How Many Reactions Can You Use in D&D?
The straightforward answer is: in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), you can use only one reaction per round. This is a fundamental rule of combat and action economy that significantly impacts how players and monsters interact during encounters. While it might seem restrictive, the single reaction rule ensures balance and prevents characters from overwhelming the battlefield. This limitation also adds a strategic layer to the game, forcing players to carefully consider when and how they use their reaction. Understanding how reactions function is key to mastering 5e’s combat system.
Understanding Reactions in D&D 5e
Reactions are a special type of action that doesn’t take place on your turn. Instead, they’re triggered by specific events that occur during a combat round. Unlike your regular action, bonus action, and movement, a reaction happens outside of your normal sequence. Importantly, your reaction refreshes at the start of your turn, not at the beginning of the round. This means that if you use your reaction before your turn, you will not regain it until your next turn starts.
When Can You Use a Reaction?
A reaction can be used on any character’s turn, including your own. The key is that the trigger for the reaction must occur. Some common triggers include:
- Opportunity Attacks: When an enemy moves out of your reach without disengaging, you can make an opportunity attack as a reaction.
- Spells: Certain spells, such as Shield and Absorb Elements, require a reaction to cast.
- Class Features: Some class features, like the Deflect Missiles ability of the Monk, also use a reaction.
The Importance of Tactical Reaction Usage
Since you only get one reaction per round, choosing when to use it becomes a critical decision. Do you save your reaction for a potential opportunity attack, or do you use it to cast Shield in defense against a powerful blow? This constraint forces you to be strategic about your choices and encourages you to coordinate actions with your party.
Frequently Asked Questions About Reactions in D&D
To further clarify how reactions work, here are 15 frequently asked questions, answered in detail:
1. Can I use a reaction on my own turn?
Yes, absolutely. If the trigger for a reaction occurs on your turn, you can use your reaction at that time. For example, if an enemy provokes an opportunity attack on your turn, you can use your reaction to make that attack.
2. Do I lose my reaction if I don’t use it?
Yes. If you do not use your reaction during a round, it does not carry over into the next round. You will regain your reaction at the start of your next turn but any unused reaction is lost.
3. Does everyone get a reaction?
Yes, every character and creature in D&D 5e has a reaction that they can use once per round.
4. Can I take multiple opportunity attacks in a single round?
No, you can only make one opportunity attack per round because it uses your reaction. If multiple creatures move out of your reach, you still can only make one opportunity attack, and therefore, one reaction per round.
5. Can I use a cantrip as a reaction?
No, you cannot use a cantrip as a reaction, unless a specific feature or ability states otherwise. Cantrips are typically used as your action on your turn, not as a reaction.
6. Are there ways to get more reactions?
There are no standard rules or items that would grant extra reactions in 5e. A very small number of specific class features might modify reactions, but these do not grant additional reactions. The game is designed around the one-reaction-per-round mechanic.
7. How do reactions work with spells?
Some spells specifically require a reaction to cast. For example, the Shield spell is cast as a reaction when you are hit by an attack. These spells will specify that they use your reaction in their description.
8. If I use my reaction on someone else’s turn, can I use it again on my turn?
No, you cannot. You regain your reaction at the start of your turn. If you use your reaction on another character’s turn, you will not regain it until the start of your next turn.
9. Can I ready an action to use my reaction later?
Yes. Readying an action takes your action on your turn, and it allows you to take your reaction later, when the specific trigger of your ready action occurs. This is an important tool to have in the D&D combat toolkit.
10. Can I use my action and a reaction on my turn?
Yes, you can, as long as the trigger for your reaction occurs on your turn. As noted previously, if an enemy provokes an opportunity attack on your turn, you can use your action and make the reaction.
11. If I’m stunned, can I still use my reaction?
No, when you are stunned, you cannot take actions or reactions.
12. What happens if multiple things trigger reactions at the same time?
If multiple triggers occur simultaneously, you have to decide which one you’ll use your reaction for. If a creature moves out of your range and you are hit by a projectile at the same time, you have to choose whether to make the opportunity attack or cast the shield spell (if you know it).
13. Do reactions interrupt other actions?
Reactions often interrupt other actions. For example, an opportunity attack occurs immediately when a creature leaves your reach and resolves before the moving creature has moved very far, often stopping their movement entirely. Similarly, Shield will typically resolve prior to the attack which prompted you to cast it.
14. Do Reactions use movement?
No, Reactions do not use any movement, unless specifically stated in their description. Opportunity attacks and other reactions do not require movement of the character.
15. What’s the difference between an action, bonus action, and a reaction?
An action is the standard thing you do on your turn (attack, cast spell, dash). A bonus action is a secondary action (usually quick, like healing word, or disengaging) you get on your turn, if your character has a way to take one. A reaction occurs outside of your turn, when specific triggers occur (opportunity attacks, casting shield). All these different actions add to the strategy of the turn-based gameplay that D&D is known for.
Mastering Reactions: A Key to D&D Combat
Understanding how reactions work is crucial for effective gameplay in D&D 5e. The limitation of one reaction per round creates a strategic dynamic that players must understand. By mastering the use of your reaction, you can enhance your character’s survivability and impact the flow of battle significantly. Use reactions wisely, be aware of trigger conditions, and coordinate with your party to make the most of this powerful tool in your D&D arsenal.