Flurry of Blows After a Ranged Attack: A Comprehensive Guide
The core question at hand: can a Monk use Flurry of Blows after a ranged attack? The answer, in its simplest form, is generally no, but with a significant caveat. The standard Flurry of Blows ability, as presented in the Player’s Handbook for Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition, is designed to be an extension of melee combat. It allows a Monk, after taking the Attack action on their turn, to spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action. This core mechanic is inherently tied to melee. However, there’s a crucial exception when a Monk is using a ranged monk weapon. If that is the case, then yes a monk can use flurry of blows.
Monk Weapon & Ranged Attacks
The crucial distinction lies in the “monk weapon” specification. A monk can use any weapon which they are proficient with, and which does not have the heavy or special property. So a short sword, sickle, darts, short bow are all monk weapons.
The Zen Archer Exception
There’s an exception to this general rule. Specifically, the Zen Archer archetype, introduced in certain third-party materials, allows a Flurry of Blows to be triggered by a bow (a ranged weapon) as a full-attack action. However, this comes with the restriction that you can’t use Flurry of Blows with unarmed attacks or any other weapons when using the Zen Archer rules. This is a significant divergence from the core monk rules and would need to be carefully considered by players and DMs. The core PHB rules on monks do not allow this and therefore, this specific exception will not be covered further in this article.
Understanding The Limitations
It’s essential to understand why a ranged attack typically doesn’t trigger a standard Flurry of Blows. The ability explicitly states that it must occur “immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn.” This means that you must perform your attack, with a monk weapon or with unarmed strike, first. It then creates an action window during which you can use your bonus action to perform Flurry of Blows. This sequence is designed for a fluid, melee-centric fighting style, where the Monk uses their fists and feet (or monk weapons) in quick succession.
A ranged attack does not fit into this sequence. So you cannot make a ranged attack with a weapon that is not a monk weapon, then make two unarmed strikes.
Key Differences
- Melee Focus: Flurry of Blows is designed to enhance a Monk’s melee prowess, providing additional unarmed strikes.
- Action Economy: It leverages the bonus action to add two attacks after an initial Attack action, keeping combat engaging and dynamic for the monk in close combat.
- Ki Expenditure: It also requires ki points, a resource unique to the Monk class, demonstrating that Flurry of Blows is a deliberate, powerful maneuver rather than a free action.
- Monk Weapon requirement: The attack action must be with a monk weapon or unarmed strike for flurry of blows to be triggered.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can I use Flurry of Blows after an attack action involving thrown weapons?
This depends on if the thrown weapons qualify as a monk weapon (does not have the heavy property). If you throw a dart, for example, which is a monk weapon, then yes, you can then follow up with Flurry of Blows. If you throw a hand axe, no as that has the heavy property.
2. Does Extra Attack affect my ability to use Flurry of Blows?
Yes, Extra Attack allows you to make two attacks as part of your Attack action, but this still only counts as one action. You will need to first perform at least one attack with your attack action, then make the attack using a bonus action. When you gain the ability at level 5 to use extra attack, you still use a bonus action to make two additional attacks. This means a monk can potentially land up to four attacks in a single turn: two with the attack action, two with flurry of blows.
3. Can I move between the attacks of Flurry of Blows?
Yes. Movement is allowed between all attacks that are part of the same Attack action or that follow each other. This rule applies to the attacks you make when you use your Flurry of Blows bonus action.
4. Does Flurry of Blows work with two-weapon fighting?
Flurry of Blows works independently of two-weapon fighting. If you are holding two weapons, you can use either one for each attack. You don’t need to be using two-weapon fighting to use Flurry of Blows.
5. Can I use the shove action in Flurry of Blows?
No. Flurry of Blows must be an unarmed strike, and shove is a special weapon attack. Thus you cannot substitute a shove in for one or both of the unarmed strikes.
6. Can I target multiple enemies with Flurry of Blows?
No. Flurry of Blows is only designed to target a single enemy, even though the feature includes two strikes. Both punches, kicks, etc must be made against one single target.
7. Can I do Flurry of Blows twice in a turn?
No. You only have one bonus action per turn. Thus you may only perform Flurry of Blows once.
8. Do I have to roll twice for Flurry of Blows?
Yes. Each unarmed strike (two with flurry of blows) is a separate attack, thus you must roll to attack and damage each time.
9. Does Haste stack with Flurry of Blows?
Yes, Haste grants an additional action, which does not prevent a bonus action from being used in the same turn. Therefore, your Haste action does not influence your ability to use Flurry of Blows.
10. Does Flurry of Blows count for Agile Parry?
No. Agile parry requires you to make an unarmed strike as part of the attack action. The two strikes made with the bonus action Flurry of Blows does not count toward agile parry.
11. Can I use Hands of Harm with Flurry of Blows?
Yes, when you use Flurry of Blows, you can now replace each of the unarmed strikes with a use of your Hands of Healing, without spending ki points for the healing. In addition, when you make an unarmed strike with Flurry of Blows, you can use Hand of Harm with that strike without spending the ki point for Hands of Harm.
12. Can I use Flurry of Blows with astral arms?
No. You cannot use Flurry of Blows with your astral arms, you make one extra attack with your astral arms as a bonus action. This prevents you from using flurry of blows.
13. Can I use Open Hand Technique twice?
Yes. You can use a different Open Hand Technique each time you hit with a Flurry of Blows attack. There is nothing in the rules preventing this.
14. Does Flurry of Blows stack with rapid shot?
Yes. Feats that grant extra attacks via magical speed stack with Flurry of Blows.
15. How many attacks do I roll for at 5th Level?
If you take the Attack action, your extra attack and the two attacks from Flurry of Blows, then you will make a total of four attack rolls (assuming all with your unarmed strike).
Conclusion
In summary, while Flurry of Blows is primarily designed to enhance melee combat, there are very limited exceptions for ranged weapons. The key takeaway for monks is to always ensure that at least one of the attacks in their attack action is either an unarmed strike or a strike with a monk weapon before they use their bonus action to activate Flurry of Blows. Understanding these nuances allows players to utilize the full potential of their Monk class in a tactical and dynamic manner.