Copying Mutate: A Deep Dive into Magic’s Weirdest Mechanic
So, you want to clone a Mutate spell? Buckle up, because you’re diving into one of Magic: The Gathering’s most delightfully bizarre mechanics!
The short answer is: Yes, you can copy a Mutate spell, and when you do, things get interesting. The copy resolves first, triggering the “Whenever this creature mutates” ability. Then, the original Mutate spell resolves, triggering the ability again, adding a second instance of the ability.
Understanding the Stack and Mutate Resolution
To fully understand the implications, let’s break down what happens on the stack. When you cast a Mutate spell, it goes on the stack like any other spell. If you then use a card like “Twincast” or “Reverberate” to copy it, the copy is placed on top of the original on the stack. This means the copy will resolve before the original.
Here’s the step-by-step:
- You cast a Mutate spell targeting a creature you own and control.
- You cast a copy spell targeting the Mutate spell on the stack.
- The copy of the Mutate spell resolves first. This causes the targeted creature to mutate, triggering any “Whenever this creature mutates” abilities.
- Then, the original Mutate spell resolves, causing the targeted creature to mutate again, triggering any “Whenever this creature mutates” abilities a second time.
Consequences of Copying a Mutate Spell
The results of copying a Mutate spell can be quite powerful. It effectively doubles the “enters the battlefield” effect associated with the Mutate trigger. Think of a card like “Brokkos, Apex of Forever”. If you copy its Mutate spell, you get two instances of its triggered ability, putting two +1/+1 counters on the creature being mutated and giving it trample until end of turn. This can lead to significant power boosts and evasion.
A Note on Copiable Characteristics
It’s important to remember that the characteristics added to a permanent by a Mutating creature spell are copiable values. This means that if you copy a creature that has already been Mutated, the copy will also have all the abilities and characteristics granted by the Mutate spell. This applies to tokens as well.
Mutate: More Than Meets the Eye
The Mutate mechanic adds a fascinating layer of complexity to Magic. Understanding how it interacts with copying spells is essential for maximizing its potential. By strategically using copy spells, you can create powerful, synergistic creatures that can overwhelm your opponents.
Frequently Asked Questions About Mutate
H3 Can you copy a mutated legendary creature?
Absolutely! As long as one copy of that legendary creature is underneath another creature mutated onto it, at least. If you already have a copy of “Brokkos, Apex of Forever” on the field, you can mutate onto it. The legend rule will only apply if you have two of the same legendary creature on top.
H3 What happens if you blink a mutate creature?
If you flicker a mutated permanent (also called “blinking”), all the components of the mutated creature return separately. The mutated creature is exiled as one object, then each card composing it becomes separate objects when they are returned. When they enter the battlefield, the individual creatures that made up the mutation enter as separate permanents. This effectively “un-mutates” the creature.
H3 Can you mutate the same creature twice?
Yes, you can mutate the same creature multiple times. You can keep mutating new creature spells onto an existing merged creature, creating a taller and taller stack of abilities. There is no limit to how many creatures you can mutate.
H3 Does mutate get rid of legendary?
No, mutate does not inherently get rid of the legendary supertype. However, if you mutate on top of a legendary creature, you can cast it again (if you have another copy in your hand) without it being affected by the legend rule until that new mutation is on top. The legend rule only looks at the top card of the mutated creature.
H3 What happens when a mutate creature dies?
When a mutated creature dies (leaves the battlefield and goes to the graveyard), all of its components go to the graveyard. Any ability that triggers “whenever a creature you control dies” or similar will trigger only once, even though multiple cards went to the graveyard.
H3 Does mutate trigger summoning sickness?
The mutate rules state that whether or not the creature goes on top or on the bottom, the mutated creature is not affected by summoning sickness as long as the base part (the one that was already on the battlefield) wasn’t. If the creature you’re mutating onto has summoning sickness, the entire mutated pile will also have summoning sickness.
H3 What happens if you return a mutated creature to its owners hand?
You return all cards making up the mutated creature to your hand. The Mutation mechanic causes creature cards to merge into one new creature, and they make up that new object. The top-most card only matters for some of its characteristics.
H3 Is mutate an aura spell?
While mutate shares some similarities with Auras, it is not an Aura spell. When you cast a spell for its mutate cost, you put it over or under target non-Human creature you own. They mutate into the creature on top plus all abilities from under it. Mutate has roots in Bestow, Emerge, and Augment, acting like an ability-granting Aura spell.
H3 Does Volo copy mutate?
Yes, Volo will copy the Mutate creature. Because a mutate spell is a creature spell that targets, Volo, Guide to Monsters’ ability will trigger. The copy of the Mutate creature spell will target the same creature, resulting in that creature being mutated twice.
H3 Does copying a creature spell create a token?
Whether a copy of a creature spell becomes a token depends on the specific card used to copy the spell. Some cards, like “Spark Double,” create non-legendary token copies of creatures, while others may create non-token copies.
H3 Can Spark Double copy a legendary creature?
Yes, “Spark Double” can copy a legendary creature. Spark Double isn’t legendary if it copies a legendary permanent, and this exception is copiable. If something else copies Spark Double later, that copy also won’t be legendary. This allows you to bypass the “legend rule”.
H3 What happens if you copy a storm spell?
A copy of a spell with storm will have storm, but copying the spell will not make storm trigger. Copying a spell is not the same as casting it. Storm is a Cast Trigger; It only Triggers when the Spell is Cast.
H3 Does mutate count as a spell?
Yes, a creature card cast for its mutate cost is still a creature spell. Mutate appears on some creature cards. It represents a static ability that functions while the spell with mutate is on the stack.
H3 Can you mutate an opponents creature?
No. You can only target a creature you own with a Mutate spell you own. Who controls the target is irrelevant.
H3 Does mutate keep all abilities?
When you cast a spell for its mutate cost, the resulting creature becomes the creature on top plus all abilities from under it. The merged creature has all the abilities of all the cards that make it up.
H3 Games Learning Society
For those interested in exploring the educational aspects of gaming, including strategic thinking and problem-solving skills fostered by games like Magic: The Gathering, visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. You can find resources and research on how games can be used as valuable tools for learning and development.