What happens if a creature has first strike and double strike?
If a creature has first strike and double strike, it will deal combat damage twice, as double strike is a variation of first strike that allows creatures to deal damage during both the first strike and regular combat steps. Having both first strike and double strike on a creature is redundant, as double strike already includes the benefits of first strike, allowing the creature to deal damage twice.
Understanding First Strike and Double Strike
Definition and Interaction
To fully grasp the implications of a creature having both first strike and double strike, it’s essential to understand what each of these keywords means. First strike allows a creature to deal combat damage before creatures without first strike, while double strike enables a creature to deal combat damage twice, during both the first strike and the regular combat damage steps.
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is the difference between first strike and double strike?
- First strike allows a creature to deal damage before creatures without first strike, while double strike allows a creature to deal damage twice, in both the first strike and regular combat damage steps.
- Can a creature have multiple instances of double strike?
- No, multiple instances of double strike (or first strike) on the same creature are redundant.
- Does double strike override first strike?
- Double strike isn’t first strike, but it includes dealing damage in the first strike step, making first strike redundant on a creature with double strike.
- What happens if you give a double strike creature double strike?
- It has no additional effect, as a creature can only deal damage twice due to double strike.
- Is first strike and double strike redundant?
- Yes, if a creature has double strike, having first strike as well does not provide any additional benefits.
- Does Deathtouch stop double strike?
- No, Deathtouch does not stop double strike; creatures with double strike deal damage twice, regardless.
- What is the first strike rule?
- A creature with first strike deals combat damage before creatures without first strike.
- Does double strike work when creatures fight?
- No, damage dealt while fighting is not combat damage, so double strike won’t apply.
- Does a creature with first strike take damage?
- A creature with first strike will deal its damage before a creature without first strike, potentially killing the blocker before it can deal damage.
-
Is Double Strike only attacking?
- Double strike means a creature deals damage twice, during both the first strike and regular combat damage steps, not that it attacks twice.
-
Does Deathtouch cancel Deathtouch?
- Yes, if two creatures with Deathtouch deal damage to each other, their Deathtouch abilities cancel out.
-
How does first strike work with 2 blockers?
- You assign all first strike damage at once; once a blocker is dealt lethal damage, you assign damage to the next blocker.
-
Does double strike go through if blocked?
- If a creature with double strike is blocked and kills the blocker with its first strike damage, its second strike does not automatically hit the player unless it has trample.
-
What wins indestructible vs Deathtouch?
- Indestructible creatures are immune to Deathtouch because they cannot be destroyed by damage.
-
Does lifelink work with double strike?
- Yes, a creature with lifelink and double strike will gain life for each instance of damage it deals, potentially doubling the life gain.