What is a Target of a Spell?
At its core, a target of a spell is the specific recipient of a spell’s effect, chosen by the spell’s caster. It’s the individual, object, or point in space that the magical energy is directed towards. This concept is fundamental to understanding how spells function in various tabletop role-playing games like Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) and collectible card games like Magic: The Gathering (MTG). The act of choosing a target is not arbitrary; it’s governed by the spell’s specific rules and restrictions, ensuring that magic interacts with the game world in a consistent and predictable manner. Different spells have varying target requirements, making the strategic selection of a target a critical element of gameplay.
Target Specifics in D&D
In D&D, the nature of a spell’s target is explicitly defined in its description. For example, a spell like Magic Missile clearly states that it targets a creature. A spell like Fireball, on the other hand, has a different target: a point in space where the fiery explosion erupts. Importantly, a spell’s range also dictates what can be targeted; the target must fall within the specified range (usually measured in feet).
The phrase “any target” in a spell description indicates that the caster has free choice in selecting a valid target, provided they meet the other conditions. Furthermore, the effects of some spells can even be triggered based on a target being selected. For instance, one could be designed so that “Whenever an enchanted creature becomes the target of a spell or ability, that spell or ability’s controller gains control of that creature.” This demonstrates how targeting can significantly change the dynamics of an encounter. If a spell doesn’t have a legal target available it cannot be cast, as a valid target is a prerequisite for any spell.
Examples of Target Types
- Creature: This is the most common target type, encompassing monsters, player characters, and other beings in the game world.
- Point in Space: Spells like Fireball, Lightning Bolt, or even a simple Mage Hand, target a specific location where their magical effect materializes.
- Object: Many spells target inanimate objects, like locking a door or animating a tool.
Target Specifics in Magic: The Gathering
In MTG, the targeting mechanic is equally crucial. When a spell or ability says “target creature,” you must choose a specific creature on the battlefield as the recipient of that effect. This might be any creature, a creature controlled by you, or one controlled by an opponent, depending on the card’s text. Just as with D&D, if a card reads, “Whenever you or a permanent you control becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter that spell or ability unless that player pays 4 life.”, this adds another layer of strategy and tactical decision-making to the game. Cards like Counterspell or Murder require a legal target to be cast; If no appropriate creature exists on the board for Murder, then it can’t be cast.
Legal Target Requirements
- A spell cannot target itself. This is a fundamental rule, meaning that a spell can’t be cast on itself as a target.
- The target must be legal. This means it must fulfill all the targeting conditions specified in the card’s text (e.g., “target creature an opponent controls”).
Common Misconceptions About Targets
It’s vital to differentiate between a spell and the target of a spell. The spell itself is never a legal target for another spell. There are ways to manipulate spells on the stack to make a spell seem like it’s targeting itself. For example, a player might cast a Counterspell and then use a Redirection spell to redirect the Counterspell to target the Redirection spell itself. When the stack resolves, Redirection will resolve, targeting counterspell. Then, counterspell will resolve, but since its original target is no longer on the stack, it has no legal target. This means the counterspell will not counter.
Equipping and Targeting
Another point of confusion can be seen in equip abilities in MTG. The act of equipping a piece of equipment is itself an ability and thus the equipment targets a specific creature. This is important because cards that interact with targeting can trigger during the act of equipping.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. What does ‘Target creature’ mean in MTG?
“Target creature” means that the card can be used on any creature on the battlefield, unless otherwise restricted. A card might state “target creature you control,” meaning it can only be used on creatures you control, or “target creature an opponent controls,” limiting it to creatures controlled by your opponents.
2. Can a spell be cast without a target?
No. If a spell requires a target and there are no legal targets available, the spell cannot be cast. A legal target must be present when casting.
3. Can a spell target an invisible creature?
Generally, you cannot target a creature you cannot see. Spells requiring visual targeting, like magic missile, can’t be used on invisible targets. However, if the spell does not require seeing your target, like a touch range spell, then you can target the creature.
4. Does an equip spell target?
Yes. Equipping an equipment card uses an ability that targets the creature being equipped.
5. Can a spell target itself?
No. A spell cannot target itself. The spell is cast on something outside of the spell.
6. What does it mean to ‘become a target’?
In the context of card or role-playing games, to become a target means that a creature or object is chosen as the recipient of a spell or ability’s effect. This may trigger additional effects that target the target itself.
7. How do spells work in D&D?
In D&D, casting a spell requires the use of a spell slot of the appropriate level. A spellcaster has a limited number of spell slots, and each slot is expended when a spell is cast. Spells also generally require verbal and somatic components, which may be a constraint on certain situations.
8. What is the ‘True Strike’ spell in D&D?
The True Strike spell gives you advantage on your next attack roll against the target, granting a brief look at the target’s defenses.
9. Is a spell a permanent?
No, spells are not permanents. When a card is on the stack, it is considered a spell, but once it enters the battlefield, it becomes a permanent. Tokens are only ever permanents, never spells.
10. Does copying a spell trigger storm?
While a copy of a spell with storm will have the storm ability, copying the spell itself does not trigger storm. Storm only triggers when a spell is cast.
11. Can Wizards invent spells?
Yes, highly skilled Wizards can develop their own spells through extensive study and practice.
12. Can you counterspell dash?
Yes, you can counterspell a card cast using dash. Dash is an alternate way to cast a spell, and it is still a spell that can be countered.
13. Do mutate spells target?
Yes, mutate spells target a non-human creature you own, meaning that creatures with shroud or that are human are illegal targets.
14. Does counterspell break invisibility?
Yes. Casting a spell, such as a Counterspell, will cause the invisibility condition on a creature to break.
15. Does countering a spell destroy it?
No, countering a spell does not destroy it. “Destroy” specifically refers to a permanent moving from the battlefield to the graveyard. Since a countered spell is on the stack, it never enters the battlefield, thus it is not destroyed.
Understanding the intricacies of spell targets is essential for both tactical play and comprehension of game rules. By clearly defining who or what receives the effect of a spell, games maintain balance and allow for a consistent and engaging experience. Whether it’s a creature, a point in space, or even an object, the target is the critical link between the magical intent and its manifestation in the game world.