What are the rules for spell storing items?

Unlocking the Arcane: A Comprehensive Guide to Spell Storing Items in D&D 5e

Spell storing items are potent tools in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition, allowing characters to temporarily circumvent the usual restrictions of spellcasting. These items, ranging from enchanted weapons to mystical rings, offer a unique way to manipulate magic, but they operate under specific and sometimes intricate rules. This article aims to demystify spell storing items, providing a comprehensive guide to their mechanics and related considerations.

Core Rules of Spell Storing Items

At their heart, spell storing items allow a character to hold a spell within an object, to be unleashed at a later time, often by a different character entirely. The most common version of this is the Ring of Spell Storing, but other items like spell storing weapons exist too. The underlying principle remains consistent:

  • Storage Mechanism: A spell is “cast” into the item, usually by a spellcaster. The spell’s effect is negated as it is absorbed by the item.
  • Level Limitations: Typically, there are limitations on the level of spells that can be stored. The Ring of Spell Storing, for instance, can hold up to five levels worth of spells, while spell-storing weapons may be capped at 3rd level. Some items may have other level specific restrictions or limitations.
  • Triggering the Spell: Once stored, a designated individual can trigger the spell’s effect. They don’t necessarily have to be the one who cast the spell into the item.
  • Casting Requirements: The caster of the spell, when casting it into the item, must still provide all necessary components (verbal, somatic, material), even though the effect is negated and stored instead.
  • Caster Characteristics: When the spell is triggered from the item, it typically uses the original caster’s spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability modifier. The spell itself otherwise acts as if the new user cast it.
  • No Counterspell: Importantly, using an item to produce the effect of a spell doesn’t count as “casting a spell” in the traditional sense. This means effects such as Counterspell cannot be used against it.
  • Attunement: Some spell storing items, like the Ring of Spell Storing, require attunement to activate the stored spells. Often times the person who casts the spell into the item doesn’t need to be attuned to it, and another person can be the one who is attuned and can use the spells.
  • Reusability: Spell storing items generally have a finite number of uses, or a specific storage duration, after which they must be refilled. Some items, such as an artificer’s Spell-Storing Item, has limited uses before needing to be charged again.

Variations in Spell Storing Items

While the above describes the typical mechanism, it’s important to note that each spell storing item may have specific rules and unique quirks. This can include, but not limited to:

  • Unique Restrictions: Certain items may have unique restrictions on the type of spells that can be stored or limitations on the number of spells or specific spell levels they can hold.
  • Number of Charges: Some items might have a limited number of charges of a particular spell, or a maximum amount of levels of spells that can be stored in total.
  • Duration of Storage: Some spell storing items might hold the spell for a limited time or until a specific trigger. The Spell-Storing Item from an artificer, for instance, stores a spell until it has been used a certain number of times or a new spell is added.
  • Special Triggers: Some items might require specific actions, or unique triggers in order to release the stored spell.

Frequently Asked Questions about Spell Storing Items

Here are some frequently asked questions to help further clarify the rules and intricacies of spell storing items:

Q1: Can a non-spellcaster use a Ring of Spell Storing?

Absolutely! Any creature can cast a spell stored in the Ring of Spell Storing, regardless of their inherent spellcasting ability. This makes it an incredibly versatile item for any party.

Q2: Can a familiar use a spell storing item?

Yes, a familiar can use a spell storing item, provided the spell stored in the item doesn’t require an attack roll. For instance, a familiar could easily use a spell like Shield or Healing Word from the ring.

Q3: Does casting a spell into a spell storing item count as casting a spell?

Yes, the act of casting a spell into a spell storing item is considered casting the spell. This means that all required components must be provided. However, using the stored spell from the item does not count as casting a spell for the wielder.

Q4: Can a spell be counterspelled when cast from a spell storing item?

No, the act of using an item to cast a stored spell is not considered casting a spell. Therefore, the spell cannot be counterspelled.

Q5: Can a Ring of Spell Storing hold cantrips?

No, the Ring of Spell Storing cannot hold cantrips. It is explicitly designed to store spells of 1st through 5th level only.

Q6: Can a Warlock effectively use a Ring of Spell Storing?

Warlocks face some limitations. Because they can’t control the spell slot level they use when casting, they may struggle with the ring’s level-based storage. They don’t have much control over how many levels of spells they can put in the ring.

Q7: Can a Paladin use a Ring of Spell Storing effectively?

Yes, Paladins can use the Ring of Spell Storing effectively, but it requires care. As they might not have the free hands that a full caster would, they need to be mindful of the material and somatic components needed to cast the spell stored.

Q8: Can a spell stored in a spell storing item be upcast?

No, the act of casting a spell into a spell storing item is not an upcast of the spell. The spell is simply stored at the level it is cast.

Q9: Do you need to be attuned to a Ring of Spell Storing to cast spells into it?

No, you do not need to be attuned to the Ring of Spell Storing to cast spells into it. However, you do need to be attuned to the ring to cast the spells that are stored within it.

Q10: Can you attune to multiple Rings of Spell Storing?

No, you cannot attune to multiple copies of the same magic item, including the Ring of Spell Storing.

Q11: Can you use metamagic when casting a spell into or from a Ring of Spell Storing?

No. Metamagic options are not stored in the ring, nor can you use metamagic while activating the spells. The ring uses the original caster’s spell attack bonus, save DC, and spellcasting modifier, but otherwise the spell is treated as if the new wielder cast it.

Q12: Does using a wand count as casting a spell?

Yes, using a wand does count as casting a spell, which is different than a spell storing item. Thus a wand can be counterspelled.

Q13: Can you cast two spells if one is a bonus action?

Yes, you can cast a spell as a bonus action but must follow the rules for casting with a bonus action. The only other spell you may cast is a cantrip that takes an action.

Q14: Can you cast a spell from an item without expending spell slots?

Yes, some items allow you to cast spells without using spell slots. Such spells are usually cast at the lowest possible spell level and require no components, unless the item description states otherwise.

Q15: What is an artificer’s Spell-Storing Item?

An artificer can create a Spell-Storing Item, which allows a creature to produce the effect of a single spell. The creature uses the artificer’s spellcasting ability modifier, but it’s not considered casting the spell. The stored spell can be used a limited number of times based on the artificer’s Intelligence modifier before it must be reloaded.

Conclusion

Spell storing items present a fascinating tactical dimension to D&D 5e, offering versatile options for both spellcasters and non-spellcasters. Understanding their intricate rules allows players to fully exploit their potential, adding depth and complexity to gameplay. By paying careful attention to the nuances of spell storage, characters can unlock surprising synergies and unleash powerful magic. From the strategic depth of the Ring of Spell Storing to the creative potential of an artificer’s item, these tools are a valuable addition to any adventurer’s repertoire.

Leave a Comment