What Doubles on a Crit in D&D 5e? A Comprehensive Guide
In the thrilling world of Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (5e), landing a critical hit is a moment of pure exhilaration. It signifies not just a successful attack, but a spectacular one, capable of turning the tide of battle. But what exactly happens when you roll that coveted natural 20? The key lies in understanding what elements of your attack are doubled. Simply put, on a critical hit in 5e, you double all the attack’s damage dice. Let’s break this down further.
The Core Rule: Doubling Damage Dice
The fundamental rule of a critical hit in 5e is that you roll all the attack’s damage dice twice and add them together, and then add any modifiers. This means if you are wielding a longsword, which normally deals 1d8 slashing damage, a critical hit would result in rolling 2d8. If you have additional dice from class features like Sneak Attack or Divine Smite, those too are doubled. For example, if you are a rogue dealing 1d6 sneak attack damage in addition to your longsword’s 1d8, your critical hit would involve rolling 2d8+2d6. This rule applies to any damage dice rolled as part of the attack, whether from the weapon itself, class abilities, or spells that involve an attack roll.
What Does NOT Double
It’s just as important to understand what doesn’t double on a crit. Static bonuses, such as your Strength or Dexterity modifier applied to damage, or bonuses from magic weapons do not get doubled. These bonuses are added only once after you’ve rolled all your doubled damage dice. So, if our Rogue above with a +4 Dexterity modifier and a +1 magic sword hits with a crit they’d roll 2d8+2d6 and then add +5 one time, not twice. Also, conditions such as persistent damage or poison damage on a weapon are not doubled, as they are not dice rolled as part of the attack’s immediate damage. The focus is specifically on the dice associated with the attack.
Key Examples of What Doubles
Let’s take a look at some common elements that are doubled on a critical hit:
- Weapon Damage Dice: The dice listed for your weapon in the equipment section.
- Sneak Attack Dice (Rogue): The extra d6s rogues add to their attacks when they have advantage or another ally is engaged with the enemy.
- Divine Smite Dice (Paladin): The extra radiant damage dice paladins can add to a melee attack.
- Spell Damage Dice (Spells with Attack Rolls): Dice damage from spells that require an attack roll, like Fire Bolt or Scorching Ray.
- Hunter’s Mark Dice (Ranger): When hunters mark is used and you hit the target.
- Other Class Ability Damage Dice: Any class features that add damage via dice rolls to attacks.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify what doubles on a critical hit in D&D 5e:
1. Do All Damage Dice Double?
Yes, all damage dice associated with an attack are doubled on a critical hit. This includes dice from weapons, class features, and spell attack rolls.
2. Do Static Bonuses Double?
No. Static bonuses, like Strength or Dexterity modifiers, do not double on a critical hit. They are added only once, after all the doubled dice have been rolled.
3. Are Sneak Attack Dice Doubled on a Crit?
Yes. When a rogue scores a critical hit, they roll double the amount of Sneak Attack dice in addition to their weapon damage dice.
4. Does Sharpshooter Bonus Damage Double?
No. The +10 damage from the Sharpshooter feat is a static bonus and is therefore added only once to the final damage, it is not rolled as dice.
5. Does Divine Smite Damage Double on a Crit?
Absolutely. The radiant damage dice added from a Paladin’s Divine Smite are doubled on a critical hit.
6. Do Spell Damage Dice Double on a Crit?
Yes, but only for spells that involve an attack roll. If a spell requires a saving throw, it does not crit. When a spell attack roll hits as a critical hit, the spell damage dice will be doubled.
7. Does Persistent Damage Double on a Crit?
No. Persistent damage such as from a condition, is not considered part of the attack’s immediate damage and therefore is not doubled.
8. Is Poison Damage Doubled?
Yes, poison damage dice are doubled on a critical hit, assuming it’s part of the attack’s rolled damage. If it’s a condition applied over time, it would not double.
9. How is Critical Hit Damage Calculated?
You roll all the attack’s damage dice twice, sum them together, and then add any static bonuses.
10. Does Hunter’s Mark Damage Double?
Yes. The extra d6 added by Hunter’s Mark is a damage die and therefore doubles on a critical hit.
11. Is Bane Multiplied on a Crit?
No. Bane adds dice, but these are added as an additional dice, not from the base weapon, so the Bane damage is not multiplied on a critical hit.
12. Do Magic Weapon Bonus Damage Dice Double?
Yes, any bonus damage dice from a magic weapon is doubled. The static bonus (+1, +2, etc) from a magic weapon does not double.
13. Does Savage Attacks Double on a Crit?
No, the extra die from a half-orc’s Savage Attacks is not doubled because the ability specifically states that the extra die is rolled after the attack and is not rolled at the same time as other damage dice.
14. What if my table plays with different crit rules?
Some tables might use a house rule where all dice are rolled and the total is doubled. This is not the RAW (Rules as Written) for D&D 5e. The official rule is to roll double the dice, not to double the final result. It’s vital to clarify what rules your group uses.
15. Does Arcane Jolt Double on a Crit?
No. While Arcane Jolt does have a secondary healing effect, the ability only uses a d6 for the initial attack. Therefore, the secondary healing effect does not double because it’s not damage and it doesn’t involve a damage dice being rolled.
Conclusion
Understanding what doubles on a critical hit in D&D 5e is crucial for both players and Dungeon Masters. Remembering the core principle – doubling the damage dice and adding static modifiers only once – will help you navigate combat encounters more efficiently and experience the full thrill of landing a critical blow. By using the guide and FAQs above you will be ready for the next adventure!