What Does “Target Opponent” Mean in Magic The Gathering?
In Magic: The Gathering (MTG), the phrase “target opponent” refers to a specific player that you, the controller of a spell or ability, choose as the recipient of its effect. It’s a crucial mechanic that underpins much of the game’s strategy and interaction. When a card or ability states “target opponent,” it’s essential to understand that it specifically means another player. You cannot target yourself with something that requires you to target an opponent, and you also cannot target a teammate if you are in a multiplayer format like Two-Headed Giant. In essence, the phrase is a key restriction, defining who can be affected by specific actions during a game. The proper execution of this targeting mechanic is fundamental to playing MTG correctly. Let’s delve into the specifics of targeting and address some common questions.
Understanding Targeting in MTG
The Essence of Targeting
Targeting is one of the core mechanics of Magic: The Gathering, distinct from other effects. Targeting is done by spells and abilities, not by a player directly. When you cast a spell that reads “target opponent,” the spell, through your selection, is targeting the specified opponent. You, the player, are choosing the target for the spell, not targeting it directly. This is a subtle but vital difference, and understanding the nuances is key to playing MTG effectively. The game’s rules dictate that every time a spell or ability uses the word “target,” there is a requirement for you to choose at least one valid target, and the specific rules of the card determine what constitutes a legal target, such as “target creature”, “target permanent”, or as we are discussing, “target opponent.”
Why Targeting Matters
The use of “target opponent” is a critical piece in how the game is designed for interaction. It forces interaction. Cards using this term often create a choice for you as the caster. You must determine which of your opponents is the most vulnerable or beneficial to influence. Because targeting forces interaction, spells and abilities that use it can be powerful tools for manipulating the board state, dealing direct damage, or controlling an opponent’s resources. You might need to use it to discard a card from your target opponent’s hand, or to deal them direct damage. Understanding the implications of this targeting mechanic is crucial to succeeding at MTG.
Related Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some FAQs related to the topic, to further clarify any confusion and provide a comprehensive understanding of targeting opponents in MTG:
1. Can I target myself with a spell that says “target opponent”?
No. You cannot target yourself. If an effect says “target opponent,” it specifically means another player in the game, and not you.
2. What happens if my target opponent becomes an illegal target?
If a target opponent becomes an illegal target after a spell or ability has been activated (e.g., they leave the game or gain protection from the spell’s color), the spell or ability will be countered upon resolution, and it will have no effect.
3. Does “target opponent” always mean “target player”?
No. While all opponents are players, a card will specify “target player” if it can target yourself too. “Target opponent” specifically excludes yourself.
4. If a spell doesn’t say “target,” does it still target?
No. A spell or ability only targets if the word “target” appears in its text. If the word “target” does not exist, that effect does not target. Board wipes, for instance, do not target.
5. Can I choose a planeswalker as a “target opponent?”
No. Planeswalkers are different card types from players, with their own distinct rules for interaction. You can not target an opponent as if they were a planeswalker and you can not target a planeswalker as if it was a player.
6. What if a card says “choose” instead of “target”?
The word “choose” usually indicates that the spell or ability does not target, meaning effects that protect from targeting are irrelevant. Choosing a card or player is not the same as targeting them. There are even cards that have been errated from select to choose, so that they would not target.
7. What happens if there are no legal targets for my spell?
If there are no legal targets for a spell or ability that requires a target, you can’t cast it or activate that ability, it is illegal. Targeting is a part of casting.
8. How does targeting work with copied spells?
When a spell is copied, the copy will copy the characteristics and all decisions made for it, including targets. If the original spell targeted a specific opponent, the copy will target the same opponent.
9. Does protection from a color prevent targeting?
Yes. If an opponent has protection from the color of your spell or ability, you cannot target them. This will make them an illegal target.
10. Can I use “target opponent” on an opponent who has hexproof?
Yes. Hexproof only prevents targeting by spells and abilities you control. So, a spell that says “target opponent” will work just fine. It is the permanent of the target opponent that hexproof would make an illegal target for, not the player themselves.
11. Does shroud prevent me from using “target opponent”?
No. Shroud prevents targeting the permanent, not the player. A player cannot have shroud, so “target opponent” is not affected by shroud on a player’s permanent.
12. Can I “fail to find” a target when a spell says “target opponent”?
No. You can only “fail to find” when you are searching for a card, for instance from your library. You cannot “fail to find” a player when you are targeting an opponent. If there is at least one opponent that is legal, you have to target them.
13. Is “selecting” the same as targeting?
No. While some older cards used to say “select” to indicate a target, these have generally been errata-ed to say “target”. Some older cards which used “select” in the text were errata-ed to say “choose” to specify that a player decides which card without targeting.
14. How do I choose targets when a spell says “up to X target opponents”?
When a spell says “up to X target opponents,” you can choose between zero and X legal opponents to target. You are not forced to choose all potential targets.
15. Can I target an opponent with multiple copies of the same spell?
Yes, assuming the copies are each individually targeting, and not a copy of a spell already targeting one player. There’s no rule preventing you from targeting the same opponent with multiple separate instances of the same spell or ability.
Conclusion
Understanding “target opponent” is fundamental to playing Magic: The Gathering strategically and correctly. This phrase dictates exactly who a spell or ability can affect, adding layers of complexity and interaction to the game. Remember that targeting is a mechanic used by spells and abilities, not by the player, and that “target opponent” specifically means another player, not yourself. By grasping these fundamental concepts, you’ll be able to navigate the battlefield with more confidence and achieve a deeper level of gameplay.