What is the rule 704.5 G in Magic The Gathering?

Mastering Magic: The Gathering Rule 704.5g – Lethal Damage Explained

Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is a game of intricate rules and strategic depth. Among these rules, the State-Based Actions play a critical role in maintaining the flow of the game. Rule 704.5g is a key component within this framework.

704.5g If a creature has toughness greater than 0, it has damage marked on it, and the total damage marked on it is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

In simpler terms, if a creature’s toughness is exceeded by the damage it has sustained, that creature is immediately destroyed. This is a state-based action, meaning it happens automatically the next time the game checks game states, and players cannot respond to it with spells or abilities. The only exception to this is when a regeneration effect is applied to the creature, which creates a replacement effect that prevents the destruction.

Understanding the Components of Rule 704.5g

To fully grasp Rule 704.5g, we need to break down its components:

  • Creature: This refers to a permanent card on the battlefield with the type “Creature.”
  • Toughness: This is the number printed in the lower right corner of a creature card, representing how much damage it can withstand.
  • Damage: Damage can be dealt to a creature from various sources, such as combat, spells, or abilities. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step of the turn, unless otherwise specified.
  • Lethal Damage: This is the condition where the damage marked on a creature is equal to or greater than its toughness.
  • Destroyed: This means the creature is put into its owner’s graveyard.
  • Regeneration: This is a specific ability that creates a one-time replacement effect. If a creature with regeneration would be destroyed, instead it is removed from combat, all damage is removed from it, and it is tapped.

State-Based Actions: The Foundation of Rule 704.5g

State-based actions (SBAs) are automatic actions that the game performs whenever a player would receive priority. This means they are checked and resolved before any player can cast spells or activate abilities. Because SBAs don’t use the stack, they cannot be responded to. This is why you can’t cast an instant to save a creature that is about to be destroyed by lethal damage. The game checks for SBAs, sees the creature has lethal damage marked on it, and destroys it before you even have a chance to react.

Regeneration: The Exception to the Rule

Regeneration is a specific ability that provides a “shield” against destruction. When a regeneration effect is in place, and the creature would be destroyed, it instead is saved. This action involves:

  • Removing the creature from combat.
  • Removing all damage marked on it.
  • Tapping the creature.

It’s important to note that regeneration is a one-time effect. If the creature is dealt lethal damage again later in the turn, the regeneration shield is no longer in place, and the creature will be destroyed. Also, regeneration can’t replace certain kinds of destruction, such as being sacrificed or having its toughness reduced to zero or less.

Practical Examples of Rule 704.5g

  • A Grizzly Bears (2/2) is blocked by a Hill Giant (3/3). The Grizzly Bears is dealt 3 damage in combat. Because 3 is greater than the Grizzly Bears’ toughness of 2, the Grizzly Bears is dealt lethal damage and destroyed.

  • A Llanowar Elves (1/1) is dealt 1 damage by a Lightning Bolt. Because 1 is equal to the Llanowar Elves’ toughness of 1, the Llanowar Elves is dealt lethal damage and destroyed.

  • A creature with regeneration is dealt lethal damage. Instead of being destroyed, it is tapped, removed from combat, and all damage is removed from it.

Rule 704.5f vs. Rule 704.5g

It’s important to differentiate Rule 704.5g from Rule 704.5f.

704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. Regeneration can’t replace this event.

While Rule 704.5g deals with lethal damage, Rule 704.5f deals with creatures that have 0 or less toughness. The critical distinction is that regeneration cannot save a creature with 0 or less toughness. This is because the game sees the toughness as 0 or less and destroys the creature as a state-based action, before regeneration can kick in. Effects that boost toughness can be vital in keeping creatures alive, particularly when facing cards that reduce toughness.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Does damage marked on a creature stay indefinitely?

No, damage marked on a creature is removed during the cleanup step of each turn, unless a specific effect says otherwise.

