What is the locket of spell storing?

What is the Locket of Spell Storing?

The locket of spell storing is a fascinating and relatively simple magical item found within the realms of Dungeons and Dragons. Unlike more powerful spell storing items, this locket operates on a small scale, designed to hold only a single 1st-level spell. The locket is typically unassuming, often described as seemingly unopenable upon initial inspection. However, its magical nature allows it to store a spell cast into it and hold that spell until it’s used by the attuned wearer. This makes it a valuable, if limited, resource for adventurers of all types.

How the Locket Works

The core function of the locket is straightforward. When a spellcaster casts a 1st-level spell into it, the spell is absorbed by the locket and ceases to have its normal effect. Instead, the magic of the spell is contained within the locket’s mystical structure. This stored spell remains within the locket until an attuned wearer activates it. The wearer, once attuned to the locket, can release the stored spell, effectively casting it again.

The Locket’s Limitations

It’s crucial to understand the limitations of the locket. First and foremost, it can only hold a single 1st-level spell at a time. Once that spell has been released, the locket is empty and ready to receive a new spell. The locket also requires attunement to function properly, ensuring that only the attuned individual can release the stored spell. Furthermore, as a GM choice, a locket might be discovered with a pre-loaded spell or entirely empty.

Strategic Use of the Locket

Despite its apparent simplicity, the locket of spell storing offers a variety of tactical applications. For a non-spellcaster, it can provide a crucial tool, granting access to a magical effect they would not otherwise possess. For a spellcaster, the locket can serve as a means of keeping a spell ready for a critical moment or to utilize a spell they’ve already expended their own slot on. Its value lies in its flexibility, offering any wearer a chance to use a spell at the right time.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 frequently asked questions about the locket of spell storing, designed to provide a more detailed understanding of this unique magical item:

What Level Spells Can the Locket Store?

The locket is specifically designed to store only 1st-level spells. Spells of higher levels cannot be stored within its confines.

What Happens When a Spell is Stored?

When a spell is successfully stored in the locket, the spell’s effect is nullified; it only transfers the magical energy and function to the locket. The spell has no effect until it is released by an attuned wearer.

How do you Use a Spell Stored in the Locket?

To use a spell stored in the locket, the wearer must be attuned to it. Once attuned, the wearer can then activate the locket, releasing the stored spell as if they were casting it.

Can a Non-Spellcaster Use the Locket?

Yes, absolutely! Any creature that is attuned to the locket can use the spell stored within it, even if they lack any innate spellcasting ability. This is one of the locket’s key benefits.

Can a Spellcaster Recharge the Locket Multiple Times Per Day?

Yes, a spellcaster can charge the locket with a new 1st-level spell as often as they wish, provided they have available spell slots. The locket is ready to accept a new spell immediately after the previous one is used.

Does the Locket Require Components to Cast the Stored Spell?

When the attuned user activates the spell, they will need to provide any necessary material components required for the stored spell, just as if they were casting it themselves.

Can I Store a Cantrip in the Locket?

No, the locket of spell storing is only capable of holding 1st-level spells. Cantrips are considered 0-level spells and cannot be stored.

How Many of These Lockets Can You Attune to?

As per the standard rules of D&D 5e, a creature can only attune to one copy of the same item at any given time. You cannot attune to multiple lockets.

Is the Locket’s Magic Limited by the User’s Ability Modifiers?

No, when the attuned user activates the stored spell, the spell save DC and spell attack bonus are determined by the original caster of the spell, not the user of the locket. The spell uses the original caster’s spellcasting ability.

What Happens if the Attuned User is Not the Original Caster?

When a spell is activated from the locket, it’s treated as if the attuned user has cast it. This means they are responsible for concentration and other spell effects.

What is an Example of a Spell You Might Store?

A practical example would be storing a healing spell like Cure Wounds or a damage spell like Burning Hands or Magic Missile. Any 1st level spell from your list of spells works as an option.

Can a Warlock Use this Locket Effectively?

Yes, like other casters, a Warlock can use the locket effectively. The main difference to consider for a warlock is that, unlike the Ring of Spell Storing, this locket can only ever store one 1st level spell, so the warlock can always use a 1st level slot to fill it, even if they don’t directly choose that spell slot on their character sheet.

Can You Counterspell a Spell From the Locket?

Yes, you can counterspell a spell cast from the locket, just as you could counterspell any other spell being cast. Counterspell applies to the action of casting a spell, not the item releasing a spell effect.

How Does This Locket Compare to the Ring of Spell Storing?

The ring of spell storing is far more powerful, capable of storing up to 5 levels worth of spells, and allowing spells of up to 5th level to be stored. The locket is a much more basic item, limited to one 1st level spell at a time. However, the locket is far more common and usable by non-spellcasters.

Is This a Rare Item?

The rarity of the locket of spell storing is not directly defined in official materials, but it is generally considered to be an uncommon magical item. It’s not as common as a potion, but less rare than the Ring of Spell Storing.

In conclusion, the locket of spell storing is a valuable, if limited, magical item that offers a single 1st-level spell to the attuned wearer. Its strategic use can provide a helpful advantage, particularly for those who lack innate spellcasting capabilities. Understanding its mechanics and limitations is key to maximizing its potential in any D&D campaign.

Leave a Comment