What is the Rule 110.5b in Magic?
The rule 110.5b in Magic: the Gathering states that permanents enter the battlefield untapped, unflipped, face up, and phased in unless a spell or ability says otherwise. This rule is crucial in understanding how permanents behave when they are played and enter the battlefield, and it has implications for various aspects of the game, including spell resolution, ability activation, and permanent interactions.
Understanding the Rule and its Implications
Introduction to Permanents
To fully comprehend the rule 110.5b, it’s essential to understand what permanents are and how they function within the game. Permanents are cards or tokens that remain on the battlefield until they are destroyed, exiled, sacrificed, or otherwise removed according to the game rules. The five types of permanents in Magic are planeswalkers, creatures, enchantments, artifacts, and lands.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Does Playing a Card Count as Casting?
Playing a card includes casting a spell, but casting never includes playing a land. This distinction is crucial because casting and playing have different implications for the game state and the stack.
2. Is a Sorcery a Permanent?
A sorcery is not a permanent. According to rule 307, a player may cast a sorcery card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty, but it does not remain on the battlefield as a permanent.
3. What Counts as a Nonland Permanent?
Anything on the battlefield that is not a land is considered a nonland permanent. This includes creatures, enchantments, artifacts, and planeswalkers.
4. Is a Face-Down Card a Permanent?
A face-down card can be a permanent if it is on the battlefield. However, its status as face-down is not a characteristic that is typically copied, so a copy of a face-down permanent or spell will usually be face-up.
5. What Cards Are Permanent in Magic?
Permanent cards include planeswalkers, creatures, enchantments, artifacts, and lands. These are the five types of cards that can remain on the battlefield as permanents.
6. What Is Considered a Permanent Card in MTG?
A permanent card is any card or token that remains on the battlefield until it is removed according to the game rules. This can include cards of the five permanent types, as well as tokens created by spells or abilities.
7. Does a Token Count as a Permanent?
A token is a type of permanent that is not represented by a regular card with a casting cost. Tokens are created by the effects of spells and abilities and remain on the battlefield until they are removed.
8. Is an Artifact a Permanent?
An artifact is a type of permanent. According to rule 301, a player may cast an artifact card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty.
9. Is a Planeswalker Considered a Permanent?
Planeswalkers are permanents. They can be cast at any time a sorcery could be cast, and when they resolve, they enter the battlefield under the player’s control.
10. Are Cards in the Graveyard Permanents?
Cards in the graveyard are not permanents. A card or token becomes a permanent as it enters the battlefield and stops being a permanent when it is moved to another zone, such as the library, exile, or graveyard.
11. Are There Legendary Instants in MTG?
Legendary instants are a type of instant that can only be cast if the player controls a legendary creature or planeswalker.
12. Is an Emblem a Permanent?
An emblem is not a permanent and cannot be affected or removed by any cards or abilities as long as the player who gained it remains in the game.
13. Does Copying a Spell Count as Casting?
Copying a spell does not count as casting. When a spell is copied, the copy is put onto the stack, but it is not considered to be cast from a zone like the hand.
14. Does Putting a Card into Your Hand Count as Drawing a Card?
Putting a card into a player’s hand does not count as drawing a card unless the effect uses the word “draw“. If an effect moves cards from a player’s library to their hand without using the word “draw“, the player has not drawn those cards.
15. Can You Sacrifice a Creature at Any Time?
Sacrificing a creature is a keyword action that requires a card or ability to enable or trigger it. A player cannot simply choose to sacrifice a creature at any time; there must be a specific effect or ability that allows them to do so.
Conclusion
In conclusion, rule 110.5b provides essential guidance on how permanents enter the battlefield and interact with other cards and abilities. Understanding this rule and its implications is crucial for players to navigate the complex world of Magic: the Gathering effectively. By familiarizing themselves with the rule and the related FAQs, players can improve their gameplay and strategic decision-making, ultimately enhancing their overall Magic: the Gathering experience.