What are the rules for Shroud?

What are the rules for Shroud?

The rules for Shroud are straightforward: a creature or player with Shroud cannot be the target of any spells or abilities, meaning that Shroud prevents a permanent or player from being targeted by any spells or abilities, including those controlled by its owner. This static ability makes creatures with Shroud immune to a wide range of effects, but it does not prevent them from being affected by non-targeting effects, such as board wipes or mass removal spells.

Understanding Shroud

To fully understand Shroud, it’s essential to consider how it interacts with other keywords and abilities in the game.

Frequently Asked Questions

The following FAQs provide additional information about Shroud and how it works in different situations.

  1. What is the difference between Shroud and Hexproof? Shroud means that a permanent or player cannot be the target of any spells or abilities, while Hexproof only prevents a permanent from being targeted by spells or abilities controlled by opponents.

  2. Does Shroud block board wipes? No, Shroud does not prevent board wipes or other non-targeting effects from affecting a creature.

  3. Can a creature with Shroud be equipped? No, a creature with Shroud cannot be equipped with Equipment because the equip ability requires targeting the creature.

  4. Does Shroud remove enchantments? No, if a permanent gains Shroud, any enchantments or Equipment that were previously attached to it will still apply.

  5. Can you put an enchantment on a creature with Shroud? No, Shroud prevents a creature from being targeted by spells, including enchantments.

  6. Does Shroud prevent sacrifice? No, a creature with Shroud can still be sacrificed because sacrificing a creature does not require targeting it.

  7. Can you counter a spell with Shroud? Yes, Shroud only applies to permanents on the battlefield, so a spell with Shroud can still be countered.

  8. How does Shroud work with Deathtouch? Shroud does not prevent Deathtouch from working because Deathtouch does not target the creature.

  9. Does first strike negate Deathtouch? Yes, if a creature with first strike or double strike blocks a creature with Deathtouch, it will deal damage before the Deathtouch creature can.

  10. Can you target your own creature with Hexproof? Yes, Hexproof only prevents opponents from targeting a permanent, so you can still target your own creatures with Hexproof.

  11. Does regenerate stop Deathtouch? Yes, if a creature has regenerate, it will not be destroyed by Deathtouch.

  12. Can you unequip Lightning Greaves? No, you cannot unequip Equipment from a creature, but you can move it to a different creature.

  13. How do you destroy a creature with Shroud? You can destroy a creature with Shroud using non-targeting effects, such as board wipes, or by forcing its controller to sacrifice it.

  14. Does Indestructible stop Deathtouch? Yes, Indestructible creatures are immune to Deathtouch because they cannot be destroyed.

  15. What beats Deathtouch? Deathtouch can be beaten by using Indestructible creatures, regeneration, or first strike or double strike to deal damage before the Deathtouch creature can.

Leave a Comment