Can any legendary creature have a background?

Can Any Legendary Creature Have a Background?

The short answer is no, not every legendary creature can have a background. While the concept of pairing a legendary creature with a legendary enchantment background has become a popular aspect of Commander gameplay, it’s important to understand the specific rules governing this interaction. Let’s dive deeper into how backgrounds work and clarify which legendary creatures can utilize them effectively.

Understanding the “Choose a Background” Mechanic

The core of the background mechanic lies in the “Choose a Background” ability. This ability appears on specific legendary creatures and allows them to start the game with a legendary enchantment background in the command zone, alongside them. The background acts as a secondary commander and provides additional abilities or boosts to the main legendary creature.

However, and this is a crucial point, only legendary creatures with the explicit “Choose a Background” text can utilize this mechanic directly. Without this specific text, a legendary creature cannot be paired with a background in the command zone at the start of the game. This means most legendary creatures cannot use backgrounds in this way.

What a Background Does

Backgrounds are a specific type of legendary enchantment. They are designed to enhance a commander’s abilities, often granting them extra powers or providing a strategic advantage. The key is that these background enchantments only work with commanders. Their effects and abilities are usually tailored to buff or augment a chosen legendary creature.

Backgrounds as Regular Enchantments

Beyond the command zone use with compatible legendary creatures, background enchantments can also be played as regular enchantments from your deck. If a background is in your 99, you can cast it just like any other enchantment. However, since they primarily affect commanders, you’re more likely to see them in the command zone or used as part of a specific deck-building strategy.

How to Identify Compatible Commanders

To identify which legendary creatures can be paired with a background, look specifically for the “Choose a Background” keyword. If a legendary creature has this keyword on its card text, it can begin the game with a background enchantment in the command zone. For example, a card that states “Choose a Background” on the card can have a background. A card without the ability can not have a background in the command zone.

The Faceless One Exception

There’s one notable exception: The Faceless One. This unique card is a colorless legendary creature that also has the “Choose a Background” ability, AND is also a Background. This allows it to function as either the commander or the background. The Faceless One has special ruling allowing it to function as both to let you have 2 commanders. However, this does not let you have three commanders.

Can You Pair Any Legendary Creature with a Background?

Ultimately, no, you cannot simply pair any legendary creature with a background. The “Choose a Background” mechanic is essential for the background to be in the command zone and interact with the commander in this specific way.

If a legendary creature does not have the “Choose a Background” ability, the background can still be included in your 99-card deck and played as a regular enchantment, but you cannot use it as an additional commander alongside that specific creature.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Can a background be in my Commander deck without my commander having the “Choose a Background” ability?

Yes, a background enchantment can be included in your 99-card Commander deck just like any other card. It simply won’t function as an additional commander at the start of the game unless your legendary creature commander has the “Choose a Background” ability.

2. Does a background have to be in my Commander’s color identity?

Yes, a background enchantment’s color identity must be within the color identity of your chosen commander. Just like any other card in your deck, it must adhere to the commander color identity rules.

3. Can I have a partner and a background?

No, the “Choose a Background” mechanic is a variation of the partner ability, but does not interact with cards that have the original “Partner” ability. You cannot have both a partner and a background alongside a single commander.

4. What is the Legend Rule and how does it apply to backgrounds?

The Legend Rule prevents you from controlling more than one legendary permanent with the same name at the same time. If you copy a legendary creature, for example, you will have to choose one to keep and send the other(s) to the graveyard. The rule applies to backgrounds as well. It only applies to legendary permanents on the battlefield, and not in the command zone.

5. Can I play my background before my commander?

No, your background cannot be played before your commander in the command zone if you are using the “Choose a Background” ability. You must have a legendary creature with “Choose a Background” for the background to begin in the command zone. Otherwise, the background can be played from your hand as a normal enchantment.

6. Does my commander have to be legendary?

Yes, your commander must be a legendary creature or have text stating “This card can be your commander.” There are exceptions for some planeswalkers but it is typically a legendary creature.

7. Can I have a copy of my commander in my deck?

Yes, you can have a copy of your commander within your 99-card deck. However, copies of your commander will be subject to the legend rule when they enter the battlefield.

8. Can backgrounds be in the 99?

Absolutely. Backgrounds are not limited to the command zone. They can easily be included in your 99-card deck where they can still provide value as enchantments.

9. What happens if I create a copy of my legendary commander?

Copies of legendary creatures are also subject to the Legend Rule. If you copy your commander or another legendary creature you control, you’ll have to choose one to keep and send the others to the graveyard.

10. What happens when you copy a background?

If you create a copy of your background, the Legend Rule will apply and you will have to send one copy to your graveyard, leaving only one in play.

11. Are all legendary planeswalkers legal commanders?

Not all legendary planeswalkers can be commanders. Only those that have text stating that they can be your commander, can be your commander.

12. Can Gods be commanders in MTG?

Yes, Gods can be commanders if they have “legendary” and “creature” in their type line. Most Gods in MTG meet these criteria.

13. Can I use basic lands outside of my Commander’s color identity?

No, you cannot use any card whose color identity is not included in the color identity of your commander. This includes basic lands, except for cards with the “Basic Landcycling” keyword.

14. Do planeswalkers count as legendary spells?

Planeswalkers are not spells, they are permanents. All planeswalkers have the supertype “legendary” and are subject to the legend rule.

15. Can I have two copies of a legendary creature on the battlefield?

No, you cannot have two or more copies of the same legendary creature on the battlefield. The Legend Rule only allows one of each named legendary permanent you control on the battlefield.

In conclusion, while backgrounds are a valuable addition to the Commander format, they are not universally compatible with all legendary creatures. The crucial “Choose a Background” keyword dictates which commanders can use a background enchantment as an additional commander. By understanding this specific interaction, you can build and play your Commander decks more effectively, and appreciate the strategic depth these mechanics add to the game.

Leave a Comment