Casting vs. Copying in Magic: The Gathering – A Comprehensive Guide
The world of Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is filled with intricate mechanics, and understanding the nuances between different actions is crucial for strategic gameplay. Two key concepts that often cause confusion are casting and copying. While they might seem related, they are fundamentally different actions with distinct implications in the game. Let’s break down these differences in detail.
At its core, casting a spell involves taking a spell card from your hand (or other specified zones), placing it on the stack, paying its associated mana costs, and then, if it resolves, enacting its effect. This is a primary action that initiates the spell’s journey to impact the game. On the other hand, copying a spell is the act of creating a duplicate of an existing spell already on the stack. Crucially, a copied spell is not cast. Instead, the copy is directly placed on the stack, bypassing the usual casting process and its associated triggers. This subtle yet significant difference impacts how spells interact with other abilities and game states.
The Nuances of Casting
The Casting Process
Casting a spell is a structured process that includes:
- Choosing the spell: Select the card you wish to cast from your hand (or another allowed zone like exile or your graveyard when specific cards or abilities allow).
- Putting it on the stack: Move the chosen card from your hand to the stack. The stack is a zone where spells and abilities wait to resolve.
- Paying the mana cost: Pay the amount of mana indicated on the card’s mana cost, using mana from your mana pool. You might also have to pay additional costs as directed by the spell.
- Resolving the spell: If no player counters the spell, it resolves, and its effects are carried out.
- Moving the card: After resolving, spells are placed into the graveyard (unless they are artifacts or enchantments, creatures which move to the battlefield, or planeswalkers which move to the battlefield).
Triggers and Interactions
Casting spells triggers certain abilities and effects. For example, Prowess triggers when you cast a noncreature spell, granting a creature +1/+1 until the end of the turn. Cards with the text “when you cast” will activate due to the act of casting a spell. Since casting involves multiple steps and a specific game process, it is susceptible to being countered or disrupted by opposing spells or abilities.
Playing vs. Casting
It’s also crucial to distinguish between “playing” and “casting”. While these terms are often used interchangeably colloquially, they have distinct meanings in MTG. You “play” lands and you “cast” spells. This difference is important because only spells have a mana cost, are placed on the stack, and can be countered. Lands are special actions that don’t use the stack and, therefore, can’t be responded to with instants or activated abilities.
The Mechanics of Copying
How Copying Works
Copying a spell involves generating a replica of a spell that already exists on the stack. This copy is then also placed on the stack, usually right above the original. This copy will have all of the same characteristics of the original spell. It will have the same mana value, targets, and any associated kicker costs. Importantly, the copy is not cast meaning you don’t pay its mana cost and it will not trigger abilities that trigger “when you cast”.
Replicate and Copying
The replicate mechanic, found on certain instants and sorceries, provides an opportunity to copy spells. When you cast a spell with replicate, you can pay the replicate cost any number of times. Each time you do, you place another copy of that spell onto the stack. While the original spell is cast, the copies are not considered to be cast, they are still copies.
The Significance of “Not Cast”
The fact that copies are not cast is paramount to understanding the different applications of copying and casting spells. Spells that have “when you cast” triggers or abilities will not activate when the copied spell resolves since these copied spells were not “cast”.
Mana Value and Copies
Copies maintain the mana value of the original spell. If you copy a spell with a mana value of 5, the copy will also have a mana value of 5. This applies to both spell copies and copies of permanents (cards on the battlefield). Additionally, if a spell is kicked, the copy will also be kicked, maintaining any effects granted by the kicker cost.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Does Replicate Count as Casting?
No, replicate does not count as casting. When you pay the replicate cost, you are creating copies of the spell on the stack, but not actually casting the copied spells. Only the original spell is cast.
2. What is the Difference Between Play and Cast in MTG?
In MTG, you “play” lands and you “cast” spells. Playing a card includes casting a spell, but casting never includes playing a land. Lands are placed directly on the battlefield and are not considered spells, do not go onto the stack, and cannot be countered.
3. Do Copied Spells Have a Mana Value?
Yes, copied spells retain the mana value of the original spell. The copy also copies the mana cost of the original.
4. Why Does Copying Spells Cost Resources?
Copying spells does not cost you any resources unless a specific card or effect requires you to pay for copying a spell.
5. Do You Cast or Play Lands?
You “play” lands, you do not “cast” them. Lands are not spells and therefore bypass the stack, meaning they cannot be countered.
6. Is Playing a Land Card Casting a Spell?
No, playing a land card is not the same as casting a spell. It is a special action that does not go on the stack, and therefore is not a spell.
7. Is Replicating the Same as Copying?
Yes, replicating is a specific mechanic that involves copying spells. The replication creates a duplicate, and therefore the two terms are intimately related to one another.
8. Does Casting a Copy Trigger Prowess?
No, casting a copy does not trigger Prowess since the copy was not cast. Prowess specifically triggers when you cast a noncreature spell.
9. Does Playing a Card Count as Casting in MTG?
Playing a card encompasses casting a spell, but not playing a land. It is the reverse that is not true, as casting never includes playing a land.
10. What is Rule 305.7 in Magic?
Rule 305.7 in Magic pertains to land types and their modifications. If a land’s subtype is changed to one or more of the basic land types, it loses its old types, abilities, and any copiable effects, gaining the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type.
11. Can You Cast Spells Before the Draw Step?
Yes, you can cast instants and activate abilities during your upkeep phase before you draw a card in the draw step.
12. Do Lands Count as Casting?
No, lands do not count as casting. You play lands, and this is a separate action from casting spells.
13. What is the difference between “cast” and “play”?
“Cast” is exclusively used with spells, whereas “play” is used both with spells and lands. “Playing” a spell includes “casting” it, so you will still trigger any “when you cast” abilities.
14. If a Kicked Spell is Copied, is the Copy Kicked?
Yes, if a kicked spell is copied, the copy is also kicked, retaining any additional effects from the kicker cost.
15. Can a Wizard Copy Cleric Spells?
Yes, a wizard can copy cleric spells, provided the cleric has written down the spell in a spell book or scroll. Wizards and other classes that use spellbooks can copy spells from other people’s spellbooks or scrolls.
Conclusion
Understanding the difference between casting and copying is critical for advanced play in MTG. Casting is the primary way to use spells by moving them from hand onto the stack and paying their costs. Copying creates replicas of spells already on the stack that bypass the normal casting process. Recognizing the subtleties of how these two mechanics differ will help you play more strategically and effectively in your Magic: The Gathering games.