What happens if a Commander is sent to your hand?
If a Commander is sent to your hand, you can play it from there without paying the Commander Tax, which is a significant advantage in the game of Magic: The Gathering. When a Commander is sent to its owner’s hand, it can be played as if it were any other card in the hand, allowing for more flexibility and strategic options in the game.
Understanding Commander Rules
To fully comprehend what happens when a Commander is sent to the hand, it’s essential to understand the core rules of Commander format. The Commander format is a casual, multiplayer format where players build decks around a specific legendary creature or planeswalker, known as the Commander.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can a Commander be sent to its owner’s hand?
Yes, a Commander can be sent to its owner’s hand through various cards or abilities that allow this action.
2. What is Commander Tax?
Commander Tax is an additional cost that must be paid when casting a Commander from the Command Zone.
3. Do you pay Commander Tax when casting from hand?
No, Commander Tax is only applied when casting the Commander from the Command Zone, not from the hand.
4. Can you return a Commander to its owner’s hand?
A Commander can be returned to its owner’s hand through specific cards or abilities, but this is not a standard action and depends on the game’s context.
5. Is a Commander sent to the hand considered to be in the player’s hand?
Yes, when a Commander is sent to the hand, it is treated as any other card in the hand and can be played or used according to the game’s rules.
6. Can an opponent’s Commander be sent to your hand?
No, according to the rules, cards that return other cards to a player’s hand always specify “owner’s hand,” meaning an opponent’s Commander cannot be sent to your hand.
7. What happens if a Commander would be put into the library or graveyard?
If a Commander would be put into the library, hand, graveyard, or exile from anywhere, its owner may choose to move it to the Command Zone instead.
8. Can a Commander be shuffled into the library?
Yes, a Commander can be shuffled into the library if it is sent there, and it should be indistinguishable from other cards.
9. What happens when a Commander dies?
If a Commander dies, it can be sent to the graveyard, and its owner may choose to move it to the Command Zone as a state-based action.
10. Can a legendary Planeswalker be a Commander?
Some legendary Planeswalkers can be used as a Commander if the card explicitly says “this card can be your Commander” on it.
11. Can any legendary creature be a Commander?
A Commander must be a single legendary creature, although two cards can be used as dual Commanders if they both have the Partner ability.
12. Can someone steal your Commander?
Yes, an opponent can steal your Commander using certain cards or abilities, and you can move it back to the Command Zone as a state-based action.
13. What is the Commander Tax after it dies?
The Commander Tax increases by 2 colorless mana each time the Commander is cast from the Command Zone.
14. Are wish cards banned in Commander?
Wish cards are not allowed in Commander format by default, but some playgroups may Rule 0 them, allowing their use under specific conditions.
15. Can a Commander do Commander damage to its owner?
Yes, a Commander can deal Commander damage to its owner if it is stolen and used against them, and if the total damage from that Commander is 21 or more, the owner loses the game.