Mastering Trample: Understanding MTG Rule 702.19b
Rule 702.19b in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) comprehensively explains how trample interacts with blocking creatures when assigning combat damage. Specifically, it states: “The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it.” This rule dictates that before any damage can “trample over” to the defending player or planeswalker, the blocking creature(s) must first be assigned lethal damage. Let’s delve into the specifics of this crucial rule and its implications within the combat phase.
The Mechanics of Trample and Blocking
To fully grasp Rule 702.19b, understanding the mechanics of trample and blocking is essential. When an attacking creature has trample, it means that any excess damage beyond what’s needed to destroy a blocking creature can be assigned to the player or planeswalker being attacked. This ability allows for aggressive plays and can be a game-changer in breaking through defenses.
However, trample doesn’t bypass blocking altogether. The attacking creature must still engage with the blocking creature(s). This is where Rule 702.19b comes into play. The attacker with trample must first assign enough damage to each blocking creature to destroy it. Only after lethal damage has been assigned to all blockers can the remaining damage be “trampled” over to the defending player or planeswalker.
A Practical Example
Let’s consider a scenario:
- An attacking creature with trample has 5 power.
- It is blocked by a creature with 3 toughness.
According to Rule 702.19b, the attacking player must first assign at least 3 damage to the blocking creature. The remaining 2 damage can then be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker.
Implications of Rule 702.19b
Rule 702.19b has several important implications:
- Minimum Damage Requirement: The rule ensures that blockers are not bypassed entirely. An attacker with trample cannot simply assign 0 damage to the blocker and send all the damage through.
- Lethal Damage Definition: “Lethal damage” is defined as damage equal to or greater than the creature’s toughness, taking into account any damage already marked on it.
- Multiple Blockers: If multiple creatures are blocking a creature with trample, lethal damage must be assigned to each blocking creature before any damage can trample over.
- Order of Assignment: The attacking player chooses the order in which damage is assigned to multiple blockers. This allows for strategic decisions, such as taking out weaker blockers first.
Trample and Other Combat Abilities
Trample interacts with other combat abilities in interesting ways. For example, deathtouch modifies the definition of “lethal damage.” If a creature with deathtouch deals damage to a blocking creature, any amount of damage is considered lethal. This can significantly reduce the amount of damage that tramples over.
Strategic Considerations
Understanding Rule 702.19b is crucial for making informed decisions during combat. It allows players to maximize their damage output while minimizing potential risks. For example, a player might choose to attack with a creature with trample to force a block, knowing they can still deal damage to the defending player even if the attack is blocked.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Trample
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about trample to further clarify its mechanics and interactions:
-
What happens if a creature with trample is blocked by multiple creatures? Lethal damage must be assigned to each blocking creature before any damage can trample over to the defending player or planeswalker.
-
Does deathtouch affect how trample works? Yes, if a creature with trample also has deathtouch, any amount of damage assigned to a blocker is considered lethal.
-
Can I assign 0 damage to a blocker if my creature has trample? No, Rule 702.19b requires that you assign at least lethal damage to each blocking creature.
-
What if my creature with trample is blocked by a creature with indestructible? You must still assign lethal damage (in this case, an amount equal to the blocker’s toughness) to the indestructible creature, even though it won’t be destroyed. Any remaining damage can then trample over.
-
If a blocking creature has a damage prevention effect, how does that interact with trample? Damage prevention effects reduce the amount of damage assigned to the blocker. You must assign enough damage to account for the prevention effect to assign lethal damage.
-
Does trample work with first strike or double strike? Yes. If a creature with trample and first strike deals lethal damage to a blocker in the first combat damage step, the remaining damage can trample over.
-
What happens if a blocker is removed from combat before damage is assigned? If a blocker is removed before damage is assigned, the creature with trample is considered unblocked and all damage can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker.
-
How does trample interact with lifelink? If a creature with trample and lifelink deals damage, its controller gains life equal to the total damage dealt, including damage that tramples over.
-
Can I choose not to assign trample damage to the defending player? No, if there is excess damage after assigning lethal damage to the blockers, you must assign the remaining damage to the defending player or planeswalker. You cannot choose to only damage the blocker(s).
-
If a creature has both trample and infect, how is damage assigned? Damage from a creature with infect is dealt in the form of -1/-1 counters to creatures and poison counters to players. The damage assignment rules for trample still apply, so lethal damage in the form of -1/-1 counters must be assigned to blockers before any counters are given to the defending player.
-
Does trample work in conjunction with fight effects? No, trample only works during the combat phase. Fight effects are not part of combat, so trample does not apply.
-
If I have two creatures with trample attacking, can I combine their excess damage? No, each creature’s trample damage is calculated independently based on its own power and the toughness of the creatures blocking it.
-
What if a creature has both trample and menace (can only be blocked by two or more creatures)? Menace restricts how the creature can be blocked. Trample then applies to the damage assignment, requiring lethal damage be assigned to each of the two or more blocking creatures before damage tramples over.
-
If a creature with trample is blocked by a creature with defender (cannot attack), does that change anything? No, the defender ability only restricts the creature from attacking. It does not change how trample works when that creature is blocking.
-
What happens if a creature with trample is blocked by a creature with protection from the attacking creature’s color? Protection prevents damage from sources of the specified quality. If the attacking creature has trample and is, for example, red, and the blocker has protection from red, no damage can be assigned to the blocker. Because the blocker is still in combat, but it is protected from the damage, all damage can be assigned to the player/planeswalker it is blocking.
Further Exploration
Understanding the intricacies of MTG rules, like 702.19b, is fundamental to mastering the game. For additional resources on MTG rules, strategy, and the broader aspects of game-based learning, consider exploring the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. The Games Learning Society is a valuable resource for educators and game enthusiasts alike.
Conclusion
Rule 702.19b is a cornerstone of understanding trample in Magic: The Gathering. By understanding this rule, players can make more informed decisions during combat, maximize their damage output, and gain a strategic advantage.