What is a target creature?

What is a Target Creature? A Comprehensive Guide

A target creature is fundamentally a recipient of a spell or ability’s effect, specifically chosen by the controller of that spell or ability. This concept is central to many tabletop games, particularly those with strategic combat systems, such as Magic: The Gathering (MTG) and Dungeons & Dragons (D&D). The act of targeting is not simply a suggestion; it is a crucial mechanic that dictates how the game unfolds, affecting who or what is impacted by specific actions. Understanding the nuanced rules surrounding targeting is essential for mastering these games. Essentially, if a game mechanic directs a player to select a “target creature”, it means that the effect will be applied to that specifically chosen creature. The player must choose a legal target based on the instructions and restrictions defined by the game rules.

Targeting in Magic: The Gathering

In MTG, the term “target creature” is used extensively. When a card states “target creature,” it indicates that the spell or ability can only affect one specific creature and not all of them on the battlefield. This can be any creature that isn’t protected from the spell, typically by hexproof or shroud. The specific wording matters greatly. For instance:

  • “Target creature your opponent controls”: This phrasing confines your choice to a creature owned by one of your opponents. You cannot choose one of your own creatures.
  • “Target creature you control”: Conversely, this forces the player to select one of their own creatures.
  • “Target creature”: This most basic version allows for a much broader selection, meaning you can target either your creature or one belonging to your opponent(s).

What Counts as Targeting?

A spell or ability counts as targeting something if it explicitly states it on the card or within its rules text. The word “target” will be clearly visible on the text of the card. The entity or object that is chosen is the target of that spell or ability. It is the recipient of the effect, whether it’s an opponent’s creature, a player, or an artifact on the board. A spell with no target specification will often affect all possible targets within it’s parameters.

Types of Targets

While we’re focusing on “target creature”, it’s vital to remember that targets aren’t limited to creatures. Spells and abilities can also target:

  • Players: Direct damage spells can target the players.
  • Planeswalkers: These powerful allies on the battlefield can also be targets.
  • Artifacts, enchantments, lands and other types of permanents.

Limitations and Restrictions

Certain abilities can prevent targeting. Hexproof and shroud, for example, are protective abilities that restrict the targeting of creatures. A creature with hexproof cannot be the target of spells or abilities controlled by an opponent. Shroud, on the other hand, will prevent the creature from being targeted by all spells, including ones controlled by its owner. In addition, a creature with protection from a color will be an illegal target for an ability that has the protected color.

Targeting in Dungeons & Dragons

In D&D, the concept of targeting is equally important but is more often tied to a creature as well as line of sight and cover. To target something in D&D, you generally need a clear path to the intended recipient. A creature providing total cover will prevent the target from being selected, even though the creature may not be hidden.

Target Criteria

In D&D, a target can be:

  • A creature: The most common target in combat.
  • An object: Like a door or a magical item.
  • A point of origin: Often when casting area of effect spells.

Visibility and Cover

You need to have a clear and unobstructed path to a potential target. You can’t aim a spell directly at a creature that is concealed behind a thick stone wall or another similar obstruction. Area of effect spells are often adjusted around cover, with the point of origin moving to the closest space to the intended point of origin that you can see.

General Principles Across Games

Regardless of the specific game, certain principles apply to the act of targeting:

  • Specificity: You must be precise about what you’re targeting. The rules will define the parameters for your selection.
  • Intent: You select a target with the intent to affect that specific entity or object with a spell or ability.
  • Clarity: The targeting process needs to be clear and unambiguous. It helps keep gameplay smooth and fair for all participants.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Can I Change a Target Once Selected?

Once a target is selected, you cannot change it unless specifically stated on the card itself. If your target has an effect that protects it from targeting, you would not be able to target it to begin with.

2. What Happens if My Target Becomes an Illegal Target?

If your selected target becomes an illegal target before the spell or ability resolves (due to protection, hexproof, etc.), the spell or ability will usually fizzle and not have any effect.

3. Can I Target a Creature With Hexproof?

No, creatures with hexproof cannot be the target of spells or abilities controlled by your opponent. Only your own spells and abilities can affect a creature you control with hexproof.

4. Does “Fight” Target a Creature?

Yes, when a card instructs a creature to “fight target creature,” it involves targeting. Both creatures will deal damage equal to their power to the other creature as part of the action.

5. Can a Creature Be a Target Permanent?

Yes, a creature is one of the six permanent types in MTG along with artifacts, battles, enchantments, lands, and planeswalkers.

6. Can I Target an Invisible Creature?

In D&D, you generally need a clear path to your target to be able to target it. If the invisible target is behind a wall, for example, they could not be targeted. In Magic, you must know if a creature exists to be able to target it, and the creature cannot have hexproof or shroud.

7. Can an Artifact Creature Be Targeted?

Yes, artifact creatures can be targeted just like any other creature in MTG, unless it has a protecting ability like hexproof or shroud.

8. What Is a “Counter Target Creature Spell”?

A counter target creature spell is a spell that negates another creature spell, often moving the countered spell to the battlefield under the control of the countering player.

9. If I Copy a Creature, Does That Involve Targeting?

Copy effects that create a new copy or change one object into a copy of another will target the creature that is being copied.

10. How Does “Target Opponent” Work?

A spell or ability that says “target opponent” will only affect one of your opponents. If the word “target” is not present, it usually means all opponents will be affected.

11. If a Spell Says “Any Target,” What Does That Mean?

If a spell says it can affect “any target”, this usually means that the player can choose any valid target, including a player, a creature, or a planeswalker.

12. What Does Protection From a Color Mean for Targeting?

A creature with protection from a certain color cannot be targeted by spells or abilities of that color.

13. Can a Creature Be Targeted Multiple Times?

Yes, a creature can be targeted multiple times by different spells or abilities, as long as the target remains legal.

14. Does a Land Count As a Target Creature?

No, a land is a separate permanent type. Lands are not considered creatures unless specifically stated on the card.

15. Can You Target a Creature Without a Visible Line of Sight?

In D&D, you generally need a clear path and can’t target something behind total cover. In MTG, line of sight isn’t a consideration, but you must be able to know that the creature exists.

Understanding the concept of a target creature is fundamental for effective gameplay in many strategy games. By considering these nuances, players can develop their skills in strategy and master the games they play.

Leave a Comment