Attunement in D&D 5e: A Comprehensive Guide
The rules for attunement in D&D 5e limit the number of magic items a character can effectively bond with and use to their full potential. A character can only be attuned to a maximum of three magic items at any given time, and each item explicitly stating “requires attunement” consumes one of these valuable slots.
Understanding Attunement
Attunement represents a deeper connection between a character and a magic item, allowing them to unlock its full potential. Not all magic items require attunement, and those that do often possess more potent and nuanced abilities.
The Basics of Attunement
- Maximum Limit: A character can be attuned to no more than three magic items at once.
- Item Requirement: Only items specifically stating “requires attunement” use up an attunement slot. Many magic items provide their benefits without needing to be attuned.
- The Process: Attuning to an item requires spending 1 hour concentrating on it, typically during a short rest. The character must remain in close physical contact with the item throughout the entire hour. The attunement ends immediately if the character dies or is no longer within 100 feet of the item for 24 hours.
- Character Eligibility: A character can only attune to an item if they meet any specific requirements listed in the item’s description (e.g., class, alignment).
- One at a Time: A character can only attune to one item during a single short rest.
- Voluntary Process: Attunement is always a deliberate act. A character doesn’t accidentally become attuned to an item.
- Ending Attunement: A character can end their attunement to an item at any time, freeing up the attunement slot immediately. This is done as a free action.
Benefits of Attunement
Attunement unlocks the full power of certain magic items. Without attunement, these items might provide only limited benefits, or none at all. Attunement signifies a deep connection, allowing the character to fully integrate the item’s magic into their abilities.
What Breaks Attunement
Several circumstances can cause a character to lose attunement to a magic item:
- Death: A character’s death automatically ends all attunements.
- Distance: If a character is more than 100 feet away from an attuned item for 24 hours, the attunement is broken.
- Removing the Item: Some spells and effects can forcibly remove a magic item from a character’s possession. This might break attunement, depending on the specific circumstances and the DM’s ruling.
- Anti-Magic Field: While within an anti-magic field, a character cannot benefit from the effects of any magic items, including those they are attuned to. However, the attunement itself is not broken unless the character remains in the field for an extended period, as determined by the DM.
- Voluntary Ending: The character chooses to end the attunement.
Attunement: A Strategic Choice
Managing attunement slots is a key strategic element in D&D 5e. Players must carefully consider which magic items to attune to, balancing the benefits of each item with the limitations of the attunement system. This adds depth to character customization and encourages players to make meaningful choices about their gear.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Attunement
What happens if I try to attune to a fourth item?
If you attempt to attune to a fourth item while already attuned to three, the attempt fails. Your existing attunements remain unchanged. You do not randomly lose attunement to another item.
Can I attune to multiple copies of the same item?
No. Even if you have multiple copies of the same magic item (that requires attunement), you can only attune to one of them. Attunement is a personal bond with a specific item, not a type of item.
Does it take a short rest to end an attunement?
No. Ending an attunement is a free action that can be done at any time. It doesn’t require a short rest or any special conditions.
What happens if I am incapacitated during the 1-hour attunement process?
If you are incapacitated during the 1-hour attunement process, the attunement attempt fails, and you must start again from the beginning. The continuous focus and concentration required cannot be maintained while incapacitated.
Can I attune to an item while wearing armor?
Yes. You can attune to an item while wearing armor, as long as you meet any other requirements for attunement (e.g., class restriction, spending the required hour).
Does identifying an item automatically attune me to it?
No. Identifying a magic item reveals its properties and functions, but it does not automatically attune you to it. You must still spend the required hour focusing on the item to become attuned.
What happens if a magic item is cursed?
If a magic item is cursed and requires attunement, the character is usually unaware of the curse until after they have attuned to it. Once attuned, the curse typically cannot be broken except by powerful magic, such as the remove curse spell. Furthermore, the character might be unwilling to part with the item, even knowing it is cursed.
Can I attune to an item that another character is already attuned to?
No. Only one character can be attuned to a specific magic item at any given time.
If I lose attunement to an item due to distance, can I re-attune to it immediately when I get back?
Yes, assuming you are still eligible to attune to the item and you spend another 1 hour concentrating on it during a short rest. The attunement process is the same each time.
Can a creature without hands attune to an item?
This is up to the DM’s discretion. The rules state the character must be in close physical contact with the item. A DM might rule that a creature without hands could attune to an item using another body part, such as a tail or tentacle, as long as they can maintain continuous contact and focus on the item.
If a magic item is destroyed, does that free up an attunement slot immediately?
Yes. If a magic item you are attuned to is destroyed, the attunement ends immediately, freeing up the attunement slot.
Can I attune to an item that requires attunement by a specific class if I multiclassed into that class?
Yes. As long as you meet the requirements listed in the item’s description at the time of attunement, you can attune to the item. Multiclassing allows you to gain the necessary class features to fulfill the requirement.
What happens if I use Wish to gain the benefits of more than three attuned items?
The wish spell can duplicate the effect of another spell or create greater effects. Using wish to gain the benefits of more than three attuned items falls under the “greater effects” category, and is subject to the DM’s discretion. The DM might allow it, with possible drawbacks or limitations, or might rule that wish cannot override the fundamental rules of attunement. Such a wish will likely put you under great stress.
Can a Familiar attune to an item on my behalf?
No. Familiars cannot attune to magic items. Attunement is a personal connection between a character and an item, and familiars do not possess the capacity for attunement. Only player characters (or NPCs, at the DM’s discretion) can attune to magic items.
Can I attune to a magic item while under the effects of a spell like polymorph?
It depends on the spell and the DM’s interpretation. If the polymorph spell significantly alters your mental state or ability to concentrate, it could prevent you from successfully attuning to an item. The DM needs to determine if your new form can reasonably maintain the focus required for the one-hour attunement process. Also, consider if the new form can even interact with the item in a meaningful way to form the bond required for attunement.