When Can You Use Flurry of Blows? A Comprehensive Guide
The Flurry of Blows ability is a cornerstone of the Monk class in D&D, allowing for a rapid barrage of attacks. However, its usage isn’t as straightforward as simply deciding to make extra hits. It’s governed by specific rules that dictate when and how you can unleash this potent technique. The core rule is this: You can use Flurry of Blows immediately after taking the Attack action on your turn, provided you have the ki points and bonus action available.
This means that the first step is always performing an Attack action, which can involve any attack you are able to make as part of that action. Then, as a bonus action and spending one ki point, you can make two unarmed strikes with Flurry of Blows. This specific sequencing is crucial to understand. The action must come before the bonus action, and the bonus action must be flurry of blows.
Let’s explore this in more depth, dissecting the specific conditions and clearing up some common misconceptions surrounding its use.
Understanding the Core Mechanics
Attack Action First
The trigger for Flurry of Blows is the use of your Attack action. This action can involve making one or more attacks depending on your level and abilities. You can also break up your Attack Action and perform other actions, like moving, between your attacks before using your Flurry of Blows. For example, at level 5, a Monk gains Extra Attack, meaning they can attack twice using one Attack action. They could make one attack, move to a different target, and make another attack, and then use Flurry of Blows as their bonus action.
Bonus Action Required
Flurry of Blows is a bonus action. This means it occupies your singular bonus action for the round. You only get one bonus action per turn, and you must not have used it already this round to utilize Flurry of Blows. Therefore, you can’t stack multiple bonus action abilities in the same round.
Ki Point Cost
Activating Flurry of Blows requires spending one ki point. These ki points represent the monk’s inner energy, and you must have enough points to fuel your technique. At lower levels, managing these points becomes a tactical consideration.
Unarmed Strikes
By default, Flurry of Blows allows you to make two unarmed strikes. However, if you possess the Monastic Weaponry class feature, you can use your Monk weapons instead, giving you more flexibility in combat.
FAQs About Flurry of Blows
Here’s a list of frequently asked questions to address various scenarios and nuances of using Flurry of Blows:
1. Can you use Flurry of Blows with a weapon?
Yes, provided you have the Monastic Weaponry class feature, you can use Flurry of Blows with melee Monk weapons. Without this class feature, Flurry of Blows only allows for unarmed strikes.
2. Can you use Flurry of Blows after moving?
Yes. You can move before and after an attack made as part of your Attack action and before and after the attacks made with Flurry of Blows. The attacks made using your Action and the attacks made from Flurry of Blows do not require you to stay in the same place and you are free to move between attacks.
3. Can you use Flurry of Blows on multiple targets?
Yes, while Flurry of Blows only allows for two additional strikes, these strikes can target different enemies, provided they are all within your reach without moving.
4. Can you use Flurry of Blows and two-weapon fighting?
No, two-weapon fighting, Martial Arts, and Flurry of Blows all use a bonus action and can’t be used in the same turn. You have to choose one or the other.
5. Does Flurry of Blows have to be on the same target?
No, Flurry of Blows is not limited to one target. The attacks granted by Flurry of Blows can target different creatures that are in your reach without moving.
6. Can you move between an Attack action and Flurry of Blows?
Yes, you can move between any attack made using the Attack action and the bonus attacks granted by the Flurry of Blows ability.
7. Can you use Flurry of Blows while raging?
While it is normally possible to use Flurry of Blows while raging if you multiclass a Monk and Barbarian, at 6th level, some monks can utilize a special ability when raging. When using Flurry of Blows while raging you may spend an extra ki point to give both strikes advantage, and your hits will deal extra damage equal to your Martial Arts die.
8. Can you use Flurry of Blows with a shield?
Yes. You do not lose the ability to use Flurry of Blows while wearing armor or using a shield, but you will lose other monk abilities. The use of a shield or armor does not prevent the use of the Flurry of Blows feature.
9. Does Flurry of Blows count for Agile Parry?
No, Agile Parry requires that you make an unarmed strike as part of the Attack action. Bonus action attacks from Flurry of Blows do not count toward this ability.
10. Can you use Hands of Harm with Flurry of Blows?
Yes, when you use Flurry of Blows, you can replace the unarmed strikes with a use of your Hands of Healing without spending ki points. Additionally, you can use the Hand of Harm with any strike from Flurry of Blows without expending a ki point for it.
11. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Martial Arts?
No, Flurry of Blows and the bonus action attack granted by Martial Arts both use the bonus action, so you can only choose one or the other in a round.
12. Do you add Dex to Flurry of Blows?
Yes, monks add their Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage rolls of attacks made with Flurry of Blows, just like with other melee attacks.
13. How many attacks can a Monk make in a turn using Flurry of Blows at level 5?
At 5th level, a Monk with Extra Attack can make four attacks in a round if they use Flurry of Blows. They make two attacks with their Attack action and then two more unarmed strikes as a bonus action via Flurry of Blows. If they don’t have Extra Attack, they can make 3 attacks (1 with their action and 2 with Flurry of Blows).
14. Does Rapid Shot work with Flurry of Blows?
No. A Zen Archer can’t use Rapid Shot or Manyshot when making a flurry of blows with his bow.
15. Can a Wild Shape druid use Flurry of Blows?
Yes, you retain the use of features your wild shape form is physiologically capable of executing. Therefore, you can still use Flurry of Blows, but this is ultimately up to your DM’s discretion.
Conclusion
In summary, you can use Flurry of Blows after taking the Attack action by spending one ki point and a bonus action. This powerful technique can be used with or without weapons, against one or multiple targets, and while moving between attacks. Understanding the limitations and nuances of Flurry of Blows is critical for effectively utilizing the Monk class to its full potential. By understanding these rules and the associated FAQs, you can become a more effective and versatile martial artist in your D&D adventures.