What happens when you copy mutate?

Unraveling the Copying Conundrum: What Happens When You Copy Mutate?

Copying a Mutate spell or a mutated creature in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) opens up a Pandora’s Box of possibilities and potential complexities. The core answer is that when you copy a mutate spell on the stack, the copy resolves first, granting a single instance of “Whenever this creature mutates” which triggers. Then, when the original resolves, it has its own separate instance of the mutate trigger. If you are copying a mutated creature on the battlefield, you copy the entire mutated creature, including all abilities from the creatures below it. Let’s delve into this fascinating interaction in more detail, exploring the different scenarios and their implications.

Mutate Mechanics: A Quick Refresher

Before diving into the copying aspect, it’s crucial to understand the fundamental mechanics of Mutate. Introduced in the Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths set, Mutate allows you to merge creature cards into a single, larger creature.

  • Casting for Mutate: If you cast a creature spell for its mutate cost, you put it either over or under a target non-Human creature you own.
  • Merging Creatures: The creatures merge into one, gaining all the abilities of the combined creatures. The creature on top determines the name, type, and mana cost of the merged creature.
  • Triggering Mutate Abilities: Many Mutate creatures have abilities that trigger “Whenever this creature mutates.” These triggers can lead to powerful synergistic effects.
  • Non-Humans Only: Remember, you can only mutate onto non-Human creatures. Humans are immune to the merging process.

Copying Mutate Spells on the Stack

The first scenario involves copying a Mutate spell while it’s still on the stack. This usually happens through cards like Volo, Guide to Monsters or other copy spell effects. Here’s a breakdown:

  1. The Copy is Created: A copy of the Mutate spell is created on the stack.
  2. The Copy Resolves First: The copy resolves before the original Mutate spell. This is crucial because of timing.
  3. Mutation Occurs: The copy mutates onto the targeted creature, triggering any “Whenever this creature mutates” abilities on that copy of the merged creature. This means you get one set of triggers from the resolution of the copy.
  4. The Original Resolves: Then, the original Mutate spell resolves, triggering a second instance of mutate abilities.

In essence, copying a Mutate spell results in two separate mutate triggers. This can be exceptionally powerful if your Mutate creatures have abilities that generate value, such as drawing cards, creating tokens, or dealing damage.

Copying Mutated Creatures on the Battlefield

Copying a mutated creature on the battlefield is slightly more straightforward. The copy effect replicates the entire merged creature. Think of it as taking a snapshot of the whole stack of creatures.

  1. The Copy Enters: A new creature enters the battlefield that is a copy of the mutated creature. This includes all the abilities from all the creatures in the stack.
  2. Legend Rule (If Applicable): If the mutated creature contains a Legendary creature, the Legend Rule applies. You must choose one to keep and sacrifice the other. Importantly, because you are copying an already merged creature, the copy counts as having all of the abilities of the other mutated creatures.
  3. Copied Abilities: The copy inherits all the abilities from the stack of merged creatures.
  4. State-Based Actions: Note that supertypes like legendary are copied.

Potential Complications and Interactions

The interaction between copying and mutating can lead to some intricate scenarios:

  • Order of Abilities: The order in which the abilities appear on the merged creature doesn’t usually matter, as they all function simultaneously.
  • Triggered Abilities: If the original mutated creature had triggered abilities, the copy will also have those abilities.
  • Static Abilities: The copy also inherits all static abilities, such as flying, trample, or deathtouch.
  • Auras and Equipment: Auras and equipment attached to the original mutated creature are not copied. The copy is a brand-new creature.

Final Thoughts

Understanding the intricacies of copying Mutate spells and mutated creatures can significantly enhance your gameplay. It allows you to maximize value from triggered abilities, create powerful board states, and outmaneuver your opponents. So, embrace the complexity, experiment with different combinations, and unleash the full potential of the Mutate mechanic! For more information about games and learning, visit the Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 frequently asked questions about the interplay of copying and mutating in MTG:

1. Does copying a mutate spell trigger abilities twice?

Yes, copying a mutate spell on the stack effectively results in the mutate ability triggering twice. The copy resolves first, mutating the target creature and triggering any “Whenever this creature mutates” abilities. Then, the original spell resolves, mutating the same creature again and triggering those abilities a second time.

2. If I copy a mutated creature, does the copy have summoning sickness?

If the original mutated creature didn’t have summoning sickness (because the base creature didn’t have summoning sickness when the stack was created) the copy will also not have summoning sickness.

3. What happens if I copy a mutated creature with a legendary creature on top?

The Legend Rule applies. When the copy enters the battlefield, you will control two legendary permanents with the same name. You must choose one to keep and sacrifice the other to the graveyard.

4. Can I copy a mutate spell targeting a creature I don’t control?

No. In general, copying spells doesn’t allow you to change the target. This is especially significant with Volo. Volo does not allow changing targets of the copies mainly because creatures usually don’t target.

5. If I copy a mutated creature, does the copy get any auras or equipment attached to the original?

No, the copy only copies the creature itself, including all its abilities. Auras and equipment are not copied.

6. Does copying a mutate spell count as casting a creature spell for abilities like Beast Whisperer?

Yes, casting a creature card for its mutate cost is still casting a creature spell. This means you will trigger abilities like that of Beast Whisperer.

7. If I copy a mutated creature, what is its mana value?

The mana value of a copied mutated creature is determined by the mana cost of the creature on top of the stack. The mana costs of the creatures underneath do not contribute to the overall mana value.

8. Can I mutate onto a copied creature?

Yes, you can mutate onto a copied creature as long as it’s a non-Human.

9. If a mutated creature is flickered, what happens?

If a mutated creature is flickered, all of its components return to the battlefield as their own individual creatures, rather than as a mutated stack. They are no longer a merged creature.

10. Does mutate work with effects that trigger when a creature dies?

If a mutated creature dies, all of its components go to the graveyard. However, effects that trigger “whenever a creature you control dies” will only trigger once, even though multiple creatures entered the graveyard.

11. Can you mutate onto a Human?

No, you cannot mutate onto a Human creature. The Mutate mechanic specifically targets non-Human creatures.

12. What happens if a mutated creature is returned to its owner’s hand?

All cards that make up the mutated creature are returned to the owner’s hand.

13. If I have multiple “Whenever this creature mutates” triggers, do they all trigger when a new creature mutates onto the stack?

Yes, each “Whenever this creature mutates” ability triggers independently. This can lead to a cascade of effects as you add more creatures to the stack.

14. Does mutating onto a land work?

The mutated stack will only remain a creature for as long as the land it is mutated onto remains a creature. Once the animation effect wears off, the entire pile stops being a creature.

15. Can you keep mutating the same creature multiple times?

Yes, you can keep mutating new creature spells onto an existing merged creature, creating an increasingly complex and powerful stack of abilities.

Leave a Comment