Is Sheathing a Weapon a Bonus Action in D&D 5e? A Comprehensive Guide
No, sheathing a weapon is NOT a bonus action in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e). According to the rules, sheathing a weapon typically requires your action or your free object interaction. While you get one free object interaction per turn that can be used to draw or stow a weapon, sheathing a weapon beyond that single free interaction consumes your entire action for the turn. Understanding this rule is crucial for optimizing combat effectiveness and strategic decision-making.
Free Object Interaction vs. Actions: The Core of Weapon Management
The heart of this discussion lies in the distinction between a free object interaction and a full action. Every character gets one free object interaction per turn. This interaction is usually used for simple tasks like opening a door, picking up a small item, or drawing or stowing a single weapon.
However, if you need to stow or draw more than one weapon, or perform another action while also stowing a weapon, you must use your action.
For instance, a fighter wielding a greatsword and a dagger might use their free object interaction to draw the dagger, then attack with the greatsword, but sheathing that greatsword to ready a shield would require their entire action. This action economy significantly impacts character builds, particularly for those relying on frequent weapon swaps.
Practical Implications in Gameplay
Consider a scenario: A paladin is wielding a longsword and a shield. They’ve made their attacks and now want to stow their sword to cast a spell requiring both hands. Using their free object interaction to sheathe is now illegal according to the rules. This impacts spell casting and adds a strategic element to combat and requires careful planning. This is a common tactic that forces a player to rely on their surroundings.
Why This Rule Matters
This seemingly minor rule profoundly affects gameplay balance. Allowing characters to freely swap weapons would effectively grant them additional actions, greatly enhancing their combat prowess, especially at higher levels where multiple attacks become standard. Imagine a fighter making four attacks with a greatsword, then seamlessly switching to a bow for a ranged attack – this would be a significant power boost not intended by the game’s designers. These are considerations and rules that are discussed at the Games Learning Society as well as other online forums and resources.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Weapon Handling in 5e
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of weapon handling within the rules of D&D 5e:
1. Is drawing a weapon a bonus action?
Drawing a weapon is usually considered an item interaction rather than a bonus or regular action. You get one free object interaction per turn, which can be used to draw a weapon. Any further drawing of weapons beyond the one free object interaction would require you to use a full action.
2. What is the bonus action for weapon attack?
The most common bonus action related to weapon attacks is the Two-Weapon Fighting rule. If you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. Remember that you don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus action attack, unless that modifier is negative.
3. Can you stow a weapon as a free action?
You can draw or stow a single weapon for free, per round, as a part of an action or movement. If you need to draw or stow more than one weapon in a round, you need to use your action to accomplish it.
4. Is picking up a dropped weapon an action?
Generally, no. You get one free object interaction per turn. This is usually performed to draw your weapon from where it is stowed, or open a door, but could be used to pick an item off the ground as well.
5. When can I attack as a bonus action?
You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don’t have a bonus action to take. For example, the Two-Weapon Fighting feat allows you to attack with a second light weapon as a bonus action.
6. Can you break up extra attack with a bonus action?
No general rule allows you to insert a bonus action between attacks in a single action. You can interrupt a multiple-attack action with a bonus action/reaction only if the trigger of the bonus action/reaction is an attack, rather than the action. This is why tavern brawler works and shield master shove doesn’t.
7. Does a bonus action count as an attack action?
You can only attack with your bonus action if a spell or feature says you can. In this case magic stone and shillelagh both follow the rules for normal weapon attacks and require the attack action. All creatures have an Action, Movement, free item interaction, and Reaction.
8. Can you stow a shield as a free action?
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move. Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action. Note that unequipping a shield, which requires removing straps and buckles, would require an action.
9. Is preparing an action a bonus action?
A character would not be able to prepare both an action and a bonus action, since they can only hold one action to be triggered while waiting for that trigger. Taking this one step further, Ready allows the character to prepare an action, which is technically different than a bonus action.
10. Is dropping an item a free action?
Dropping an item is a free action and does not require any use of your action, bonus action, or object interaction.
11. What is the difference between an action and a bonus action?
Anything that takes an Action can only be done using an action. Anything that says it takes a bonus action can only be done with a bonus action. Anything that takes a reaction can only be done as a reaction. During your turn you can move, take one action and one bonus action, with certain abilities modifying that.
12. Can you dash as both a bonus action and an action?
Yes. You can take one action, which may be the Dash action. Many abilities and spells (Cunning Action, Expeditious Retreat) allow you to Dash as a bonus action. If you have one of these abilities, you can absolutely take the Dash action twice in one turn and move three times your speed.
13. Can you cast a spell then attack as a bonus action?
Yes, you can do that. If the spell had somatic or material components, a strict DM might interpret RAW against it, based on needing your hands free to cast the spell, and charging you an action to draw your weapon.
14. Is it a bonus action to drop rage?
Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then. You can also end your rage on your turn as a bonus action.
15. Can Rangers hide as a bonus action?
Starting at 14th level, some Ranger subclasses gain the ability to use the Hide action as a bonus action on your turn. This provides significant tactical flexibility, especially in stealth-focused scenarios.
Mastering the Action Economy
Understanding the action economy is fundamental to effective D&D gameplay. Knowing when you can freely interact with objects, when you need to expend an action, and how bonus actions can augment your turn allows for more strategic decision-making. Mismanaging your actions can leave you vulnerable, while efficient use can turn the tide of battle. This is a topic studied by the GamesLearningSociety.org, focusing on the cognitive aspects of gameplay and decision-making.