When can you cast madness?
You can cast madness whenever you discard a card with the madness ability from your hand, allowing you to play it at instant speed as long as you pay its madness cost. This unique ability lets you bypass traditional timing restrictions, enabling you to cast sorceries, enchantments, and creatures with madness at any time, as long as you’ve discarded them first.
Understanding Madness
Madness is a powerful ability in certain card games that allows players to cast cards in unconventional ways. To cast a card with madness, you must first discard it from your hand, either as a result of a spell or ability, or as a voluntary action.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can madness be cast at instant speed?
Yes, madness allows you to cast cards at instant speed, giving you the flexibility to react to changing circumstances on the battlefield.
2. Does madness get around timing restrictions?
Yes, casting a spell with madness ignores the traditional timing rules based on the card’s type, allowing you to cast sorceries during an opponent’s turn, for example.
3. What is the madness discard phase?
The madness discard phase refers to the process of discarding a card with madness from your hand, which then allows you to cast it using its madness cost.
4. Does madness go in the graveyard?
If you choose not to cast a card with madness after discarding it, it will be put into your graveyard.
5. Can you cast sorceries with madness at instant speed?
Yes, madness enables you to cast sorceries at instant speed, as long as you’ve discarded them first and pay their madness cost.
6. Do cards cast with madness go to the graveyard?
After a card with madness is cast, it will go to the graveyard if it’s an instant or sorcery, or remain on the battlefield if it’s a creature or enchantment.
7. Does madness still count as discarding?
Yes, a card with madness that’s discarded still counts as having been discarded, even though it’s put into exile rather than the graveyard.
8. Does milling trigger madness?
No, milling (putting cards from the deck into the graveyard) does not trigger madness, as it doesn’t involve discarding cards from the hand.
9. Is the narcissist discard final?
In the context of madness, the discard is not necessarily final, as you can choose to cast the discarded card using its madness cost.
10. Does madness trigger discard?
Yes, a card with madness that’s discarded will trigger any abilities that respond to discarding, even though it’s put into exile.
11. Does madness count as casting?
Yes, casting a card with madness is still considered casting, and it can be interacted with in the same ways as a regularly cast spell.
12. Does madness use the stack?
Yes, a spell cast with madness is put onto the stack like any other spell, where it can be countered, copied, or otherwise interacted with.
13. Does madness change CMC?
No, casting a card with madness doesn’t change its Converted Mana Cost (CMC), as madness is an alternate cost.
14. Can madness cost be reduced?
Yes, the madness cost can be reduced by effects that reduce the total cost of the spell, such as Urza’s Incubator.
15. Does madness only work on players?
No, madness can be applied to both players and enemies, depending on the context and the specific game or scenario.