Copying Legendary Creatures as Tokens in MTG: A Comprehensive Guide
Yes, you can absolutely copy a legendary creature as a token in Magic: The Gathering. However, the implications of doing so are where things get interesting. While the act itself is permissible, the Legend Rule will immediately come into play if you control two or more legendary permanents with the same name. This means you’ll have to choose one to keep and send the rest to the graveyard. Creating a token copy can be a powerful strategy, but understanding the nuances is crucial for maximizing its effectiveness. Let’s dive deeper into the mechanics and strategies involved!
Understanding the Basics of Copying
Copying creatures is a common tactic in MTG, enabled by various spells and abilities. These effects can create exact replicas or modified versions of creatures already on the battlefield. The key here is that a copy of a permanent spell becomes a token as it resolves. The token inherits all copiable characteristics of the original, including its name, mana cost (or lack thereof for tokens), types, subtypes, abilities, and power/toughness.
The Legend Rule
The Legend Rule is a state-based action that checks for legendary permanents with the same name under a single player’s control. If two or more exist, that player must choose one to keep, and the rest are put into their owner’s graveyard. This rule is fundamental to understanding how copying legendary creatures, including creating token copies, works.
Tokens and the Legend Rule
Crucially, the Legend Rule applies to tokens just as it applies to non-token permanents. The rule doesn’t distinguish between a legendary permanent that’s a token and one that isn’t. If you create a token copy of a legendary creature you already control, the Legend Rule triggers immediately the next time any player would receive priority. You’ll have to sacrifice either the original or the token copy.
Strategies and Scenarios
Knowing the Legend Rule, how can you effectively use token copies of legendary creatures? Here are a few scenarios:
- Copying an Opponent’s Legendary Creature: This is a safe and often powerful play. You circumvent the Legend Rule entirely since you’re copying something your opponent controls.
- Temporary Advantage: Even if you have to sacrifice one copy immediately, the brief presence of two legendary creatures can be useful. For example, you might trigger “enters the battlefield” abilities twice, or create a short window for attacking with overwhelming force.
- Sacrifice Outlets: If you have a sacrifice outlet (a card that allows you to sacrifice creatures for a benefit), creating a token copy lets you get extra value from sacrificing the copy before the Legend Rule forces your hand.
- Cards that Circumvent the Legend Rule: Some cards, like Mirror Gallery, explicitly remove the Legend Rule. With such a card in play, you can have multiple legendary permanents with the same name.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions to clarify common points of confusion regarding copying legendary creatures and the Legend Rule:
-
Can I copy my opponent’s legendary creature? Yes, absolutely. The Legend Rule only applies to permanents you control. Copying an opponent’s legendary creature is a common and effective strategy.
-
What happens when I create a token copy of my own legendary creature? The Legend Rule kicks in. You must choose one of the legendary permanents (the original or the token copy) to keep, and the other is sent to the graveyard.
-
Does the Legend Rule apply to token copies? Yes, the Legend Rule applies to all legendary permanents with the same name you control, regardless of whether they are tokens or not.
-
If I control Mirror Gallery, can I have multiple legendary creatures with the same name? Yes, Mirror Gallery removes the Legend Rule, allowing you to control multiple legendary permanents with the same name.
-
Can I copy a legendary creature spell while it’s on the stack? Yes, you can copy a creature spell on the stack. If the copied spell resolves and creates a token copy of a legendary creature you already control, the Legend Rule will apply as soon as the token enters the battlefield.
-
If I copy a legendary creature with a non-legendary creature, will the copy be legendary? If the original creature is legendary and you copy it exactly, the copy will also be legendary. Cards like Spark Double can create a non-legendary copy of a legendary creature.
-
Can I populate a legendary creature token? Yes, you can populate a legendary creature token, but the Legend Rule will immediately apply, forcing you to sacrifice one of the tokens.
-
Does copying a creature count as casting a spell? No, copying a spell is not casting a spell. Copying is a separate action with different triggers and effects.
-
If a card says “create a token that’s a copy” of a creature, does the token have summoning sickness? Yes, unless it has haste or an ability that says otherwise. Like any other creature entering the battlefield under your control, a newly created token is subject to summoning sickness unless an exception applies.
-
Can I use a sacrifice outlet to get value from a token copy before sacrificing it to the Legend Rule? Absolutely! This is a common strategy. Create the token copy, trigger any relevant “enters the battlefield” abilities, then sacrifice the copy to your sacrifice outlet before the Legend Rule forces you to choose.
-
Does the Legend Rule apply to Planeswalkers? Planeswalkers have their own rule similar to the Legend Rule. You cannot control two planeswalkers with the exact same name. However, you can control two different planeswalkers with the same subtype (e.g., Garruk, Unleashed and Garruk, Cursed Huntsman).
-
What happens if my opponent and I both control legendary creatures with the same name? The Legend Rule only applies to each player individually. Your opponent controlling a legendary creature with the same name as one you control does not affect you, and vice versa.
-
If I copy a creature that is also a commander in someone’s deck, does the copy also count as their commander? No. Being a commander is a property of the card itself, not the permanent on the battlefield. The copy will have the same characteristics as the original but will not be considered a commander.
-
Are there any cards that prevent the Legend Rule from applying to only tokens? No, the mirror gallery card mentioned above is the one that turns off the legend rule. The “legend rule” won’t apply to creature tokens you control while a permanent you control has The Master’s second ability (C.R. 604.1, 113.6). If you control no permanent with that ability as state-based actions are checked, the “legend rule” (C.R. 704.5j) will apply to those tokens as normal.
-
Does copying a creature with a static ability also copy the static ability? Yes. A copy will have all the copiable characteristics, which includes static abilities. The static abilities can also be lost if you have cards like Dress Down on the field.
Conclusion
Creating a token copy of a legendary creature is a legal and often strategic play in Magic: The Gathering. The Legend Rule is a crucial factor to consider, but understanding its implications allows you to leverage token copies for temporary advantages, sacrifice value, or to set up more powerful plays. The key is to know the rules and build your deck accordingly. For more on game design and the intersection of learning and play, check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. Remember to always double-check Gatherer or official rulings for specific card interactions and updated rules. Happy brewing!