What happens when two creatures block one?

What happens when two creatures block one?

When two creatures block one, the attacking player orders those blockers to show which is first in line for that attacker’s damage, which is second, and so on, as part of the declare blockers action. The blocked creature must deal lethal damage to deal its damage to the next blocker, and if it would kill both, the damage is all done at the same time.

Understanding the Mechanics

To delve deeper into the mechanics of two creatures blocking one, it’s essential to understand how blocking works and how damage assignment is handled.

Frequently Asked Questions

General Questions

  1. Can you block 1 creature with 2 creatures?: Yes, the base rules of the game allow for that, and you don’t need any extra abilities or effects for this to happen.
  2. How does blocking with two creatures work?: You choose which creatures block which attackers, and if you choose two, the blocked creature’s controller gets to choose which order that creature deals combat damage.
  3. What are the rules for blocking in magic?: A creature must be untapped to block, each creature can only block a single attacker, but multiple defending creatures can block the same attacker.

Double Strike and First Strike

  1. How does double strike work when blocking?: If a creature with double strike is blocked, it remains blocked even if the blocking creature dies to first strike.
  2. Does first strike apply to multiple blockers?: The attacking creature may divide its damage among all declared blockers, so if the attacking creature with first strike has enough power to destroy multiple blocking creatures, it will assign its damage in the first strike damage step and destroy the blocking creatures before they assign their combat damage.
  3. Is double strike also first strike?: No, double strike isn’t first strike, and effects that make a creature lose first strike won’t make it lose double strike.

Deathtouch and Indestructible

  1. Does Deathtouch stop double strike?: No, Deathtouch doesn’t stop double strike, but if you block a creature with Deathtouch with a creature with first strike or double strike, your creature will deal damage during the first strike damage step, before the Deathtouch creature can return fire.
  2. What wins indestructible vs Deathtouch?: Indestructible creatures also ignore Deathtouch, as indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed.
  3. Does Deathtouch work when blocking?: Yes, Deathtouch works on attacking, blocking, and fighting effects, anytime a Deathtouch creature deals damage.

Trample and Lifelink

  1. What is the difference between trample and multiple blockers?: Blockers form an ordered chain, and trample adds the player to the end of the chain, requiring lethal damage to be assigned to each link before assigning any damage to the next link.
  2. Does trample go through Deathtouch?: Yes, trample goes through, but after damage is dealt, then both creatures die.
  3. Does Lifelink work when blocking?: Yes, Lifelink works when blocking, as it applies to any damage dealt by the creature, including attacking, blocking, fight effects, direct damage to a permanent, and any other way that a creature can deal damage to anything.

Planeswalkers and Haste

  1. Is a planeswalker considered a permanent?: Yes, planeswalkers are permanents and can be cast at any time you could cast a sorcery.
  2. Does haste magic allow creatures to block?: Haste is a static ability that allows creatures to ignore the rules informally known as “summoning sickness”, enabling them to attack and activate tap or untap abilities on the same turn they enter the battlefield, but haste does not directly affect blocking.
  3. Can you block with summoning sickness?: Yes, creatures with summoning sickness may still block, as the only thing they cannot do is attack or use an activated ability that requires them to tap.

Leave a Comment