What is the rule 305.7 in magic?

Unveiling Magic’s 305.7: Reshaping the Land

Rule 305.7 of the Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules details how an effect that changes a land’s subtype to a basic land type fundamentally alters that land. When this occurs, the land sheds its former identity, losing all abilities from its rules text, its original land types, and any copiable effects influencing it. In its place, it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type it acquires. It’s a dramatic transformation, a magical makeover that rewrites the very essence of the land in question.

Deep Dive: Understanding 305.7

This rule is crucial for understanding how certain cards in Magic can dramatically alter the game state. Cards that grant land types, especially basic land types, can disrupt mana bases, shut down certain strategies, or even create powerful synergies. Let’s break down the key components:

  • “If an effect sets a land’s subtype to one or more of the basic land types…”: The trigger for this rule is an effect that specifically sets a land’s subtype. This isn’t triggered by just any land type; it must be a basic land type, such as Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, or Forest.

  • “…the land no longer has its old land type.”: This is the core of the rule. The land’s previous land type is completely overwritten.

  • “…It loses all abilities generated from its rules text, its old land types, and any copiable effects affecting that land…”: Everything associated with the old identity is wiped clean. This includes any abilities printed directly on the card (rules text), any abilities gained from its previous land types, and any effects that were copying the land’s characteristics.

  • “…and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type.”: The land then gains the ability to tap for mana of the color associated with its new basic land type(s). For example, if a land becomes an Island and a Forest, it can tap for either blue or green mana.

A Concrete Example

Imagine a card like [[Blood Moon]] is on the battlefield. Blood Moon has the effect: “Nonbasic lands are Mountains.” This means that any nonbasic land on the battlefield (or entering the battlefield) loses its previous abilities and becomes a Mountain. It can now only tap for red mana. It loses any abilities printed on the card.

Why Does This Rule Exist?

This rule exists to provide clarity and consistency in how Magic handles land type changes. Without it, there would be numerous ambiguous scenarios and potential for rules conflicts. The rule ensures that when a land becomes a basic land type, it behaves predictably and consistently with other basic lands. It’s a key element of the game’s overall rules framework.

FAQs: Demystifying Rule 305.7

Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the intricacies of Rule 305.7:

  1. What happens if a land loses its abilities but not its land type?

    If a land loses its abilities but retains its original land type, it simply becomes a land with that type but no abilities printed on it. It would still be subject to other effects that care about that land type.

  2. Does 305.7 apply if an effect grants a land a basic land type in addition to its existing types?

    No. Rule 305.7 is only triggered when an effect sets the land’s subtype, replacing the old one. If an effect adds a basic land type without removing the existing ones, the land keeps all its previous abilities and types, and simply gains the new mana ability.

  3. If a land becomes a basic land, does it also become a “basic land” (with the supertype “basic”)?

    Not necessarily. Rule 305.7 only affects the land’s subtype. To gain the “basic” supertype, an effect must specifically grant it. Otherwise, the land remains a nonbasic land with a basic land type. This distinction matters for cards that specifically target basic or nonbasic lands.

  4. Can a land that has lost its abilities due to 305.7 regain them later?

    Yes, if the effect that granted it the basic land type is removed or countered, the land reverts to its original state, regaining its original abilities and land types (and any other copiable effects that were affecting it).

  5. How does 305.7 interact with effects that prevent lands from tapping for mana?

    Even if a land gains a mana ability through 305.7, effects that prevent it from tapping for mana will still apply. The land has the ability to tap for mana, but it simply can’t use that ability.

  6. Does 305.7 affect lands in my graveyard or hand?

    No, rule 305.7 only affects the lands that on the battlefield.

  7. Does Dryad of the Ilysian Grove’s ability apply to my nonbasic lands?

    Dryad of the Ilysian Grove has the ability: “You may play an additional land on each of your turns. Lands you control are every basic land type in addition to their other types.” Note that “in addition to their other types”.

  8. What about effects that create copies of lands?

    Copiable effects are one of the things a land loses if rule 305.7 applies.

  9. Are there cards that specifically target lands that have been modified by 305.7?

    Not directly, but there are many cards that interact with basic lands, nonbasic lands, or lands of specific types. A land changed by 305.7 will be affected by any such cards if it now qualifies.

  10. How does the 305.7 rule affect dual lands that have basic land types?

    If a dual land that already has basic land types is targeted by an effect that applies 305.7, the land will retain its basic land types but lose any additional abilities printed on the card. The effect would only take away any other abilities but not replace the types.

  11. What role do card errata play with Rule 305.7?

    Card errata ensures older cards are consistent with current rules like 305.7. For instance, older cards that said “This land counts as a basic land” were updated to say “This land is a [Basic Land Type]” to align with the current rules.

  12. How does Rule 305.7 relate to mana fixing in Magic?

    Mana fixing is the ability to generate the colors of mana you need to cast your spells. Rule 305.7 can disrupt mana fixing by changing your opponent’s lands into a single color, limiting their options, or it can allow you to ramp in specific colors.

  13. Can I use 305.7 strategically to disrupt my opponent’s mana base?

    Absolutely! Cards like [[Blood Moon]] and [[Magus of the Moon]] are often used to severely limit an opponent’s mana options by turning their nonbasic lands into Mountains. This can be devastating against decks that rely on specific color combinations or utility lands.

  14. Are there any exceptions to Rule 305.7?

    As with many Magic rules, specific card text can override Rule 305.7. Always read the card carefully to see if it creates an exception to the general rule.

  15. Where can I learn more about Magic: The Gathering rules and strategy?

    The official Magic: The Gathering website is a great resource. You can also learn more about the broader educational and community aspects of gaming at GamesLearningSociety.org, a vibrant community dedicated to exploring the intersection of games and learning, and the Games Learning Society promotes educational research.

By understanding Rule 305.7, you gain a deeper appreciation for the intricate interactions and strategic possibilities within Magic: The Gathering. It’s a rule that can dramatically reshape the battlefield and influence the outcome of the game. So, embrace the power of land transformation, and may your mana always be with you!

Leave a Comment