Is reconfigure a sorcery?

Is Reconfigure a Sorcery?

Reconfigure is not a sorcery itself, but rather a keyword ability found on artifact creatures with the subtype “Equipment” that allows players to attach the Equipment to a creature they control by paying the reconfigure cost as a sorcery, or move it from one creature to another. This ability can only be activated at sorcery speed, which means it can only be used during one of the player’s main phases when the stack is empty, making it distinct from instants or other types of spells.

Understanding Reconfigure

To delve deeper into the mechanics of reconfigure, let’s address some common questions that players may have about this ability and its interactions with other Magic: The Gathering rules and cards.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Is Reconfigure the Same as Equip?
  • No, reconfigure and equip are not the same, although both involve attaching an Equipment to a creature. Reconfigure is a specific ability that allows an artifact creature with the subtype Equipment to be attached to a creature, whereas equip is a more general term for the action of attaching any Equipment to a creature.
  1. Can You Reconfigure from Hand?
  • Reconfigure is an activated ability, not an alternate cost, meaning you must first cast the Equipment for its mana cost and then you can activate the reconfigure ability to attach it to a creature.
  1. What is Reconfigure?
  • Reconfigure is a keyword ability that allows a player to attach an Equipment to a creature they control or move it from one creature to another by paying the reconfigure cost.
  1. Is Reconfigure Still a Creature?
  • When an artifact creature with reconfigure is attached to another creature, it is not considered a creature until it becomes unattached again.
  1. Does Reconfigure Count as Equip?
  • No, reconfigure does not count as equipping for cards that specifically reference equipping a creature.
  1. Can You Reconfigure at Instant Speed?
  • No, reconfigure can only be activated at sorcery speed, meaning when the stack is empty during one of your main phases.
  1. What is the Meaning of Reconfiguring?
  • To reconfigure means to rearrange something into an altered form, figure, shape, or layout, or to configure something again or in a new way.
  1. How Does Reality Chip Work?
  • The Reality Chip allows you to look at the top card of your library at any time, and if it is attached to a creature, you may play lands and cast spells from the top of your library.
  1. Does Balan Work with Reconfigure?
  • Yes, Balan can work with reconfigure creatures, as reconfigure creatures will work with any effects that affect Equipment.
  1. Do Artifacts Have Summoning Sickness?

    • All permanents experience summoning sickness, but only creatures (including artifact creatures) are affected by it in a way that prevents them from attacking or using abilities that require tapping unless they have a specific exemption.
  2. Is a Token Creature Still a Creature?

    • Yes, token creatures are considered creatures and operate like any other permanent on the battlefield, unless a specific ability distinguishes between tokens and non-tokens.
  3. Does Double Strike Count as First Strike?

    • No, double strike is not the same as first strike; creatures with double strike deal combat damage twice (in both the first and second combat damage steps), while creatures with first strike deal combat damage before creatures without first strike.
  4. What is Reconfiguration According to Merriam Webster?

    • Reconfiguration refers to a new or different relative arrangement of parts or elements, or the rearrangement of a previous configuration.
  5. How Does Living Weapon Work?

    • Living weapons are creatures until they are equipped to another creature, at which point they become Equipment; if they are detached, they become creatures again unless their toughness is 0, in which case they are put into the graveyard.
  6. Can You Play More Than One Land with Reality Chip?

    • The ability of The Reality Chip to play lands from the top of your library can be used multiple times in a turn if the top card of your library is a land and you have the necessary mana, allowing for potentially multiple land plays per turn under the right conditions.

Leave a Comment