The Ultimate Guide to Discarding in Magic: The Gathering
What are the Rules for Discarding in Magic The Gathering?
In Magic: The Gathering (MTG), discarding is a fundamental mechanic that involves moving a card from your hand to your graveyard. The basic rule, outlined in the official Comprehensive Rules (specifically rule 701.8a), states that to discard a card, you move it from its owner’s hand directly to their graveyard. This simple action plays a crucial role in many aspects of the game, from resource management to offensive strategies.
The ability to discard isn’t always voluntary. While many effects allow you to choose which card to discard (701.8b), some effects may force a random discard, or even allow your opponent to choose which card you discard. Moreover, players are forced to discard down to their maximum hand size (typically seven cards) at the end of their turn during the cleanup step. This prevents players from hoarding cards and ensures that the game remains dynamic.
It’s vital to distinguish discarding from other similar mechanics, such as milling (moving cards from your deck to your graveyard) or destroying (removing a permanent from the battlefield). Discarding specifically involves cards in your hand. You cannot “discard” cards from the battlefield. For example, a card like Foolish Burial “sends” a creature to the graveyard, but does not “discard” it.
Understanding the nuances of discarding is crucial for effective gameplay. It not only dictates your end-of-turn actions but also impacts how you react to opponent’s spells and abilities. Let’s dive deeper into the intricacies of this core mechanic with a series of frequently asked questions.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Can I discard a card at any time in Magic?
No, you cannot discard a card at any time. Most of the time, you will discard when forced to due to a spell effect or during the cleanup step if you have more than your maximum hand size. While some cards grant abilities to discard as part of an activated or triggered ability, you cannot arbitrarily discard cards from your hand.
What is the maximum hand size discard in Magic?
The maximum hand size in Magic is typically seven cards. As part of the cleanup step at the end of your turn, if you have more than seven cards in hand, you must discard down to seven. This happens after the main phase and all combat is completed.
Does discarding count as dying?
No. Discarding a card means it moves from your hand to your graveyard. It is not considered to be dying, which applies only to creatures on the battlefield that are removed through destruction, sacrificing, or lethal damage. When a card is discarded, the summon is removed without actually dying.
Is discarding the same as destroying MTG?
Absolutely not. Discarding specifically refers to removing a card from your hand to the graveyard. Destroying refers to removing a permanent (such as a creature or artifact) from the battlefield to the graveyard. These are distinct actions with different triggers and interactions.
Is discarding the same as milling in Magic The Gathering?
No, they are not the same. Discarding involves moving cards from your hand to the graveyard. Milling refers to moving cards from your library (deck) to the graveyard. While both actions result in cards ending up in the graveyard, they are distinct processes with different rules and card interactions.
Am I allowed to show my hand in Magic The Gathering?
Yes. A player can arrange their hand as desired and look at it whenever they choose. You are not obligated to reveal your hand unless an effect or card states otherwise. This is a private area of information, though if a spell asks for a show of your hand, the game demands you reveal it.
How do you discard a card?
In a physical game, you physically move the chosen card from your hand to your graveyard. This is a simple act of physically transferring the card. If you’re using a paper shredder for old cards, it is advisable to use a cross-cutting shredder for the most security. You don’t need to shred your cards for use in game.
Can you discard cards from your hand in magic?
Yes, you can discard cards from your hand when an effect allows you to do so or as part of the cleanup step. Each card discarded is considered a distinct event for abilities that trigger upon discarding. If an effect triggers “whenever you discard one or more cards” it would trigger once for each single card you discard.
Can you pick up a wild card from the discard pile?
In games like Uno, typically no. Discarded wild cards usually freeze the discard pile, preventing you from picking it up until the wild card is no longer on top of the pile. This is not relevant to Magic: The Gathering.
What can I do with unused magic cards?
There are many options for your unused Magic cards. You can sell them in bulk online, at local game stores, or give them to friends or relatives. You can even use them for art projects, such as creating murals or sculptures. Some players build custom casual card “cubes”, which is a set of cards used for drafts.
How many cards can you have at once in Magic?
In most formats, your deck must have at least 60 cards, with no maximum deck size. However, you must be able to shuffle the deck without assistance. You may also have a sideboard of up to 15 cards in tournament settings. Your hand can have any number of cards, but will be discarded to a maximum of 7 during the cleanup step.
How many copies of one card can you have in magic?
In most Constructed formats, you can have a maximum of four copies of any single card in your deck. Some specific formats may have different restrictions or exceptions to this rule.
Does milling cards count as discarding?
No, milling does not count as discarding. Milling involves moving cards from your deck (library) to your graveyard. Discarding is specifically the act of moving cards from your hand to your graveyard.
Is cycling discarding MTG?
Cycling is a special ability on a card that allows you to discard the card from your hand and draw a new one. Therefore, cycling is a type of discarding, and any abilities that trigger when you discard a card would trigger when you cycle one. “When you cycle [this card]” means “When you discard [this card] to pay an activation cost of a cycling ability.”
Can you discard a card if you have no cards in hand?
No. The rule is that you can’t discard what you do not have. Effects that say, “Discard a card” require you to discard one, but if there are no cards to discard it can’t happen. If an effect says, “Discard your hand,” then it resolves regardless of if you have cards in hand, or not.
Does sacrificing count as discarding MTG?
No, sacrificing is not the same as discarding. Sacrificing involves moving a permanent you control from the battlefield to the graveyard. Discarding is specifically moving a card from your hand to your graveyard. You cannot sacrifice an opponents’ permanents, either.
Can you respond to discard MTG?
Yes, if a spell or ability makes you discard cards, you can respond to it by activating abilities or casting instant spells. However, the discard effect will still resolve after your response and you will still have to discard. If a spell says “Discard two cards” and you respond to it with a card draw effect, you must still discard two cards, regardless of the card you drew, and regardless of if you played a card before the discard occurs.