What is the Deathtouch rule in trample?

What is the Deathtouch rule in trample?

The Deathtouch rule in trample is a static ability that modifies the rules for assigning an attacking creature’s combat damage, where any amount of damage dealt by a creature with Deathtouch to another creature is considered lethal, and if the creature with Deathtouch and trample becomes blocked, it first assigns damage to the blocking creature, which then dies, allowing the remaining damage to be assigned to the player. This powerful combination makes creatures with Deathtouch and trample highly formidable on the battlefield, as they can destroy blocking creatures and still deal damage to the player.

Understanding Deathtouch and Trample

The Deathtouch rule is often combined with trample, which allows a creature to deal excess combat damage to a player or planeswalker if it’s blocked by a creature with lower toughness. Understanding how these two abilities interact is crucial for making informed decisions during combat.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How does trample work with Deathtouch?

A creature with Deathtouch and trample only needs to deal one point of damage to a blocking creature to destroy it, and then the remaining damage can be assigned to the player.

2. What are the rules for Deathtouch?

Deathtouch is a static ability that causes any amount of damage dealt by a creature with Deathtouch to another creature to be considered lethal, unless the creature is indestructible.

3. How does Deathtouch trample work against indestructible creatures?

Indestructible creatures are immune to Deathtouch, and Deathtouch does not cancel indestructible.

4. Does Hexproof block Deathtouch?

No, Hexproof does not block Deathtouch, as Deathtouch does not target the creature.

5. Does first strike beat Deathtouch?

A creature with first strike can kill a creature with Deathtouch before it has a chance to deal damage.

6. Does trample work when blocking?

No, trample only works when a creature is attacking, not when it’s blocking.

7. Does first strike Deathtouch negate trample?

No, first strike and Deathtouch do not negate trample, but first strike can prevent the creature with Deathtouch from dealing damage.

8. Does protection counter Deathtouch?

Yes, protection from a color can prevent damage dealt by creatures of that color, including Deathtouch.

9. Does Deathtouch work on Planeswalkers?

No, Deathtouch only works on creatures, not on Planeswalkers.

10. Why would a tapped creature need Deathtouch?

A tapped creature with Deathtouch can still deal lethal damage to a blocking creature, making it a formidable defender.

11. Does Deathtouch add poison counters?

No, Deathtouch does not add poison counters, but some cards may have additional abilities that add poison counters when a creature with Deathtouch deals combat damage to a player.

12. Does trample work on Planeswalkers?

Yes, trample can deal excess combat damage to a Planeswalker if the creature is blocked.

13. Does Deathtouch affect non-combat damage?

Yes, Deathtouch checks any damage, including non-combat damage, dealt by a creature with Deathtouch.

14. Does shroud protect from Deathtouch?

No, shroud does not protect from Deathtouch, as Deathtouch does not target the creature.

15. Does Deathtouch work with fight spells?

Yes, Deathtouch works with fight spells, as fight is a form of non-combat damage.

Leave a Comment