2. Can I respond to a creature being destroyed by lethal damage?

No. Because it is a state-based action, you cannot respond to a creature being destroyed by lethal damage. State-based actions do not use the stack, and they happen automatically before any player can cast spells or activate abilities.

3. What happens if a creature has multiple instances of regeneration?

Each instance of regeneration will protect the creature from being destroyed once. If the creature would be destroyed multiple times in a turn, each regeneration effect will be used up one at a time.

4. Does the legend rule count as a sacrifice?

No, the legend rule does not count as a sacrifice. When the legend rule is applied, you choose one of the legendary permanents to keep and the rest are put into their owner’s graveyard. This is a state-based action.

5. Can a creature regenerate from having its toughness reduced to zero?

No, regeneration cannot save a creature whose toughness has been reduced to zero or less. Rule 704.5f takes precedence, and the creature is sent to the graveyard as a state-based action.

6. How does indestructible interact with lethal damage?

If a creature is indestructible, it cannot be destroyed by lethal damage. Damage can still be marked on it, but the indestructible ability prevents it from being put into the graveyard.

7. If a creature has trample, does excess damage go to the defending player even if the creature is destroyed?

Yes, if a creature with trample deals damage to a blocking creature and that creature is dealt lethal damage, any remaining damage beyond what is necessary to assign lethal damage is assigned to the defending player.

8. What happens if a creature is both indestructible and has regeneration?

If a creature is both indestructible and has regeneration, the indestructible ability will prevent it from being destroyed by lethal damage first. The regeneration shield will remain unused unless another effect, such as exile or sacrifice, would remove the creature from the battlefield.

9. Does deathtouch interact with lethal damage?

Yes. Any amount of damage dealt by a source with deathtouch is considered lethal damage. This means that even if a creature with deathtouch deals only 1 damage to a creature with a higher toughness, the damaged creature is still destroyed.

10. What is the difference between lethal damage and non-lethal damage?

Lethal damage is the amount of damage equal to or greater than the toughness of a creature. Non-lethal damage is any amount of damage less than the toughness of the creature. A creature with non-lethal damage will survive unless its toughness is reduced or further damage is dealt.

11. Can I use a combat trick after a creature is dealt lethal damage but before it is destroyed?

No, you cannot. State-based actions are checked and resolved before any player can cast spells or activate abilities. By the time you would have priority to cast a combat trick, the creature would already be in the graveyard.

12. How do counters interact with lethal damage?

Counters, such as +1/+1 counters or -1/-1 counters, can affect a creature’s toughness. If +1/+1 counters increase a creature’s toughness above the damage it has sustained, it will survive. Conversely, if -1/-1 counters reduce a creature’s toughness to zero, it will be destroyed.

13. Can I respond to the state-based action that checks for lethal damage?

No, State-based actions do not use the stack and you cannot respond to them. They’re checked and resolved automatically whenever a player would get priority.

14. Does commander damage count towards lethal damage on creatures?

Yes, commander damage dealt to a creature counts towards the total damage that determines if lethal damage has been reached. If a creature controlled by one player takes enough commander damage from another player’s commander to equal or exceed its toughness, it is dealt lethal damage and destroyed.

15. How does first strike or double strike interact with lethal damage?

With first strike or double strike, damage is dealt during a separate combat damage step. If a creature with first strike deals lethal damage to a blocking creature during the first combat damage step, the blocking creature is destroyed before it can deal its damage in the regular combat damage step. The same principle applies with double strike; creatures may be destroyed between the two combat damage steps.

Conclusion

Understanding Rule 704.5g is crucial for any Magic: The Gathering player. It governs how creatures are destroyed by lethal damage, one of the most common occurrences in the game. Knowing when and how this rule applies, as well as the exceptions like regeneration, can significantly impact your strategy and gameplay. For more in-depth explorations of game mechanics and their educational applications, visit Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. Mastering the intricacies of MTG rules not only enhances your gaming experience but also sharpens your critical thinking and problem-solving skills.

Leave a Comment