What can you use a bonus action for?

What can you use a bonus action for?

You can use a bonus action for a variety of activities in Dungeons & Dragons, including making an offhand attack, shoving an enemy, casting a spell, or using certain abilities or features that specifically state they can be used as a bonus action. The key to using a bonus action effectively is understanding the rules and limitations that govern its use, such as the fact that you can only take one bonus action per turn and that it can only be used on your turn, not during other players’ turns or as a reaction.

Understanding Bonus Actions

To get the most out of bonus actions, it’s essential to understand how they fit into the broader context of actions and reactions in D&D. A bonus action is a special type of action that can be taken in addition to your regular action on your turn.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the rules for bonus actions in 5e?

The rules for bonus actions in 5e state that you can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action.

Can you use a bonus action as a regular action?

No, a bonus action cannot be used as a regular action, but you can use your bonus action on your turn, just like your movement or action.

Can I use a bonus action for a cantrip?

Yes, you can use a bonus action to cast a cantrip, and you can cast another cantrip as your action on the same turn.

Can you use a bonus action when it’s not your turn?

No, you can only use a bonus action on your turn; during other players’ turns, you can only use a reaction.

Can you cast two cantrips in one turn if one is a bonus action?

Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn if one is a bonus action, as the rule for casting any spell with a bonus action says that the only other spells you may cast that turn are cantrips with an action.

Can you throw a dagger as a bonus action?

Yes, you can throw a dagger as a bonus action, but without Two-Weapon Fighting, you won’t get the added proficiency bonus with your off-hand attack.

Can you use an action and a bonus action in the same turn?

Yes, you can use an action and a bonus action in the same turn, allowing you to cast more than one spell per turn.

How often can you use bonus actions?

You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.

Is healing word a bonus action?

Healing Word is a spell for Bards, Clerics, and Druids, and some classes can cast healing spells as a bonus action, such as a Celestial Warlock using Healing Light.

Can you cast spiritual weapon as a bonus action?

Yes, you can cast Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action, and on subsequent turns, moving the spiritual weapon and making a melee attack would be a bonus action.

Can you cast a spell from an item and as a bonus action?

You can cast a spell from an item and as a bonus action, but you’re not casting a spell with the item; you’re using an item, so you can cast a spell with a bonus action and then use the item for a full spell.

Can you cast 2 fireballs with quickened spell?

No, Quickened Spell does not remove the limitation of casting a spell as a bonus action, so you cannot cast two fireballs with Quickened Spell.

Can you cast 2 cantrips if you have 2 attacks?

No, you can cast a cantrip in replacement of an attack that you take during the Attack action, but only one; you can’t do two cantrips in the same action.

Can you cast as many cantrips as you want?

Yes, cantrips have no limit, so long as you have actions available to cast with, meaning you can cast an infinite number of cantrips assuming you have an infinite number of actions.

Can you use a bonus action to move?

No, in general, a character can take a bonus action only if they have a special feature or spell that specifically says it requires a bonus action to use; on your turn, you get one action and you can move.

Is drinking a potion a bonus action?

Drinking a potion is not typically a bonus action, but it is a popular house rule in Dungeons & Dragons to let characters drink a potion as a bonus action rather than as an action.

Leave a Comment