Decoding Cascade and Counterspell: A Deep Dive into Magic’s Interactions
So, you’ve cascaded into a Counterspell. What exactly happens? The short answer is: it depends on what’s currently on the stack! Cascade lets you cast a spell without paying its mana cost. If there is a valid target for your new Counterspell (perhaps something that you are casting or that your opponent cast earlier in the turn), you may cast it. If there are no valid targets for the Counterspell, it’s put on the bottom of your library in a random order along with the rest of the exiled cards, as Cascade instructs. Understanding the stack and targeting restrictions is crucial here.
The Cascade Mechanic Explained
How Cascade Works
Cascade is a triggered ability that allows you to essentially “spin the wheel” for a free spell. When you cast a spell with Cascade, you exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card with a lower mana value than the spell with cascade. You may then cast that exiled card without paying its mana cost. The remaining exiled cards go to the bottom of your library in a random order.
The crucial thing to remember is that Cascade creates a delayed triggered ability. It doesn’t cast the spell directly; it allows you to cast it. This distinction is vital when considering interactions with cards like Counterspell.
Targeting and Timing
The newly cascaded spell must follow all normal rules for casting a spell. This means it needs a valid target if it targets and must be cast at a time when you could normally cast it (in terms of priority). For Counterspell, this means you need a spell on the stack to target. If no legal target exists, the cascaded Counterspell remains uncast and is exiled.
Counterspell: The Classic Answer
Understanding Counterspell
Counterspell is a classic card that negates a spell on the stack. It’s a reactive card, meaning it’s most effective when used in response to an opponent’s actions. When a spell is countered, it’s removed from the stack and put into its owner’s graveyard. None of its effects occur.
The Intersection: Cascade and Counterspell
The interaction between Cascade and Counterspell is where things get interesting. When you Cascade into Counterspell, you get a chance to cast it. If there’s a spell on the stack that you can legally target, then the Counterspell can do its job. If there isn’t, the cascade trigger finishes and the Counterspell ends up on the bottom of your library.
Practical Examples
Let’s look at a few scenarios:
-
Scenario 1: Opponent casts a threat. You cast a spell with Cascade and reveal Counterspell. Your opponent’s spell on the stack is a valid target. You cast Counterspell targeting their spell, countering it. The opponent’s spell goes to their graveyard, and your original Cascade spell resolves.
-
Scenario 2: No legal target. You cast a spell with Cascade and reveal Counterspell. Your opponent hasn’t cast anything this turn, nor have you. There are no spells on the stack to target, and so Counterspell can’t be cast. It goes to the bottom of your library.
-
Scenario 3: You cast a spell, then Cascade. You cast a creature spell, and then cast Bloodbraid Elf, which cascades. You reveal Counterspell. Since the creature spell you cast is still on the stack, you can choose to cast Counterspell targeting it.
FAQs: Cascade and Counterspell
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of this interaction:
1. Can you counter a cascaded spell?
Yes, you can counter a cascaded spell. Once the cascaded spell is on the stack, it can be countered like any other spell.
2. Can you counterspell the original Cascade spell to stop the cascade trigger?
No. Cascade triggers as soon as you finish the process of playing the spell. It is put on the stack above the original spell before anyone gets a chance to respond.
3. What happens if you cascade into a spell with Cascade?
Yes. Cascade triggers when you cast a spell, and it tells you to cast another spell. So if you cascade into a spell that also has Cascade, then that spell will also cascade.
4. Can you overload off cascade?
No. Casting something “without paying its mana cost” is what’s known as an “alternate mana cost”; Overload is also an alternate mana cost. You’re only allowed to use one alternate mana cost. It’s also important to note that you don’t get to pick the alternate cost with cascade.
5. Can you counterspell an adventure?
If an adventure spell is countered, it doesn’t resolve. It goes to the graveyard like any other spell that’s been countered would and doesn’t get exiled, so you can’t cast the other part of the card later.
6. Can you misdirect a counterspell to itself?
No. A spell can under no circumstances target itself.
7. If I Cascade into a Counterspell, can I choose not to cast it even if there is a valid target?
Yes, you can choose not to cast the card that you cascaded into, even if there is a valid target for that card. Cascade gives you the option to cast the card, but it does not force you to cast it.
8. If I have multiple spells with Cascade, how do they resolve?
Two separate cascade triggers go on the stack when you cast a spell. One resolves before the other, and the spell it casts resolves before the second cascade trigger resolves.
9. Can you counterspell a commander?
Assuming the commander is not an artifact and the opponent cant pay the 2 mana, then yes the spell would be countered and the card would either go to the graveyard or back to the command zone if the opponent chooses.
10. Can you cascade into an adventure spell?
With cascade, if you exile an adventurer card whose mana value is less than that of the spell with cascade, you can’t choose to cast it as an Adventure unless the Adventure part’s mana value is likewise less than that of the spell with cascade.
11. Can you counterspell someone you can’t see?
To counterspell someone, you need to see them casting the spell; this is not fluff or flavour – if you cannot see the spell being cast, then you cannot counterspell it.
12. Can a wizard counterspell a counterspell?
Yes, you can counterspell a counterspell cast against you. Wizards of the Coast has actually addressed this exact issue in their “Sage Advice Compendium”.
13. Can you deflecting swat make a counterspell counter itself?
A spell can under no circumstances target itself. However, what we can do, somewhat unintuitively, is use Deflecting Swat’s ability to redirect the counterspell to target Deflecting Swat.
14. What happens to the rest of the exiled cards when I cast a cascaded spell?
The exiled cards that you didn’t cast are placed on the bottom of your library in a random order.
15. Is Mana Drain the best counterspell?
MANA DRAIN is so much better than Counterspell, in fact, that it’s only legal in Vintage and other niche eternal formats.
Strategy and Implications
Understanding these interactions is crucial for strategic play. Building a deck with Cascade requires careful consideration of the potential outcomes. Including synergistic spells that are always useful, even when cascaded into unexpectedly, is key. Equally important is understanding when to hold back a Cascade spell to maximize its impact.
Learning the nuances of the game is key to success! Organizations such as the Games Learning Society provide valuable insight to the educational uses of gaming. Check them out at GamesLearningSociety.org.
By mastering these intricate interactions, you can elevate your gameplay and gain a competitive edge. Good luck, and may your cascades always hit the perfect spell!