yu-Gi-Oh! is understanding the rules and applying them strategically.