Do copies count as cast triggers?

Do Copies Count as Cast Triggers?

The short, definitive answer is: No, generally, creating a copy of a spell does not count as casting that spell. While this might seem straightforward, the intricacies of card games like Magic: The Gathering often lead to confusion. Understanding the nuances of copying versus casting is crucial for navigating complex game states and maximizing your strategies. This article will explore why copies don’t typically trigger “cast” effects, delve into the specific rules governing these interactions, and address common questions to clarify any lingering doubts.

The Crucial Difference: Copying vs. Casting

To understand why copies don’t count as casts, we need to differentiate between the two processes. Casting a spell is a specific action that involves taking a card (usually from your hand), placing it onto the stack, and paying its associated costs. This is a very deliberate action that initiates the resolution of the spell.

Copying a spell, on the other hand, is an effect—often generated by another spell or ability—that places a duplicate of the original spell directly onto the stack. Importantly, this duplicate is not cast; it simply exists as a copy. Because it hasn’t been cast, it doesn’t trigger effects that look for the specific act of casting.

Think of it like making a photocopy of a document. The photocopy is identical to the original, but it’s not the original document itself. The same is true for spell copies. They have all the same characteristics but lack the specific historical trigger of being cast.

Why Copies Don’t Trigger “Cast” Effects

The primary reason copies don’t trigger “cast” effects is because the rules of many card games, like Magic: The Gathering, specifically define casting. The rules often refer to “when you cast” a spell or ability, and a copy is neither you, nor casting; it is being created. Therefore, only the actual casting of the original spell will trigger such abilities, not the subsequent copies.

For instance, effects like Prowess, which triggers when you cast a noncreature spell, or Storm, which creates copies of a spell every time you cast a spell before it, will not be activated by a copy of a spell. These mechanics specifically look for the action of casting, not the presence of a spell on the stack as a copy. Similarly, enchantments or abilities that react to spells being cast, will almost always not react to copies.

Examples in Practice

Consider a card with Cascade. If you cast a spell with Cascade, the Cascade trigger will activate, searching through the library for a spell with a lower mana value. Now, if you were to copy this spell with an effect, that copy of the Cascade spell doesn’t trigger cascade a second time. This is because the copy was not cast.

Similarly, if you copy a spell that would trigger your Prowess creatures, such as an instant, that will not trigger prowess because the spell copy was not cast, it was simply placed on the stack.

Exceptions to the Rule

While the general rule is that copying doesn’t equate to casting, there are some niche scenarios where a copy becomes a cast spell. For example, an effect might say that “you may cast this copy.” In those cases, the rule outlined above would not apply. However, most effects that copy a spell, do not cast the copy, but instead create it on the stack without triggering cast effects. These exceptions are usually explicit and will always detail if the copy is indeed being cast.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some frequently asked questions related to copies and cast triggers to help further clarify the topic:

1. Does copying a spell count as casting for storm?

No. The Storm mechanic triggers when you cast a spell. Copies of spells are placed directly onto the stack and are not considered cast. Therefore, a copied spell does not contribute to the storm count, and it will not trigger the storm copy ability of the spell that has storm.

2. Does copying a spell trigger prowess?

No. Prowess triggers when you cast a noncreature spell. Since copying a spell does not involve casting, it will not activate Prowess or similar effects.

3. Does copying a spell trigger cascade?

No. Cascade triggers when you cast a spell with the cascade ability. Creating a copy of such a spell does not trigger Cascade because the copy isn’t cast.

4. Do copied spells trigger heroic?

No. Heroic abilities trigger when you cast a spell that targets a creature with heroic. Copying a spell, even if the copy targets a heroic creature, does not trigger heroic.

5. Do copies trigger magecraft?

Yes, but with a caveat. If an effect creates multiple copies of an instant or sorcery spell, Magecraft abilities will trigger once for each copy created by the effect if that copy is placed directly onto the stack as a spell. If the copy was from an effect that copies a card from a zone other than the stack, such as from your hand or the graveyard, the copy does not trigger magecraft.

6. Does foretell count as casting a spell?

Yes. Foretell allows you to exile a card face down, and then cast it from exile on a later turn by paying its foretell cost. The key here is that the spell is indeed cast from exile and will trigger cast effects.

7. Do copied spells have a mana value?

Yes. A copy of a spell retains the mana value of the original spell it was copied from.

8. Does creating a copy trigger enter the battlefield (ETB) effects?

Yes. Creating is a shorthand for placing tokens onto the battlefield, and tokens trigger ETB effects. If the copy of a creature has an ETB, that will trigger. This applies to copies of permanent spells, not copies of instants or sorceries.

9. Does Isochron Scepter trigger Magecraft twice?

No. Isochron Scepter creates a copy of a card. When you cast the card-copy, that action triggers Magecraft. It is not the card-copy that triggers Magecraft. The scepter effect does not trigger magecraft at all, only casting the copy does.

10. Do copied spells trigger Orvar?

No. Orvar triggers when a spell or ability you control targets a permanent you control. If a spell/ability copies a spell, that will not trigger Orvar. Only casting the spell will trigger Orvar.

11. Is cipher a triggered ability?

Yes. The exiled card with Cipher grants a triggered ability to the creature it’s encoded on.

12. What happens if you copy an adventure spell?

If an effect copies an Adventure spell, that copy is exiled when it resolves, and the copy can not be cast as a creature at a later point.

13. Can legendary actions cast spells?

Yes. Legendary actions can allow creatures to cast spells, depending on their specific abilities.

14. Do copies trigger rhystic study?

No. Rhystic Study triggers when a spell is cast. If a copy is made without being cast, this will not trigger Rhystic Study.

15. Can misdirection make a spell target itself?

No. Misdirection explicitly states it can only redirect spells with a single target. A spell cannot target itself.

Conclusion

Understanding the distinction between copying and casting is paramount in any card game with these mechanics. While a copy of a spell shares its characteristics, it lacks the action of being cast, meaning that it will rarely trigger cast effects. By comprehending these fundamental rules, you can make informed decisions, optimize your strategies, and avoid common pitfalls. Remember to carefully read the rules text and card text to ensure that you are following the appropriate rules. This clarity will undoubtedly enhance your overall gameplay experience.

Leave a Comment