When an Artifact is Put in the Graveyard: A Comprehensive Guide
An artifact is placed in the graveyard in a variety of circumstances, primarily dictated by the rules of the game Magic: The Gathering (though the general principle applies to other contexts as well). Essentially, an artifact enters the graveyard when it is removed from the battlefield and sent to the graveyard zone. This can occur through numerous actions, such as being destroyed, sacrificed, or discarded. It’s a fundamental game mechanic that influences many card interactions and strategies, making it crucial to understand the various situations that lead to an artifact ending up in the graveyard.
How Artifacts End Up in the Graveyard
There are multiple ways artifacts can find their way to the graveyard. These include:
Destruction
- Spells and Abilities: Many spells and abilities explicitly state they destroy a permanent. If that permanent is an artifact, it’s placed into its owner’s graveyard. For example, a card like “Shatter” will directly destroy an artifact.
- State-Based Actions: State-based actions are rules that automatically trigger. For example, if an artifact creature has damage marked on it greater than or equal to its toughness, it is destroyed and placed in the graveyard. An artifact creature with 0 toughness or less also immediately goes to the graveyard.
Sacrifice
- Voluntary Actions: Some cards allow players to sacrifice a permanent, including an artifact, as a cost or effect. A common example would be “Krark-Clan Ironworks” where you sacrifce artifacts for mana. When an artifact is sacrificed, it is moved from the battlefield to the graveyard.
- Enforced Sacrifice: Other cards and abilities can force a player to sacrifice an artifact. “Diabolic Edict” is an example where you must sacrifice a creature, which can include an artifact creature.
Discard
- Card Effects: Some cards cause players to discard cards from their hand. While this often refers to spells, if an artifact is in a player’s hand when they are forced to discard, that artifact will go to the graveyard.
Exiling and Then Entering the Graveyard
- Delayed Effects: Some spells and abilities might exile an artifact temporarily. If that artifact is then instructed to be moved to the graveyard as a result of another effect, it would do so from exile. Cards like “Pull from Eternity” can affect exiled cards this way.
Leaving the Battlefield by Other Means
- Bouncing: If an artifact is returned to its owner’s hand through a “bounce” effect like “Unsummon,” it doesn’t go to the graveyard. However, if it’s subsequently discarded from the hand, it will go to the graveyard.
- Exiling If a spell or ability exiles an artifact permanently, it doesn’t go to the graveyard, but remains in exile. An exiled artifact won’t trigger abilities that are triggered by cards entering the graveyard.
The Significance of the Graveyard for Artifacts
The graveyard is not necessarily the end for an artifact. Many cards and strategies rely on the graveyard, allowing players to return artifacts from the graveyard to the battlefield, to the hand, or to exile. Certain cards trigger when a card is put into the graveyard, making graveyard interactions crucial for both offensive and defensive plays. Graveyard-related strategies are powerful and commonly used in many formats. Knowing how artifacts enter the graveyard is crucial for exploiting these strategies and responding to the opponent’s tactics.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Can you sacrifice an artifact?
Yes, you can sacrifice an artifact if an effect allows you to. Many cards have this functionality, both as a cost or an effect. Sacrificing moves the artifact from the battlefield to the graveyard.
Do artifacts stay on the battlefield?
Yes, like enchantments, artifacts stay on the battlefield until an effect moves them to a different zone, like the graveyard, hand, or exile. Artifacts are permanents and remain on the field unless removed by a specific effect or rule.
Is an artifact a permanent?
Absolutely. Artifacts are a type of permanent in Magic: The Gathering, alongside creatures, enchantments, lands, and planeswalkers. Permanents remain on the battlefield until removed.
Can you keep an artifact if you find it?
From a real-world standpoint, taking artifacts without permission is illegal. In most jurisdictions, artifacts found on public or private land that is not your own belong to the land owner or public. It’s important to respect the law and the history these items represent.
Can you equip an artifact to itself?
No, an equipment cannot equip itself. This is a rule of the game. An equipment can be unattached from a permanent it can’t equip, but will still remain on the battlefield.
Do artifact lands get destroyed as artifacts?
Yes. An artifact land is both an artifact and a land. Effects that destroy artifacts will affect artifact lands. If a destroy effect targets artifacts, it will also affect artifact lands.
Can you sacrifice a creature when it enters the battlefield?
Generally, a creature can be sacrificed any time an effect allows it, even immediately after it enters the battlefield, unless it is affected by summoning sickness. However, some creatures will be sacrificed as a cost upon entering the battlefield because of their specific ability, like champion a creature that requires sacrificing another creature.
Do artifacts enter the battlefield with summoning sickness?
No. Plain artifacts do not have summoning sickness. However, if an artifact is also a creature, it is subject to summoning sickness. A creature must have been under your control since the start of your most recent turn to tap or attack, regardless of whether it’s an artifact creature or just a plain creature.
What counts as entering the battlefield?
“Enters the battlefield” refers to the process of a permanent being placed onto the battlefield from another zone, such as your hand, graveyard, or exile. This action triggers effects that occur whenever a permanent enters the battlefield.
What are the rules of the graveyard?
In Magic: The Gathering, the graveyard is the zone where discarded, destroyed, or sacrificed cards are placed. It’s a public zone, meaning all players can see the cards inside. In real life, graveyards are sacred and should be respected.
Does a card go to the graveyard before it resolves?
No. A card doesn’t go to the graveyard until it has fully resolved or been countered. For example, when you cast a spell, it remains on the stack until it resolves. Only once all the effects of the spell have taken place does it get moved to the graveyard (if it is not exiled or otherwise moved to a different zone).
Can you sacrifice an artifact at any time?
You can sacrifice an artifact at any time, as long as you have an ability or effect that allows you to do so. The ability that allows you to do so will specify when it is available to be used.
How old does an artifact have to be to be an artifact?
In archaeology, there’s a “50 year rule” that helps classify possible artifacts. Items that are older than 50 years could be considered as archaeological specimens.
Can you sacrifice indestructible artifacts?
Yes, indestructible does not stop sacrificing. Indestructible only stops destruction by effects that say to “destroy”, and being destroyed from having lethal damage or 0 toughness.
What should I do if I find an artifact?
If you happen to come across an artifact, especially in a context where it may have historical or cultural value, leave it where you found it. Photograph the item and the area around it, and report it to the relevant authorities, such as a local archaeology society or historical preservation office.