Do Lands Count Towards Mana Value in Magic: The Gathering?
Yes, lands absolutely factor into the world of mana value in Magic: The Gathering, though perhaps not in the way you might initially think. While lands themselves don’t have a mana cost (you won’t find any mana symbols printed on them), this doesn’t exclude them from the mana value equation. In fact, the absence of a mana cost is precisely what defines their mana value: zero.
This seemingly simple concept has profound implications across numerous game mechanics, card interactions, and deck-building strategies. Let’s delve deeper into the intricacies of lands and their relationship with mana value, and explore some related questions that often arise among both new and experienced players.
Understanding Mana Value: The Basics
Before we get too far ahead, let’s establish a clear definition of mana value. Mana value (formerly known as Converted Mana Cost or CMC) represents the total amount of mana required to cast a spell or ability. It’s determined by summing up all the individual mana symbols present in the mana cost of a card. So, a card with a mana cost of {2}{R} (two generic mana and one red mana) has a mana value of 3.
Now, here’s the key point regarding lands: Because lands do not possess any mana symbols in their upper right corner where the mana cost is normally located, their mana value is inherently 0. This is a fundamental rule in Magic: The Gathering.
Why Mana Value Matters for Lands
The fact that lands have a mana value of 0 impacts the game in a variety of ways:
-
Interactions with Card Abilities: Many cards refer to a permanent’s mana value, and these interactions extend to lands. For example, a card that returns a permanent with mana value 3 or less from your graveyard to the battlefield can target any land because their mana value is 0.
-
Genesis Wave and Similar Effects: Cards like Genesis Wave allow you to put permanent cards with a certain mana value onto the battlefield from your library. Because lands have a mana value of 0, they are always eligible to be put onto the battlefield via such an effect, provided that the card doesn’t specifically exclude them.
-
Deck Construction: While lands don’t directly contribute to the “curve” of your spells in terms of mana cost, they are essential for enabling you to cast those spells. Understanding the relationship between your deck’s mana curve and the number of lands you include is crucial for consistent gameplay. A balanced mana curve is a common strategy. Looking at the optimal mana curves, it appears that the two, three and four-mana slots are where the majority of your spells should be.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Lands and Mana Value
To further clarify this topic, let’s address some frequently asked questions:
Do all lands have a mana value of 0?
Yes, every land card, regardless of its type (basic, non-basic, dual lands, etc.), has a mana value of 0. This is because they lack a printed mana cost.
Do land creatures have CMC (Converted Mana Cost)?
Yes! Lands with creature types do not have a mana cost. All lands have a CMC of 0 because they don’t have a mana cost.
Does Sun Titan work for lands?
Absolutely. Sun Titan targets “permanent with cmc less than three.” Since lands are permanents with a mana value of 0, they are valid targets for Sun Titan’s ability.
Are artifact lands basic lands?
No, artifact lands are not basic lands. Artifact lands are cards that are both lands and artifacts in every zone. Because they’re not basic lands they’re subject to the 4-card playset limit in 60-cards formats.
Does playing a land count as casting a spell?
No, playing a land is a special action that doesn’t use the stack. It is not a spell. Players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.
If a land becomes a creature with a mana cost, does its mana value change?
Yes, temporarily. If an effect gives a land a mana cost (for example, turning it into a creature with a specific mana cost), its mana value becomes equal to that mana cost for the duration of the effect. Once the effect ends, the land reverts to having a mana value of 0.
Can Sundering Titan destroy all lands?
Sundering Titan does not destroy all lands, only up to 5, one of each basic land type. Sundering Titan’s ability isn’t targeted. When it resolves, Sundering Titan’s controller must choose one land for each basic land type (Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest), and then they are destroyed simultaneously. Sundering Titan can destroy dual lands. He does in fact destroy dual lands (Plateau, Temple Garden, Volcanic Island, Watery Grave, etc) as well.
What is the ideal land ratio in a Magic: The Gathering deck?
Traditional knowledge is that lands should make up a touch over 40% of a deck. This means about 17–18 lands for a 40-card deck and about 24–25 lands for a 60-card deck. This is a tried-and-true structure that’s worked for many players for many years. For a normal-looking Standard deck, a good default is 25 lands. This gives you a high chance (around 90 percent) of hitting your first three land drops, and makes it realistic to cast four and five-mana spells in a reasonable time frame.
Do token copies of lands have a mana value?
Yes! As I mentioned, mana values are based on an object’s mana cost. Tokens therefore typically have a mana value of 0, as most of them don’t have mana costs. The exception to this is when you create a token copy of another object. The copy will also copy the mana cost of the original.
Does land count as a permanent?
Yes, lands are a type of permanent once they are on the battlefield. A permanent card is an artifact, creature, enchantment, land, or planeswalker card.
Is mana value affected by cost reduction effects on lands?
No. Cost reduction effects primarily apply to spells that you cast, not the act of playing a land. You do not “cast” a land; you simply play it as a special action.
What is the mana value of lands with activated abilities that cost mana?
The activated abilities on a land have no bearing on its mana value. The land’s mana value remains 0, regardless of what its activated abilities cost to use.
Does the mana value of a land change if it’s affected by Prototype?
The mana value of a prototyped card carries over once that permanent is in play. Paying the prototype cost of a card changes its physical mana cost, so you use that new mana cost to determine the mana value. Lands would typically not be affected by prototype, but it could become a creature with Prototype.
Why is understanding land and mana value important for deck building?
It’s crucial for creating a balanced deck that can consistently cast your spells. Knowing how many lands you need and understanding their interaction with cards that care about mana value (like Sun Titan, Genesis Wave, or cards that destroy permanents with a specific mana value) is vital for success.
Where can I learn more about Magic: The Gathering strategy and deck building?
There are many fantastic resources available! Consider checking out the Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/ for valuable insights into game mechanics and educational gaming in general. You can also find countless articles, videos, and communities dedicated to Magic: The Gathering strategy online.
Conclusion
While lands might seem like simple components of a Magic: The Gathering deck, their interaction with mana value is more nuanced than it initially appears. Their inherent mana value of 0 has wide-ranging consequences, affecting card interactions, deck building strategies, and the overall flow of the game. By understanding these concepts, you can gain a significant edge in your games and build more powerful and consistent decks. Happy dueling!