What Happens When a Token Dies in Magic: The Gathering?
In Magic: The Gathering (MTG), the battlefield can become a swirling maelstrom of creatures, artifacts, and enchantments. Among these, tokens hold a unique and often misunderstood position. A common question that arises is: what exactly happens when a token “dies”? The answer, while seemingly simple, has nuances that can significantly impact gameplay.
Here’s the core concept: When a token “dies,” it goes to the graveyard, triggers any relevant “dies” abilities, and then immediately ceases to exist as a state-based action.
Let’s break that down:
-
“Dies” means going to the graveyard from the battlefield. This is crucial. The term “dies” in Magic terminology specifically refers to a permanent (usually a creature or planeswalker) being put into the graveyard directly from the battlefield.
-
Tokens do go to the graveyard. Contrary to some misconceptions, tokens aren’t immediately whisked away. They experience a brief sojourn in the graveyard.
-
Triggering abilities are activated. This is the most important consequence. Because the token does enter the graveyard, it triggers any abilities that watch for creatures or permanents entering the graveyard. This includes “dies” triggers, “when a creature enters your graveyard” triggers, and even abilities that count the number of creatures in your graveyard. Examples include:
-
Grave Pact: Forces opponents to sacrifice a creature when one of your creatures dies.
-
Blood Artist: Drains life when any creature dies.
-
Grim Haruspex: Draws a card when one of your creatures dies.
-
-
Ceases to exist as a state-based action. After the triggers have gone off, the token doesn’t stick around. The game immediately removes the token from the graveyard as a state-based action. State-based actions are rules that the game checks constantly to maintain order. This is why you can’t target a token in the graveyard with a reanimation spell like Reanimate. It’s simply not there long enough.
The sequence of events is critical. The trigger sees the token enter the graveyard before it disappears. This distinction is vital for understanding how token deaths interact with other cards.
It’s also important to understand what doesn’t happen:
- Tokens are not “cards.” Many effects specify “creature cards in your graveyard.” Tokens don’t qualify for these. Reanimation spells, for instance, typically target creature cards.
- Exiling a token is different. If a token is exiled instead of being sent to the graveyard, it still ceases to exist immediately. However, exiling doesn’t trigger “dies” abilities. Dies means specifically going to the graveyard.
- Tokens in other zones cease to exist. A token that is phased out, in your hand, in your library, or exiled ceases to exist.
Tokens add a dynamic layer to Magic: The Gathering. Understanding their lifespan, even in death, is key to mastering the game.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Token Deaths
Here are some frequently asked questions (FAQs) to further clarify the nuances of token deaths in Magic: The Gathering:
Does sacrificing a token count as dying?
Yes. Sacrificing a token means moving it from the battlefield to the graveyard. Therefore, it is considered “dying” and will trigger any relevant death triggers before it ceases to exist.
Can I reanimate a token from the graveyard?
No. While the token briefly enters the graveyard, it ceases to exist almost immediately as a state-based action. By the time you could cast a reanimation spell, the token is already gone.
What happens if I exile a token?
If a token is exiled, it ceases to exist. Unlike dying (which involves going to the graveyard first), exiling a token does not trigger any “dies” abilities.
Do tokens trigger “enters the graveyard” abilities?
Yes. Because tokens do briefly enter the graveyard before ceasing to exist, they trigger abilities that activate when something enters your graveyard.
If I have multiple creatures die at the same time, and one is a token, how does Grave Pact work?
Grave Pact will trigger for each creature that died. If one of those creatures was a token, Grave Pact will still trigger. Each opponent will still have to sacrifice a creature.
Can I regenerate a token?
Yes, you can regenerate a token. If a token is regenerated, it does not go to the graveyard. It remains on the battlefield.
Do tokens count as creatures in the graveyard for effects that count creatures in the graveyard?
No. Tokens do not count as creatures in the graveyard for effects that specifically mention “creature cards.” Remember that tokens are not cards.
Does a token creature have summoning sickness?
Yes. Tokens are permanents on the battlefield, and summoning sickness applies to creatures that haven’t been under your control since the beginning of your most recent turn.
Do tokens trigger morbid?
Yes, because Morbid checks if a creature died this turn. A token “dying” means it goes to the graveyard, which satisfies the Morbid condition.
Can I flicker a token with a card like “Cloudshift”?
You can target the token with Cloudshift, but the token will not return to the battlefield. When the token is exiled, it ceases to exist and cannot return.
What happens if a token gets -X/-X and its toughness goes to zero?
The token “dies”. It goes to the graveyard and triggers death triggers before ceasing to exist as a state-based action.
If a token is put onto the battlefield as a copy of another creature, does it keep the copied creature’s abilities?
Yes. If a token enters the battlefield as a copy of another creature, it will have all the abilities of the copied creature, but it is still a token.
If I sacrifice a token to pay the cost of a spell, does it trigger death triggers?
Yes. Sacrificing is a way for it to “die,” since dying means that it hits the graveyard for a moment before it ceases to exist.
Can a token be a commander in Commander/EDH?
Generally no. While there are exceptions with specific cards like [[Golos, Tireless Pilgrim]] that can allow you to cast cards from exile, tokens are not cards and cannot be put in the command zone as your commander.
How many tokens can I have on the battlefield at once?
While there isn’t a hard limit dictated by the rules, most interfaces like MTG Arena have limits to prevent excessive memory usage, such as 250 tokens. Realistically, tracking absurd numbers of tokens in paper Magic becomes impractical.
Understanding the mechanics of tokens is crucial for mastering Magic: The Gathering. They may be ephemeral, but their impact on the game is undeniable. Whether you’re creating armies of creatures or triggering powerful abilities with their demise, tokens are a versatile and essential part of the MTG experience. Remember to deepen your understanding of games and learning, you can find more resources at the Games Learning Society, GamesLearningSociety.org.