What actions can you take in a turn 5e?

What Actions Can You Take in a Turn in 5e?

In Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (5e), understanding the actions you can take each turn is crucial for effective gameplay. A player’s turn is structured around a specific set of limitations and opportunities, ensuring that combat and other situations remain balanced and engaging. Simply put, on your turn you typically have access to one action, one bonus action, one movement allowance, one interaction with an object, and may have an opportunity to use one reaction. Let’s break down each of these elements to fully grasp how they work within the game’s rules.

Core Actions in a 5e Turn

The core structure of a turn in 5e revolves around a few key concepts:

Action

The most significant part of your turn is your action. This can be used for a variety of things, including:

  • Attacking: Making a melee or ranged attack against an enemy. If you have the Extra Attack feature, you can make multiple attacks as part of this single action.
  • Casting a Spell: Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 action.
  • Dashing: Moving double your normal movement speed.
  • Disengaging: Avoiding opportunity attacks when you move.
  • Dodging: Making it harder for enemies to hit you.
  • Helping: Granting advantage to an ally’s next attack roll or skill check.
  • Hiding: Attempting to conceal yourself from enemies.
  • Readying: Preparing an action to take later.
  • Searching: Looking for something in your environment.
  • Using an object: Activating a special object, such as a healing potion.
  • Shoving: An attack action that can be used to knock someone prone or move them.
  • Grappling: An attack action used to try and take hold of an enemy.

Choosing the appropriate action is vital for both combat effectiveness and the narrative elements of the game.

Movement

Each turn, you can move a distance up to your character’s speed. This movement can occur before or after your action. Common movement options include:

  • Walking: The base speed of your character as noted on your character sheet.
  • Climbing, Swimming, and Crawling: These often cost extra movement, typically a 1:2 ratio (moving 1 ft in the water is 2ft of movement)
  • Mounting/Dismounting: You can mount a creature or dismount, using movement as a part of it.
  • Dash: Using an action to double your movement.

Strategic movement is essential for positioning, avoiding danger, and getting into melee range with opponents.

Bonus Action

A bonus action is a secondary action that is only available under certain circumstances or if your character has specific abilities, such as class features or spells. You only get one bonus action per turn. Examples include:

  • Casting a spell: Specifically a spell with a casting time of one bonus action.
  • Flurry of Blows (Monk): Making a martial arts attack.
  • Off-hand attack (if dual wielding)
  • Using specific class features

Interact With Object

You get one free interaction with an object per turn. This generally includes:

  • Drawing or sheathing a weapon.
  • Opening or closing a door.
  • Picking up or setting down an object.
  • Taking out a spell component.

Anything beyond a single object interaction usually requires your action to accomplish.

Reaction

The final piece is the reaction. Reactions can be used on other player’s turns. If a trigger occurs (such as an enemy attacking you, or an ally falling) you can use your reaction to respond. You can only have one reaction per round, meaning, only one use between the end of your turn and the start of your next turn. Examples of reactions include:

  • Opportunity Attack: Striking an enemy who leaves your melee range.
  • Counterspell: Interrupting a spell being cast.
  • Shield spell: Increasing your AC against an incoming attack.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some common questions that players have about actions in 5e:

Can I use two bonus actions in a single turn?

No, you can only take one bonus action per turn.

Can I use a reaction during my own turn?

Yes, if a trigger occurs on your turn that would allow you to use a reaction, you can. For example, if an enemy provokes an opportunity attack on your turn, you can use your reaction for an attack.

Can I use both a bonus action and a reaction in the same turn?

Yes, you can use one bonus action and one reaction on your turn if the circumstances allow.

Can I cast two spells in a turn?

You can cast two spells in a turn but with limitations. If you cast any spell as a bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action as your action. You can never cast two spells of 1st-level or higher.

Can I shove twice in a single turn?

No. Shoving is an attack action, you can only shove multiple times if you have multiple attack actions. For example, you could make three attacks, and replace one of those attacks with a shove, because all of that is one Action. You could get another Action from a feature like Haste or Action Surge.

Can I use multiple maneuvers in a turn?

Yes, a Battlemaster Fighter could make a normal attack and use a manoeuvre on it, and then with an Extra Attack feature they could make another attack and use a second maneuver. You can only use one maneuver per attack.

Is opening a door an action?

Yes, opening a door counts as an interaction with an object, which you get one for free. A second door would require an action.

How many actions do you get per turn?

You get one action, one bonus action, one interaction with an object, movement and one reaction (if a trigger occurs). There are some exceptions on Actions (Fighters can get a second Action with Action Surge) but there are no exceptions that I know of for Reaction and Bonus Action – you get only one of each of those per turn.

Can you take a bonus action as an action?

No. Bonus actions and actions are not interchangeable.

Can you hold your turn in 5e?

No, there is no mechanic for delaying or holding your turn in 5e. You may use the Ready Action to be able to use an action outside your own turn, based on a condition you choose.

How many cantrips can I cast in a turn?

You cannot cast two cantrips during one action, However, if you cast a spell as a bonus action, your action can only be used to cast a cantrip.

Can I throw two weapons in a turn?

You can only interact with one object for free on your turn, so, no. You would need another action to throw a second weapon.

Can I Flurry of Blows twice in a turn?

No, Flurry of Blows is a bonus action and you only get one bonus action in a turn. Extra Attack is not another action.

Can I grapple and shove on the same turn?

Yes, if you have the Extra Attack feature, or other way of making multiple attacks per action. You could grapple and then shove (or any other combination).

Can I use a reaction before my first turn in combat?

Yes, you can use your reaction before your first turn unless you are surprised.
Understanding these elements will help you to make the most of every turn you take in D&D 5e. By strategizing your actions, movements, bonus actions, interactions and reactions you will find yourself better positioned to handle any situation.

Leave a Comment